We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for grannies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel for grannies”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

You know , this room 100%looks like for grannies or people after 60..
It was too soft bed , and there were a location of twin beds in front of the empty blind wall but a TV set is on the left corner with a bad watching angle , the room smells like after ages .
First and second , and third points of our view of this room were strange , I asked to change a room when arrived for 2 separate bed in this way and change that room's atmosphere (upgrade because of silver status) but got an answer : "it was done existing upgrade for you anyway" ...
Sure , but on a picture of MGallary you tease people like me with a new style of room not an old fashioned type , you know how to do that exactly .
Just all hotel furnitureware live in a good conditions in this room , no space for alive people , it's a pitty .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxolok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
I am truly sorry ou feel this way about our Swiss traditional rooms. As you saw on our website we have got different type of rooms, some modern, urban ones and the more traditional style (that many tourists like). Unfortuantely we have only a handful of rooms with 2 seperate beds, as the majority of our guests request king beds. For future reference, please let us know upon reservation which type you prefer and we do our utmost to accommodate you accordingly. Once again, I am sorry for your inconveniences. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    839
    243
    43
    33
See reviews for
205
919
226
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a couple of times, and wouldn't hesitate to go back next time I'm in Zurich. It doesn't look much from the outside, but it's lovely on the inside. Rooms are well kitted out and very comfortable, staff are very friendly and professional. Breakfast was good. It's also very conveniently situated for the main train station, at only about 5 min walk away. WiFi access was free.

Seriously, what more do you want?

Oh, what's that, you'd also like a little barrel of fresh local apple juice in reception from which you can just help yourself? Well, it's got one of those too! A nice little touch, I thought.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NautiusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
What a wonderful reward for all the Continental Zurich team to read such a fabulous feedback of a repeating client on tripadvisor. Thank you for having taken the time to do so, we all appreciate this very much. Best regards and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Monica Voegeli & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, Kent, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

First the shortcomings.

Misleading offers on the Accor website .

For customers booking on-line and prepaying in advance the site offers 3 nights for 2 and includes breakfast. My deal was £112 per night excluding breakfast. I tried to book on-line at the 3=2 section, and they charged £336 excluding breakfast, not £224 including breakfast. I sought to rectify this seriously misleading information both by phone in advance of my trip, and with customer relations at the hotel on 22 February about 14:00 hrs. The lady accepted that the site did not provide the offered service but I received no indication that she would seek to resolve or correct the issue. The prices vary depending on dates booked and prepaid. The misleading 3=2 offer remains untruthful.

Other issues:

Housekeeping
Colleagues returning to rooms 545 and 546 at 18:00 hrs on 23 February found that neither room had been made up. A call to housekeeping rectified this, but what followed was not the usual thorough cleaning service

Bar Service
We were not allowed into the bar at 22:50 hours because they were about to close. We were offered drinks in the adjoining lounge, but half hour later they wanted us to sign the bills as they were closing their paper work.

Electric sockets
Room 545 had both Swiss and continental sockets. Room 546 had only Swiss sockets

Accor Club A-1 silver card members
I thought that Sofitel offered welcome drinks on arrival. Hotel Contiental did not.
I am unclear whether this is because they are "ex-Sofitel", or whether it was a service issue.

The Plus Points
Good location.
Quiet rooms
Good efficient wifi
Pleasant atmosphere, if you don’t let the above shortcomings get to you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald-TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
OMG, I am so embarassed! I understand your dissapointment in our lack of service and I sincerely apologize for all your troubles. I will look into the matter with all departments concerned. As to the booking the 3for2 rate is an advert, available on certain days. Once you reach the actual booking site you clearly see all the rates, packages available for the category and dates you requested. My sincere apologies. Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Mrs, Mr,
The room 432:
A paper: "Hello Mr Flemings" ... my name is not Mr Flemings.
I come alone: a bed for a baby
But the worst was the smell: cleaning product.
I had to change room: 232. A little noise every day: you hear a woman walking with heels.
I signal to the desk an hole in the sheet of the bed in the morning. I had to repeat it in the evening (nothing was done).
Very bad service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I am so sorry to read about your obviously unacceptable service at our hotel.
The room change of the mentioned guests with the baby cot request and a misscommunication between housekeeping and reception lead to your unpleasant surprise. Nevermind, I agree that this is a no go and I will immediately look into this with my head of departments. It's a pitty you didn't mention it during your stay, as we would have made it up to you. Now, all I can do is extend my sincere apologies. Best regards, Monica Voegeli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#25 of 138 in Zurich
874 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
722 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
815 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
346 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): $225 - $399
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, ACCOR, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing