We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay - nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Zurich City West
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Okay - nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The ibis hotel in Zurich is located in the west of the city, not really close to anything of interest. However, especially if regarding the price level of hotels in Zurich, it is good value for money. You can go there by tram and then walk for a couple of minutes. The rooms are quite basic and do not offer any luxurious comfort, the same is true for the bathroom. Howevery everything was clean and I had a good night's sleep. Breakfast is okay and served in the back of the hotel.

Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TripReporter177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    462
    225
    43
    15
See reviews for
146
287
103
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Our team arrived at the Ibis Hotel in the very urban area of Zurich. The hotel is very central to the city and the public transportation is very good and easy to navigate for english speakers. The bar/lobby is well laid out and the breakfast is good also. We enjoyed the free internet in the lobby as well. The rooms were what one would expect for European standards, very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n17wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed for two night on a weekend break with a friend. We had a twin room. There wasn't a lot of spare space, but it was spotlessly clean, well looked after, and pretty new. The same applied to the bathroom which had a great shower. Staff were really very friendly and helpful (although they didn't know a massive amount about tours in and around Zurich - they did direct us to the tourist info office which of course had all the info we could ever need). Free internet in the lobby was readily available. Nice restaurant. Breakfast buffet at 10.30am was a bit limited so we went out for breakfast.
Overall, for a reasonably priced hotel, I would definitely recommend the Ibis West.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljs3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I visited this property late December on a business trip and I was very well impressed.
You can find this hotel in a quite corner of a refurbished and nowadays trendy industrial site of the city of Zürich.
It provides parking garage with direct access to the hotel, which it is shared with the nearby Novotel: and in a rainy and cold winter evening, I can tell you this is a great plus. 3 tram lines are steps away to take you into the city centre as well as to the central railway station in about 8/10 minutes and the motorway is not far either.
The rooms are standard Ibis, modern, basic but well functional. The corridors have a different and more modern/upscale touch then other properties.
There is a full restaurant at the hotel serving Swiss Specialties, a Bar and a lounge corner with free Internet Wi-Fi.
Wi-Fi in the room is available at extra charge, which also differs from other hotel of the same chain where it is simply not available.
The breakfast buffet was also inviting and offered a good value for money.
I found the staff friendly, helpful and professional and I would like to recommend this place to anyone, businessmen or leisure travelers alike.
That said, please keep in mind that Ibis Hotels are certified to be a 2 star hotels: if your standard are fixed on top range properties then this is not completely your place. Though I still suggest: give this place a try and you will notice that even some of the 3 and even 4 stars hotel will straggle to keep up with this level of service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE-CH-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I enjoyed my stay, the reception was really helpful and frendly, they were looking for fulfilling all my requrest. The hotel is about 10 min far from the main shopping street in the city center - that is a must see in Zurich.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#51 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Escher Wyss
Novotel Zurich City-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georges
#81 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Zurich City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Zurich City West

Property: ibis Zurich City West
Address: Schiffbaustrasse 11, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#10 Green Hotel in Zurich
#36 Family Hotel in Zurich
#53 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): $129 - $226
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Zurich City West 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Zurich City West hotel is located in a stylish district of Zurich, close to the motorway and 100 m from the Technopark business centre, 9 km from the airport and 10 min from the main railway station. The hotel offers 155 rooms with air cooling (including 5 for guests with limited mobility) as well as a restaurant, a terrace area, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours and private undercover pay parking. Business guests will appreciate our WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Zurich City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Zurich City West Hotel
Ibis Hotel zürich
Accor Zurich City West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing