We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

......nestled on the hills , with a magnificent view .... you will feel like far away but close to you there is an international city. Top quality service in a beautiful building by Norman foster . Rooms are big and well equipped and enjoy a wanderfull view . The spa is luxurious with 2 pools , one heated outdoor . One of the best stay ever .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear Giuliana C

Thank you for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for the beautiful headline.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the design of the hotel, as well as our Spa. Our employees will very much appreciate your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    106
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
131
390
56
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you go to Zurich - it really is worth staying in this hotel. The rooms are amazing and very technology advanced. The spa is simply the best. I've spent many of Sundays getting treatments at their spa or swimming in their amazing pool. The food is always fantastic there. The staff are amazing and really helpful. The hotel is not in the center of town, but it's easy to commute in with either a taxi, their very cool vintage bus, or with public transport. It's hard to imagine that would be disappointed by staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSPrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Ms JSPrima

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this detailed and marvellous review and for staying with us at the Dolder Grand. We are delighted to gain such recognition for our product and especially for our staff.

We look forward to your return with us in the near future.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

A friend took me here to show me how beautiful this hotel is. As one might expect we ended up at the bar. Superb bar tender beautiful decoration and great company. Smashing experience!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazlaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

What a wonderful hotel overlooking Zurich. The hotel provides a minibus down to the city on the hour and back on the half hour.
Very pricey, but if you want to treat yourself definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank provi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear provi

Thank you for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for the expressive headline.

We are happy to hear that you could spend some enjoyable moments with us and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Best regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

My 16 year old daughter spent two nights here in July before returning to the states after a 30 trip. After staying in 4 and 5 star hotels I must say I am leaning toward 4 stars from now on. The hotel is lovely, the room was very large and modern and the bathroom was beautiful but the prices were outrageous even for Zurich. We had dinner in the more casual dining room both nights and the food was very good but expensive. The shuttle to town was nice but at this price I expected it to run more than once an hour.
HOWEVER, the spa is worth the splurge. I have been in many spas all over the world and this one ranks up there with the best. Treatments were nothing special but the main areas were worth the prices. Fabulous outdoor pool and spa overlooking the city. Large indoor lap pool, plunge pools, room with snow - yes snow...I could go on and on. We spent 5 hours there one dreary rainy day and it was fabulous. Next time in Zurich I will probably stay somewhere in town but plan a day at the spa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear MissMagPie

Thank you for staying at the Dolder Grand and for your positive remarks.

We are happy to learn that you and your daughter appreciated the time spent with us and had a pleasant and beneficial spa experience. We make every effort to continuously improve the quality and variety of our products and services in order to offer even better value and satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back at the Dolder Grand.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#8 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Property: The Dolder Grand
Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#2 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): $652 - $1,080
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing