We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of X-TRA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
X-TRA Hotel
Ranked #126 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

3 of us stayed in triple room in October 2011.Hotel was in great location about 5 mins tram ride from main train station in Zurich. The area around the hotel was good for bars and places to eat. Room was clean and staff were good. Never heard any noise from nightclub in room although we did venture into nightclub as reception gave us free tickets. It's really quite an impressive venue and whilst the female security staff are really good the male ones are devoid of humour or ability to interact with human beings. All in all if returning to Zurich I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor have less or no nightclub noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vadougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    77
    83
    38
    32
See reviews for
61
50
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed with two friends at X-tra hotel in Zurich for 1 night and it was the worst experience of our entire trip. Although we requested a non- smoking room (which it was) the smell of smoke on the sheets/ blankets/ towels/ everything.. was so overwhelming we had to keep the window open for our entire time there. The entire hotel had the feel of a step above a dirty hostel.

Upon our arrival, we asked the employee at reception where a good location was for bars, restaurants. He directed us to quite possibly the worst places in Zurich. We ended up coming back to the hotel and spending the remainder of the night at the hotel bar.. Which was packed. Potential guests should know that the hotel is quite different than the club/ restaurant next door.

We ate at the restaurant next door the following afternoon and it was quite good and reasonably prices (for Switzerland)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We were three people travelling together and the triple was a good size. The price was very reasonable and we did not experience the noise problems of another reviewer. We walked from station with our suitcases (15 minutes). The breakfast was fantastic - and I would definitely stay there again. Really great value for money and very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippichicknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Unbelievable but true! It happened one week ago: 14 individual reservations were transformed into 7 double rooms. For some reason somebody at the reception had decided that everybody had to share a room with somebody else! When the clients protested, the people at the reception were not polite: they could not care less.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCIAANGELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel is very close to the city centre and this is its only advantage. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, so we had to leave the windows open throughout the night, which resulted in almost no sleep - the traffic is terrible there! And right next to the hotel is a church with bells and chimes every 15 minutes! Moreover, the hotel is also a night dance club, so if your room is quite low, the base and music will not help you in falling asleep. The breakfast is poor, internet additionally paid and the rooms are old. Clean but old. Would not recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms at the 4th floor are better - no noise from the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulkaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#94 of 138 in Zurich
91 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
996 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#88 of 138 in Zurich
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#113 of 138 in Zurich
411 reviews
The Flag Zurich
#83 of 138 in Zurich
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X-TRA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X-TRA Hotel

Property: X-TRA Hotel
Address: Limmatstrasse 118, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Gewerbeschule
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price range (per night): $162 - $264
Hotel Class:3 star — X-TRA Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in the centre of Zürich, near Bahnhofstrasse/main train station and other interesting areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your X-TRA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
x Tra Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing