We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food a gem of a restaurant”
Review of Restaurant By Us

Restaurant By Us
Reserve with
Restaurant By Us is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 190 Restaurants in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 45 - USD 136
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Having not been overly impressed with Leeuwarden as cultural capital of Europe, however we were delighted to find this little gem of a restaurant, the food was excellent- beautiful complimentary flavours with knowledgeable helpful staff, who were lovely and not intrusive. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and were we to visit the area again would make sure we visit. One of the best meals we have had in a very long time. Loved the concept of no menu, but they do ask when booking if there is anything you don't like or have an allergy to.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue026591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Amazing food and a fantastic 4-course surprise menu. A unique dining experience in the center of Leeuwarden. Loved it!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank DonSminna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Dinner for two, went for 4,5 courses including wine menu.
Service is awesome, was there for about 10 mins before the first appetizer arrived.
Two fish dishes, with a small salad in between, made up the first 2,5. Main was duck breast. I had cheese for dessert, while my girlfriend had the planned ice cream and cake.
Everything was delicious and had great presentation. Wine pairing was good too.
Service also a highlight, asked about any allergies, knew everything about the wine and even the cheeses.
Took us a total of 2,5 hours, and ended up being 160 € for two people.. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Snorris27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

By far the best dining experience we had in Leeuwarden so far!
Food was cooked and seasoned very well! Nice work with flavors, textures and presentation. It is good, interesting and looks nice. Wine choice is interesting (had some Vinho Verde and a Bourgogne) and does pair very well with the food!
The price is maybe a little steep but it is not exaggerated.
This place does deserve a macaron from Michelin! It definitely can hold its chin high when compared to some Michelin star restaurants I had the chance to visit.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Maxime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

No wonder they are the number one... ok, I haven't been in all restaurants in Leeuwarden, but it is really an espectacular experience you can have in Byus!
We had the 4 1/2 course dinner and even my husband was full!
The service was extremely friendly and explained you every single detail for each course!
The combination with the wines were just perfect!... I'm pregnant, but I had a little sip from my husbands wines and it was fabulous!
I decided to seat in front of the kitchen and was amazed on how "peacefully and stressless" the chefs were cooking... just two of them and it was a perfect team! Plus the service team... a dream team!
Just go there and enjoy!!!

-----

No me sorprende que sean el número 1 de todos los restaurantes! Claro que no he estado en todos los restaurantes en Leeuwarden, pero la experiencia que tienes aquí es espectacular!
Tuvimos el menú de 4 platos y medio y hasta mi espero se llenó!
El servicio extremadamente amigable y ofrecieron con cada plato una explicación muy detallada de lo que ibas a comer!
La combinación de los vinos con cada plato perfecta!
Decidí sentarnos en frente de La Cocina y me quedé muy asombrada de ver a los chefs de cocina con tanta "paz y sin estrés", eran dos en La Cocina que hacían un perfecto equipo, más el equipo de servicio, un Dream Team!
Simplemente anda al restaurant y disfruta!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank judycerdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant By Us also viewed

Leeuwarden, Friesland Province
Leeuwarden, Friesland Province
 
Leeuwarden, Friesland Province
Leeuwarden, Friesland Province
 
Leeuwarden, Friesland Province
Leeuwarden, Friesland Province
 

Been to Restaurant By Us? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing