We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the heart of Zurich”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #3 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I couldn't have asked for anything more for a very luxurious stay at the Storchen.
The room had with no doubt the best view of the city. Being at the corner of the building and having two windows to the east and one to the south we felt surrounded by natural beauty of the Limmat river as well as the greatness of architecture and the way buildings are lightened in Zurich.
This hotel offers the best of tradition and modernity -the latest in technology in the room- which is what i think Switzerland stands for. It is located in the heart of this great city and that is why i consider Storchen to be the heart of Zurich.

Room Tip: The best view is from the rooms located in the corner closer to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 514 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

At last a great retreat in Zurich. A good mix of tradition and modernity. Lovely bar. Attentive and friendly service. Conference staff were helpful and efficient. My favourite hotel in Zurich.

Room Tip: The hotel is near one of the main churches in Zurich. The chimes are silenced in the night but start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Liked this small hotel which is very conveniently located. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are nice and spacious and the buffet breakfast is excellent. Great value for money in zrh!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skigasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We (me, my wife and my son) travelled for 12 days in August 2011 all over Europe. In brief, our trip was as follows: Munich, South Bavaria (Hohenschwangau - Neuschwanstein Castle region), Milan, Zurich and back to Munich to fly back home to Moscow. More than 3000 km in magnificent Infiniti M30d. And our several days stay in Storchen Zurich were really great! This is definitely not a cheap hotel, but it is worth it. We had the room overlooking the river - the view was simply breathtaking! Though, of course, beware of the noise - if you want to sleep well you'll have to close all windows, because it is quite busy area of Zurich. This was the first hotel in my life where the beds were electronically regulated (you can get different parts of the bed tilted in different way - I saw something like that in "hospitals" TV series like House M.D. :)) - unbelievably comfortable! You have to try it :)) The service was very good. The hotel itself and the room were very clean. Negative: we didn't quite like breakfast: the choice was not great and overall the food was plain. Nothing special. We once had dinner at the hotel's restaraunt - it was nice, though quite expensive. You can have 3-5 minutes walk up on Strehlgasse and have better and cheaper dinner at the restaraunt of Haus Zum Kindli hotel. Another somewhat negative point: though the room is quite spacious, the bathroom is tiny - you feel like standing in the wardrobe. There is only valet parking - the hotel situated in the "only pedestrians" zone, but you can drive right to the entrance, if you are the guest of the hotel. But overall we just loved our stay in Storchen Zurich and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxim_bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Arrived here on 31st jan greeted at the front desk by a charming friendly lady and this set the tone for the rest of our stay, friendly, very efficient service, everything done with a smile, the corner suite was perfect fantastic views up, down and across the river 423 is the one to ask for, at 950 Swiss francs a night it ain't cheap but very nice. Watched the NY fireworks from the Storchen suite on the top floor which has a terrace facing the river After four days we are leaving here very happy with our stay at this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#2 of 137 in Zurich
709 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#4 of 137 in Zurich
500 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#5 of 137 in Zurich
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolder Grand
#7 of 137 in Zurich
1,067 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 137 in Zurich
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $550 - $958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing