We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore zurich”
Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #2 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2009

It was our first trip to Zurich! Beautiful city! The hotel location was perfect to explore Zurich and the regions. Public transport is very easy to navigate from the hotel. The hotel staff let it down. They were way too stuck up! It is a lovely hotel. Breakfast was enjoyable except despite it being summer and 30C + you are not permitted to wear shorts! The food in the restaurant was ok.....We ate at Michelin star restaurants so not really fair to compare. Even at those fine restaurants the staff were friendly.
The room we had was spacious and clean. We did try the hotel nightclub but there are better places in Zurich to party.

All in all it was an amazing trip but I wouldn't stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 456 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2009

Alright, where to even start... We booked this hotel hearing from friends that it was the best place to stay. We usually stay in 5 star hotels, so the expense was not something that bothered us. We arrived around 4pm and we had to wait 30 minutes for our room to be ready. We stayed in a Jr. Suite, before we had booked we recieved an email about construction that was going on and how room view facing the lake would be blocked. Upon getting this email, I started emailing the hotel to ensure we would have a room with some sort of view. When we entered the room it was totally outdated. I understand trying to make a hotel room look antique, but this room look just ran down. Sure enough, we had a room that was not facing any views, it was on the canal, with a huge crane blocking any views that would have been there. I asked if our room could be switched, and they didn't have any other rooms for us. It made me very upset that I took the time to verify that our room would have a view, and it didn't. I understand construction, but really?!?! It turns out that the crane was blocking the lake views 3 weeks before our stay, but had been placed outside our windows afterwards.

Not only was the room run down, but we had to take 2 elevators to get to the room. The 2nd elevator was so small that to take our luggage down took 2 trips. The room was not well cleaned, there were cobwebs on the lamps, windows and corners of the room.

Having not been to Zurich before, we were told by the hotel it was a great location. The location was right by the dock, which made it nice to walk around, however for shopping and sightseeing it was out of the way. The resturant was totally overpriced for what was offered... I have had much better dining.

I am not big on complaining, but I really feel that this hotel should not have a 5 star rating.

There are much much better places to stay within Zurich. For the price of what you are paying, you expect quality and I certainly did not find that here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DeCecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Being one of the oldest hotels in Zurich, Baur au Lac is just great. Right in the middle of the city, situated by the lake and close to the famous Bahnhofstrasse, it stands up to its reputation. Each and every one of the guest is a VIP for the staff.

The hotel is privately owned, small with about 124 rooms, 2 restaurants and a lounge bar. They have a fitness facility on the top floor with the beautiful view of the lake. The hotel building is about 170 years old. The rooms have a good view as well, some overlooking the hotel gardens and the lake while others with the city view. The rooms are big, beds comfortable and elaborate bathrooms with free WiFi access. All the guests are welcomed with a plate of fruits and water, which are changed everyday.

The staff at the hotel are really very friendly and courteous. The front desk walks to your room and explains everything in there and are always smiling. If you want to go around the city, the concierge helps you out with all the arrangements. Want to go for a picnic by the lake, they will arrange a picnic basket for you as well.

Baur au Lac offers 24 hour room service, a different menu after midnight. They also have their own garage where the cars are also given the VIP treatment.

The 2 restaurants are worth going. Excellent service, good food. One of the restaurants, Le Francais, is just shy of a Michelin Star! It offers great french cuisine with exceptional taste. In the summer, this restaurant moves to the hotel gardens. The other casual dining restaurant and bar is called Rive Gauche is the place to be for all the bankers and others working around that area. One might be able to see a VIP and can have a drink with him or her.

Overall this hotel is great and it caters to business and casual travelers. Its central location is an advantage and in spite of that, the hotel has a feel of a resort in the countryside. If you like to be treated as a VIP, Baur au Lac is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Amdya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Great location, attentive service from the staffs.
I e-mailed the hotel and booked the room with them directly, responses were replied promptly and efficiently.
Our flight arrived in the morning, and they arranged early check in to get us in our room in the morning, which is a really nice touch, I really appreciate it.
The building itself is nice and elegant, but part of it were under construction, it's a shame not being able to get the canal view room.
The lobby is comfy but a bit small, and I can see some wear and tear in the lobby though.
Room is very clean and spacious, and the marble bathroom is very nice. Soundproof of the room is very good, definitely exceeds my expectation on an old hotel like this.
Everyone from the hotel is friendly and helpful. The concierge took care of our requests in a blink, which is amazing.
They also serve afternoon fruits and a selection of turndown desserts, nice touch.
Internet access and mini bar are both included in the room rate, which is nice.

Two minor problems though:
breakfast is not good value, very few selection, and the service in the dining room missed details here and there.
also, we had lunch on the nearby mountain one day, I noticed that there are bus routes and lifts on the map, but the concierge told us it wouldn't be possible to reach there by public transportation and told us to take a cab instead. But we noticed that there is public transportation steps from our restaurant !

Those were minor problems, but I wish they can improve that.
Other than those, everything else is smooth and wonderful, we had a really pleasant stay. Thank you again to the lovely staffs at Baur Au Lac !
This is definitely THE place to stay in Zurich

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank babygenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

The Baur au Lac has got to be one of the best hotels that I stay at. The service is second to none, both in the hotel, and in the conference & banqueting department.

I've stayed here a couple of nights every year for the past 15 years. It's just a great place. Yes, the staff can be a little snooty, but what do you expect. They aren't the most technologically advanced rooms, but anyone who is that advanced nowadays has wireless internet on a handheld device anyway!

I particularly like the way that they've renovated the place over the past couple of years. (Although it does seem as though they've been renovating continuously for the past 5 years!)

The rooms are all good, the Pavillion is excellent, and the Rive Gauche bar is relatively "happening", for a Zurich hotel bar.

However, the reason I like this hotel best of all is simply the service. You really can't get better.

If you need to do an event in Zurich, while the rooms aren't all that flexible, if you do end up at the hotel, the banqueting staff are just great.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravellerBEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 138 in Zurich
853 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#6 of 138 in Zurich
1,110 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#5 of 138 in Zurich
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#4 of 138 in Zurich
962 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
259 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#7 of 138 in Zurich
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: AU$740 - AU$1,616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing