We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,366 results
Traveller rating
350
675
247
63
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
675
247
63
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cosmos tour tram stop indoor pool techno park sofa bed nice hotel family room breakfast spread business hotel main station breakfast was excellent public transport pleasant stay business trip short stay rail station convenient location
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,366 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

stayed - for 3 nights and had 4 rooms.
look and feel of hotel - modern looking lobby area with nice sofa seating arrangement a small garden inside the hotel premises. neat and clean premises and surroundings.
1) Location - theres hardly anything to see around the place as its located right in the middle of commercial buildings. there are 2 tram stations located in the vicinity of the hotel. one takes only 3-4 minutes to reach and other takes 15 minutes to reach by foot. for some unknown reason/s the lady at the front desk asked us to go to the one that takes 15 minutes. From the nearest tram station, which is located right behind the hotel (come out of the hotel, take left walk straight for 2-3 minutes and you'll see a stop on the right side) it takes approx 15-20 minutes to reach main zurich town/main zurich train station by tram. now the problem is, on weekends, the tram does not run during evening hours and you have to first take tram to a certain station and then take a bus to reach main zurich and from main zurich since the tram doesnt operate during late evening hours you must change 2 buses to get back to the hotel if you don't wanna take a cab. we did not need any tram/bus tickets since we all had swiss travel passes. we could not find any prepaid taxi service at the airport so we hired a van from right outside the airport to reach hotel and it cost us 80 swiss francs. it took us around 20-25 minutes to reach from airport.
2) hotel staff - we mainly communicated with the front desk staff and found the lady unhelpful. her male colleague was helpful and had a smile on his face. the lady first sent us to the wrong tram station and failed to inform us that tram service doesn't operate fully on weekends. i feel its important on every hotel's part to have well informed staff. she hardly smiled and her tone was little unfriendly too. god bless her. we did not face any problems with housekeeping staff. cots for kids were allready placed in our rooms so there were no issues. sheets and pillow covers were clean.
3) size of rooms - small and gets even smaller with child cots and it becomes very hard to find space to even walk if you have 3 suitcases with you.
4) PLEASE NOTE THAT THE HOTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE AN IRON WHICH IS NOTHING BUT 'PATHETIC' IN BOLD LETTERS. GUESTS MUST LEAVE ROOM AND GO TO ANOTHER FLOOR, STAND IN A QUE TO IRON YOUR CLOTHES. PATHETIC.
5) size of washroom - small with a small bathtub.
4) Breakfast - for the kind of price we paid it was not at all okay. regular bread butter stuff. no variety at all especially for vegetarians. no staff to ask you/ help you or to make you feel comfortable at the breakfast room. only 1 bread toaster. quiche on all three days was too soggy. baked beans looked so bad and unappealing that we did not eat at all.
5) we could sleep well as its located in a very quite commercial place.
overall and okay kinda property. being a tourist we were looking for a place with some nice and happening surroundings and good connectivity.

Room tip: all our rooms were same and you get a nice sleep as hotel is located in a quite place.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newdelhitraveller730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico M, Manager at Novotel Zurich City West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Sir or Madame,

thank you so much for taking the time to give such detailed feedback on your stay.

We do appreciate ratings as well as written feedback from our guests as it helps us improve our continuous efforts for the best service possible. Your opinion matters to us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments in regards of our terrace and lobby area.

I do acknowledge, however, that there is still “room for improvement” in the guest service area. You can of course expect absolute perfection and knowledge about the area from us. I feel very bad for the inconveniences you had to deal with - and at the same time I do appreciate your feedback, which is an important component toward long lasting and continuously improving quality services.

My colleagues and I are looking forward to your next visit, which I hope will leave you completely satisfied.

Best regards,

Christina Bonertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with our kids. Very good location, clean rooms and decent food. Very poorly staffed - had to wait for 10 mins to check in only one attendant and long q always, rooms doesnt even have a cup just some poor q plastic glasses when asked to give a cup they said come down and take else if we send we will charge room service !
Breakfast is good but if veg v little choice - also when sone kids wanted milk at 955 am they said we cant get it as its closing time for breakfast ! They need to really change this attitude and get more staff

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SoniaDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico M, Manager at Novotel Zurich City West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Mrs. Dasgupta,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to review your stay at Novotel Zürich City-West.

We do appreciate ratings as well as written feedback from our guests as it helps us improve our continuous efforts for the best service possible. Your opinion matters to us.

Thank you very much for your nice comments in regards of the location, food and cleanliness.

I do acknowledge, however, that there is still “room for improvement” in the category service on general. Of course, a glass of milk should be possible shortly after breakfast. The selection of vegetarian dishes we review again. However, we always make sure that there is something for everyone. The selection is already very high. You are very welcome to let us know if you miss something.

Please be assured that these particular issues you stated will be addressed and discussed within our local team and that we will try our best to improve in this area even more.

My colleagues and I are looking forward to your next visit, which I hope will leave you completely satisfied.

Sincerely Yours

Christina Bonertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

As simple like this:
1. Room extremely clean.
2. Extremely friendly staff, specilly Laura Gassman
3. Great and expensive food at restaurant
4. Strategic location, tram No.4 stops at 200mts from this hotel
5. When I made a special request, they answered and solved perfectly what I asked
6. Wifi very fast and with no interruption

This is the place to stay at !

Room tip: Any room is great.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Esteban C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico M, Manager at Novotel Zurich City West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Sir or Madame,

On behalf of my entire team as well as on a personal note, I would like to thank you for your stellar review and the excellent rating. We truly appreciate positive feedback such as yours as it encourages us to stay committed to providing the best services possible for our guests.

We are very pleased that you took the time and effort to confirm your positive experience with us by giving us solid ratings. Our guests deserve the best and we make every effort to meet your expectations.

I will gladly pass on your review to my team. Positive feedback from our guests in response to our daily efforts to provide excellent services is both rewarding and highly encouraging.

We really hope to be able to welcome you again as our guest.

Kind Regards

Christina Bonertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

The hotel is very modern and sleek, and has a nice indoor pool, but was a bit overpriced. It is conveniently located next to a tram stop, but not much else so you have to drive into the city. Staff was attentive and helpful and was able to answer all questions asked.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico M, Manager at Novotel Zurich City West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Richie,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Novotel Zürich City-West.

As it is our top priority that you are satisfied with our services, we were especially glad to receive good comments in this category. I gladly passed this on to my team and would like to send a sincere “thank you” on their behalf.

We all hope to welcome you as a guest soon again.

Best regards,

Christina Bonertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed twice at this hotel in the past 2 weeks. It was part of a “Vacations by Rail” tour. It’s a modern hotel that is comfortable. The breakfast is good as was the dinner. These were included in the tour package. The hotel is NOT conveniently located near town. You have to take a tram or a taxi. The taxi cost about Fr.25. We stayed at another hotel in town on our own which was much better.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank O1624BUcraigw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico M, Manager at Novotel Zurich City West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear sir or Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to review this and for the words of praise for our food offer.

It's a bit pity to hear that you did not like so much the location of our hotel. We are located in the urban part of the city, 20 minutes on foot on the pretty Limmat river to the old town. Otherwise by tram, which leaves directly behind the hotel, 4 stations to the old town. Direct train connection to the airport, lasting 10 minutes.

Sincerely Yours

Christina Bonertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews