We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveller rating
682
87
28
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
87
28
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rolls royce grand dame grand hotel best hotels in the world concierge staff in room dining five star hotel junior suite classic hotel room service superb hotel swiss hospitality lake view pillow menu the location is perfect favorite hotel mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have 2 go to Europe several times a year for work and find the Zurich airport absolutely the easiest one to arrive to from America. Once I arrive there I go straight to the Baur Au Lac Hotel in Zurich. There are in reality many other hotels to go to in Zurich which are lesser in price. But for me the Baur Au Lac is the place 2 go . It is minutes away from the main shopping street, minutes away from the Train station and a very short walk to the old town. The Baur au lac was just recently renovated and the rooms are lovely and comfortable and for me very quiet.
It is elegantly run, the service is meticulous. The restaurant in the Pavillion , which also was recently renovated, has the most beautiful atompshere which overlooks their gardens and the buffet for breakfast is great, from their selection of cheeses, to their muesli and nova lux.this is surely one of the best run hotels and most elegant in the world. Though a little pricey compared to
New York city or London it really isn't. Don't hesitate to go if you go to Zurich.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal it tends to be very quiet there.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThinkingTwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear ThinkingTwice

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoy staying with us. Your comments about our newly renovated rooms and our restaurant Pavillon are much appreciated. Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is the second time i stayed at this fantastic hotel.

The rooms are very tastefully decorated and very comfortable, but what is incredible is the service and the courtesy of the staff.

Almost every member calls you by name even on the first meeting!! AMAZING!

Location is superb ofcourse though not may rooms have a great view!

definitely the first choice for a hotel for business and pleasure stay in Zurich!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great you cant go wrong!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear ajitbubber

Thank you very much for posting your review on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you like the decoration of our rooms and the location of the hotel. Especially your comments about our staff make us very proud. Please rest assured that your email will be distributed to our team. It will definitely brighten their day!

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The rooms are large and have heated floors in the bathrooms. Very clean and fully equipped. First class amenities. The shower spills gallons of water on you and there are more towels than you could ever use.
The restaurant is on the same level is tour d'argent in Paris. Very pleased with the location, nearest hotel to the lake.
Did not get a room with a lake view. Not necessary, however, I might try that next time. Black out drapes, in addition, automated plantation blinds that completely block all light.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chubbyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Chubbyfeet

Thank you very much for sharing your „Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Our family stopped here for one night on our way back to the USA. I have to say everything was fantastic.

We required transportation for six people from Basel to Zurich and then to the Zurich airport the following day. We had the same driver both days and he was phenomenal. He was friendly and assisted us all the way to check in at the airport on our way out of town.

The rooms (two adjoining junior suites) were huge, immaculate, and beautiful. There was ample closet space, sitting space and huge bathrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable.

The concierge made a wonderful restaurant reservation for us and was beyond helpful when it came to sharing directions, maps and the like.

I will definitely return to this hotel and give it my highest recommendation. I have not one complaint.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelGirlABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Heboulos,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your stay at the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor. It is a true pleasure for us to read your review! We are delighted that you and your family had such a great time with us. Please be assured that we will share your kind words with the entire Baur au Lac team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Ok, giving 5 stars for a luxury hotel may be a common place, but I believe every hotel must be reviewed in to dimesions: An absolute dimension (using the Accor group as an example, a Sofitel will be a better experience than a Formule 1) and a relative dimension (again using the Accor group a Mercure may be better value than a Sofitel).
That said, the Baur au Lac excells in both dimensions, you get everything you expect from a hotel on it class and price range, futhermore, you get impeccable services from start to end and top notch facilities in am incredible location.
Firt location: It´s close enough to the main streets and sights so you will not need a car, but a quiet street, just by the lake and eith a private garden (of unbelieveble size for a building downtown) to have a peaceful night.
Second facilities: Spacious rooms, with large bathrooms (with heated marble floors). Comfotable beds, a good work desk and plenty of space for you luggage. The lobby and other common areas also impeccable. Also try the breakfast at the restaurant by the garden, delicious food with a peaceful view to start your day.
Third services: Helpful staff, most speak differents lenguages (besides the obvious english, german and french). The concierge gave great indications of restaurants and shops and sights to go.
Bottom line: One of the best hotel i've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauloPatricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear PauloPatricio

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay at the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor. It is a true pleasure to read your review! We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us.

Please rest assured that we will share your review with all our employees. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Zurich.

Yours sincerely

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews