We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, lovely rooms and location”
Review of Hotel Wellenberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Wellenberg
Ranked #54 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in the Wellenberg hotel from Boxingn day 2011 for 2 nights. The service was fantastic. We had to send some bags home to South Africa and they organised the whole thing for us. THe breakfast was lovely, nice selection and lots of fresh fruit. The rooms were huge and very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect, i loved the cobblestone streets and the little shops and restaurants in the area. We ate at Spaghetti Factory across the road, very good food in a very expensive city. The hotel is close to all the major attractions, we walked everywhere. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Zurich.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiseCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 357 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

This was the first hotel for a week trip to Switzerland. (so more reviews coming up) It was a bit different from what I had expected but was a nice hotel. And yes, I am spoiled by Abu Dhabi standard so this review is a bit biased.

Wellenberg is very modernly decorated hotel. The room is pretty large to the European standard (definitely not UAE standard) but the ceiling is very low. And the room is too well heated, which I enjoyed at first arriving from Abu Dhabi, but later on found too stuffy and dry.
The corridors are narrow and the elevator is amazingly small, but it's good that they have one. ^^

Breakfast was okay, but very Continental and nothing like what you would see in Abu Dhabi. Not much variety and not much fruit. And you have to boil your own egg. You can decide when to bring out your egg from the boiling bath, but then it's been quite some time since I last boiled my egg in the morning so I couldn't tell exactly when. It was fun though. There seems to be one waitress for the breakfast and understaffed. I couldn't get hold of her to ask for an omlette. I don't know about the price because my brother made the booking and paid, but I heard that the breakfast was included. I also liked the view from the room (even though the window was small), where I could see the narrow streets from above.

Everything is there, the TV (tube TV!), clean room, clean bathroom, even a TV in the bathroom (another small tube TV!) but nothing fancy. It was a nice start (I step into worse during this trip) and the location was great. Nice to have a walking tour of Zurich (but there's not much to see in Zurich - my advice to anyone going to Switzerland would to 'go to French speaking or Italian speaking region!')

One more thing. The bed is too soft. I woke up with back pain. T.T

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sookyoung1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, 5 min walk from train station and close to lovely bars & restaurants. The hotels very nice, the rooms were quiet and well appointed although some of the soft furnishings were a little worn. The self service breakfast was generous with a good choice. Would definitely recommend the Wellenberg.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilingtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

A very nice hotel, in the heart of the city (Alstadt). Lots of Shops and restaurants around. After some misunderstanding with our reservation, the management was kind enough to upgrade our room to a very big room of 4. it is not the most contemporary and stylish place, but the value for your money is great, taking in consideration it is in the center of zurich.
there is no free wifi in the rooms.
We were 2 days and enjoyed this hotel. The breakfast was good, although can be improved easily.

Room Tip: For a family of 4 - we were in 307# room, which is very big, with a sitting area and extra place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I honestly wish I took pictures of the room I stayed in to truly depict the filth. I dont know if we got a bad room or what happened here. The hallways and lobby area were decorated quite nice and then we walked into a room with old ripped chairs to sit on, dirty carpet, bad smell, and a bathroom that was last renovated in the 1960s. The bed was uncomfortable, there was no air conditioning, and the room looked out into the alley way which was very loud. With no AC and a warm smelly room, you are forced to leave windows open and bear the loud tourists wandering about. The only upside to this place was that I only had to deal with it for 1 night. NOT worth the price and definitely NOT a 4 star hotel...that is a joke.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KDJ114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
887 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#63 of 137 in Zurich
177 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#24 of 137 in Zurich
487 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#48 of 137 in Zurich
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wellenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellenberg

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#43 Family Hotel in Zurich
#55 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $268 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wellenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wellenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellenberg Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing