We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by the lake”
Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #3 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Ok, giving 5 stars for a luxury hotel may be a common place, but I believe every hotel must be reviewed in to dimesions: An absolute dimension (using the Accor group as an example, a Sofitel will be a better experience than a Formule 1) and a relative dimension (again using the Accor group a Mercure may be better value than a Sofitel).
That said, the Baur au Lac excells in both dimensions, you get everything you expect from a hotel on it class and price range, futhermore, you get impeccable services from start to end and top notch facilities in am incredible location.
Firt location: It´s close enough to the main streets and sights so you will not need a car, but a quiet street, just by the lake and eith a private garden (of unbelieveble size for a building downtown) to have a peaceful night.
Second facilities: Spacious rooms, with large bathrooms (with heated marble floors). Comfotable beds, a good work desk and plenty of space for you luggage. The lobby and other common areas also impeccable. Also try the breakfast at the restaurant by the garden, delicious food with a peaceful view to start your day.
Third services: Helpful staff, most speak differents lenguages (besides the obvious english, german and french). The concierge gave great indications of restaurants and shops and sights to go.
Bottom line: One of the best hotel i've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauloPatricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear PauloPatricio

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay at the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor. It is a true pleasure to read your review! We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us.

Please rest assured that we will share your review with all our employees. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Zurich.

Yours sincerely

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 388 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Baur au Lac, which was fantastic. Facilities & service were impeccable from start to finish. It is not just the quality of the furnishings, the ample size of the room (or bathroom), the bed (which was one of the best I have ever slept in) or the elegance of the dining room and bar area, but the little things - calling us when the room was ready (as we arrived 9:00 am) and having our bags all in the room, the door-man, the advice from the concierge etc.

I have stayed many times in Zurich at a range of hotels - Baur au Lac is the best I have experienced by far.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicAusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear VicAusTraveller

Thank you very much for the wonderful and kind words you have posted about your „Baur au Lac experience“ on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that your review will be shared with the entire Baur au Lac team.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here for a week-end, the place is a real oasis in the city: great location, spectacular design and interiors, top-notch service and amenities.
Our room and bathroom were unexpectedly spacious which is hard to find in European Hotels. Fruit, water and complimentary mini-bar were another pleasant surprise.
The terrace adjunct to a lovely park is a place to be for drinks any time of the day, unfortunately they close at midnight which is a true pity, since the party just starts in the summer, and we wanted to stay there longer to enjoy fresh cool breeze from the lake.
Pavillon restaurant is a special place to dine even if you are not staying at the hotel, the service, food and presentation are all simply perfect and won't disappoint you :).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIPEPINEAPPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear RIPEPINEAPPLE

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your stay at the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor. It is a true pleasure to read your review! We are delighted that you had such a great stay at the hotel and enjoyed our various restaurants. Please be assured that we will pass on your kind comments to our entire team. It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Zurich is probably the most expensive city in Europe - so if you are visiting then be prepared. We have been there before so knew what to expect - and this hotel is probably the best one there.
Here you are paying for the peerless service, surroundings & location. The service is really old-school hotel - the staff are highly trained & professional. The dining options here are excellent - and sitting out in the terrace area looking onto the garden is a wonderful experience. The breakfasts in the restaurant are truly special - it is really a lovely place to sit & start the day.
The only area I found a little lacking were the rooms. We had two - one of which had been allegedly recently renovated. My room was nice - if a little bland. And the tv/entertainment unti comes up for special mention - it was a pain to operate. It took a while to get going & then had to navigate through countless menus - a real pain when you just want to turn on the tv & watch some news.
The other room we had (Room 343 so you can get this fixed please!) had allegedly been recently renovated. It was of a slightly higher standard but the air-cond was a shocker - it made fhe most dreadful noise - sounded like an old plane! It was mentioned by my mother to reception within hours of checking in & wasn't fixed. But thankfully at 82yo she is quite deaf so wasn't too fussed about it. if it had been my room I wouldn't have put up with this at all.
Maintenance does seem to be an issue here - I noticed the carpet join near the slight ramp next to the lift on the 3rd floor had threads showing & the bed spread in my room (309) had some pulled threads on it that had been badly re-sown in a slightly different colour. In any other hotel this would not be mentioned - but when you are paying around 900 euros per night you expect the finer details to be covered.
Am I being too fussy? Maybe - but at a place like this the devil is in the detail. I am sure after this review is posted that these will be fixed immediately. It's a shame I had to mention them though.
It is definitely worth staying here - but only if money is no object. Am sure they will no doubt iron out the little details I mentioned - but they are what is holding me back from giving it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalterBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear WalterBW,

First of all allow us to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your stay at the Baur au Lac in such detail on tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel that the Baur au Lac is the right choice of hotel in Zurich.

Your insightful comments have been discussed with our team, who were delighted to know they contributed to the positive experience you enjoyed with us.

The negative yet constructive feedback about the rooms was of course also studied, and again we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. As assumed we have already taken the necessary measures. We hope that the mentioned concerns will not keep you from visiting us once more on a future occasion. It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

If I had more than 5 stars, this would probably be the only property to deserve it. I have been coming to Zurich every year for the past 18 years. Sometimes I have been in the city twice a year. Always it has been the Baur Au Lac. It is where i feel at home. The staff's attention to detail is exceptional legendary. Always courteous, friendly and always wanting to put the needs of their customers first. Their discretion is legendary and also is the concierge's wealth of knowledge.Ver
Baur Au Lac can never fail. The food and rooms are superb. The hotel has an excellent location just seconds away from the shopping paradise of Banhofstrasse and the banking centre of Paradeplatz. The hotel is also minutes away from the beautiful Lake Zurich.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for Raja, Jeremy, Mario and Khaled. Their expertise is legendary and will never fai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yp1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear yp1900

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments about the Baur au Lac with on tripadvisor, it is a true pleasure to read your review.

We are delighted to know that you feel at home at the hotel and that you have been considering the Baur au Lac for many years. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests. Please rest assured that your comments will be distributed to our team. It will definitely brighten their day.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
826 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#8 of 137 in Zurich
1,080 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#7 of 137 in Zurich
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 137 in Zurich
246 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 137 in Zurich
503 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 137 in Zurich
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#3 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $820 - $1,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing