We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
232
316
106
45
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
316
106
45
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town great location cobblestone streets restaurants and bars train station hotel is located stay there again breakfast room yogurt air conditioning cold cuts stayed nights junior suite wonderful hotel street noise excellent breakfast mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel Wellenberg is indeed a 4 star hotel. I heard a joke, a four-star hotels in Europe is more-or-less like a three-star or 3 1/2-star hotels in the States, but Wellenberg deserves its 4 star rating.

Location: in the old town, probably the best location for tourists without cars. You can walk to the churches or universities like ETH easily within 10-20 minutes or go shopping and enjoy meals nearby.

Setting: interior is modern and well-arranged. The room size is larger or much larger than the average in Switzerland.

A couple things may need improvements:
- the sofas were too soft (or wore down) to sit.
- the hair-blower was too heavy, and probably designed for muscular arms
- the glass cover in the shower was too small to block water

Service: friendly and professional, and very helpful! If you ask a question, the front desk would happily go beyond normal yes-and-no answers. You feel like talk to a friend who has extensive knowledge.

Breakfast: plenty and healthy - a lot fresh fruits, and some veggie sticks. cold meats. Good coffee! If you prefer hot milk like me, just ask.

No air-condition in the room, maybe because it cools down quickly at night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rosezhang2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raoul B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear rosezhang2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful and honest feedback.

We appreciate your comments where we have to improve as well as the comments regarding our location and our staff.

We hope to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Max Lauke
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

This hotel is in a lively central square surrounded by cafes and shops so very central and easy walking distance to several tourist attractions plus short walk to bridges across to other side of the river. I found staff very welcoming and friendly and very helpful in their knowledge of the city. Whilst room didn't have aircon a fan had been provided which was fine plus with windows open the room was pleasantly cool. Breakfast out on the terrace on second floor was quiet and pleasant place to start the day. I would most definitely stay here again

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel as very quiet with no street noise.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sher341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raoul B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear sher341

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a great feedback.

We are very delighted to hear and read that you have enjoyed your stay and your time in Zürich with us.

We are very looking forward to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Max Lauke
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

A very nice central hotel in zurich. Near the hauptbahnhof. Easy access in every place in switzerland. The hotel was quite good. Decent breakfast and polite staff.
The only problem was with the bathroom. The tap was like dripping water. We asked for another room, but the problem persisted in the other three rooms we saw.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kkmorgank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raoul B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear kkmorgan k

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are very blessed about the comments regarding our staff and our location.

We are sincerely sorry for the inconveniance with the dripping water, that shouldn't happen.

Still we would like to welcome you back with us in the future and the problem with the dripping water will be solved as well.

Yours sincerely
Max Lauke
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We were here for three nights in June. Very nice room, extremely helpful staff, and a great neighborhood. Good food all around, and we ate well. We would definitely go back.

But why on earth did they decide that the very nice bar should be an enclosed place to smoke? I did not think that was even legal in Switzerland.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lees410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raoul B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Lee S

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.

We hope you had a safe and nice journey back home with plenty of terrific memories.

Regarding the smoking bar, we would like to inform you that it is still common in Switzerland and Europe to have legal smoking bars and places.

However we would like to welcome you back with us in the future.

Yours sincerely
Max Lauke
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel WELLENBERG from 27 June to 1 July. The room was great obviously recently renovated, bed and bathroom great. Top location in old part of town, it is where you want to be. The staff are excellent all of them friendly and welcoming. We were staying there with friends, their room was similar to ours and they also experienced the same welcoming feeling from staff. Airconditioning units were installed in the rooms and I understand that they were installed just prior to our arrival. The breakfast was good and set us up nicely for the day. We enjoyed a great stay thank you to all staff at WELLENBERG, well done.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank vinniequeensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raoul B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear vinniequeensland

We really appreciate your feedback and your nice comments regarding our staff, the rooms you have stayed in with your friends.

We hope you had a safe journey back home and enjoy the wonderful memories you took with you.

We are very looking forward to welcome you with us in the near future again.

Yours sincerely
Max Lauke
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews