We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, great setting........”
other travellers have booked this property
Overbrook Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Living room and kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom 3
Bridleway
Overbrook Barn
Alpacas
Alpacas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vestax32
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great setting........”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Recently stayed with three friends and had a lovely time. Barn is done to a very high standard and is extremely well equipped. Comfortable beds and good showers also added to the experience. Setting is lovely and is perfect for dog walking and hiking. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High spec of accommodation.
Liked least: No mobile phone reception and no house phone to compensate.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in August and while the weather was a mixed bag nothing could dampen our enthusiasm for this beautiful place.

We woke each morning to the sight of the alpacas grazing. fed the pigs, climbed hills and splashed in the brook ( which even had a rope swing). The children had a fantastic time and learned so much about the animals from Steven who works on the farm and became affectionately known as "Alpaca Steve".

The barn has everything you need and more in terms of equipment and home comforts and there were none of the usual moments in self-catering where you curse because they do not have the utensil you want.

This is quite literally a "getting away from it all holiday" ( there is no mobile signal and you are in a remote and breathtakingly beautiful valley) which lets you recharge your batteries. We were all sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: With 4 children and a dog the cloth covers on the sofa left us fearing for our damage deposit more than once. Leather might be more user friendly, albeit less cosy. On the plus side throws were provided to assist in keeping the sofas clean.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn T
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful barn conversion in the heart of the countryside.”
Reviewed 21 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My family and I stayed here for a week from 3rd August. It was quiet and peaceful and we loved it. We were allowed anywhere on the farm so the children were able to see the Alpaca's, pigs and chickens. They loved waking up in the morning to find the Alpaca's looking over the fence. We were even allowed to take the dogs. Buxton, and Bakewell are a must and Matlock is around 20 miles away. We went to Poole Cavern which is only a few mins from Buxton town centre. Well worth a visit. We also went to the Trafford Centre for Legoland which is a little further away but worth it for the kids although not as big as the one in Windsor and Alton Towers Splash Landings Hotel. Also worth a visit. Overbrook barn is a great base for sightseeing and has everything you could possibly want in a home from home. The cottage itself was in mint condition and everything in it was the best quality. The beds are so comfortable that I wish I could have taken one home and there's a flat screen TV in every room. The photo's are exactly as it is and I cannot praise it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but if I was pushed it would be the comfortable beds
Liked least: no mobile phone reception unless you climbed the small hill behind the house and it is off the beaten track so the nearest small shop was about 2 miles away.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nealey M
Sheffield
1 review
“Could not have complained if we wanted to.”
Reviewed 18 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a fantastic time at overbook on our girls weekend. the barn was beautiful and everything inside was of the highest quality, it was really well equipt with everything you could possibly need. There is a stunning view from every window looking out to the animals. We also loved the little visits we had from Fowkes their black Lab. Gemma and Simon who own the barn are so friendly, they would do anything for you and made us feel really welcome. We hope to visit again really soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was really homely
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTPS1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing! Loved everything! Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with 5 friends and we had the best time. The barn is beautiful - spotless and exactly how it looks in the pictures. Gemma has thought of everything, even amending the directions to the barn so we wouldn't get lost. The kitchen is stocked well with every utensil you could possibly need. The beds are heavenly, hot water 24 hours a day and the log fire gives the barn a rustic charm. TVs in every bedroom too. We found the wifi signal is stronger upstairs. Books and DVDs are provided throughout the barn if you get bored...but you wont. The lounge is great for socialising. Gemma and Simon are extremely friendly and told us to use the farm as our playground and we did! They arranged for us to meet and play with the alpacas on the farm, amazing animals which was ggod fun. Will definitely be going back and would highly recommend. Thanks Gemma and Simon - we loved everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, everything about the barn.
Liked least: Slightly weak wifi occassionally
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing