We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously Swiss!”
Review of Sternen Grill

Sternen Grill
Ranked #118 of 2,038 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 17
Cuisines: Barbecue, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Hochschulen
Reviewed 22 November 2018 via mobile

Had the bratwurst and currywurst and it was sooooo good! Hearty and delicious and out of this world. You get bread and mustard with it. Careful the mustard is extremely hot but pairs so well with the bratwurst! 11/10!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter_rosenberger, Inhaber at Sternen Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Dear Pauliie123,

Thank you for your wonderful review and this lovely picture you attached to it.

We are happy you enjoyed our St. Galler Bratwurst and Currywurst. Typical Swiss sausages are our specialty and we have been serving them at Bellevue Zurich since 1963. We also offer a selection of local beers and wine, besides, Sternen mulled wine will warm you up on a cold winter day.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Zurich. By the way, Sternen Grill takeaway can be also found at Zurich airport.

Kind regards,
Peter and Thomas Rosenberger,
Hosts Sternen Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

I love love love the Sternen Grill - which has the best sausage in the entire world. Possibly the universe.

Highly, highly recommend!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank viv_s_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Loved everything about this place! It's very popular so expect a wait, but it is well worth it. the sausage is unforgettable and definitely a signature dish. We also tried the roast chicken, which was so moist and tender and fell off the bone. The fries were even remarkable. Located near great shopping, near the lake, and right in the heart of the city you can just feel the pulse of Zurich here. Add it to your list of places to eat when you visit Zurich.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

This place may have a line to order sometimes. It is very popular. You order a type of sausage, the bread comes with that, plus other sides, such as fries, potato salad, salad, etc. There are a few additional options we did not try and even a vegetarian option. The sausages, which are the reason to go there, were excellent. We tried several and liked the bratwurst and the salsiccia piccante very much. They also offer a hamburger and hot dog, but we did not try that. They have seating downstairs, on the sidewalk, and a menu restaurant in the second floor. I would go back for a very informal meal of beer and sausages.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Prof23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Heard about the Sternen Grill in a free pocket guide so we decided to give it a try for lunch. It's in the Bellevue part of the city, which is at the northern end of Lake Zurich. The Grill is fortunate enough to have a take-away section, with the restaurant accessible via stairs or a lift to the first floor. If the weather's good enough, you might want to have a seat on the balcony and watch the world go by below.

The restaurant menu is pretty simple and low-tech, just use a pencil to tick what you want and within 10-15 minutes it shows up. The default menu is German, but they will provide an English menu if you ask for one.

I opted for a bratwurst and fries, served with a lovely crusty bread roll. My other half went for the servelat and fries. Both were eaten alongside a lovely lemon and mint organic iced tea. Really nice it was, too. Lovely tasty sausages and perfectly crunchy fries.

Price-wise, it was reasonably cheap by Zurich standards, all-in the total came to CHF51. No complaints here, it was lovely food and the service was great. We even came back on our last day for lunch before the flight home.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank B4843PYnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sternen Grill also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Sternen Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.