We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baur au Lac
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
USD 234*
USD 193*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 456*
USD 310*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 312*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 379*
USD 318*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 204*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 310*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 202*
USD 187*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
USD 189*
USD 141*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 607*
USD 429*
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swissotel Zurich(Zurich)
USD 192*
USD 147*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
632
82
26
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
632
82
26
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrolls roycegrand dameleading hotels of the worldconcierge staffgrand hotelfive star hotelclassic hotelroom servicejunior suiteswiss hospitalityfamous bahnhofstrasselake viewfantastic hotelpillow menuthe location is perfectfavorite hotellovely room
Filter
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed for my 6th wedding anniversary and the hotel was perfect for this kind of special occasion. The suite was very comfortable & functional. I have asked the concierge to arrange flowers and champagne before the arrival and they have done a great job. When my wife entered the suite, she was so impressed. The concierge staff from the door to the desk was just perfect. I was welcomed in French as I believe they recognize my car French plate… impressive! And all my requests were smoothly and effectively handled by all employees of the hotel who are polite and helpful. I will recommend this hotel for sure as it is also very well located downtown Zurich. CONGRATULATION

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLemoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear SLemoine

Such wonderful and kind words! Thank you very much for taking the time to post your „ Baur au Lac experience “on tripadvisor. We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the Baur au Lac staff contributed in making your 6th wedding anniversary unforgettable!
Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team. It will definitely brighten their day! It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Your Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you can afford the price this hotel is an amazing experience. Perfectly located on the shore of the lake, Zurich's business district is small enough so that it's all in walking distance. My favourite moment was watching the concierge conduct 5 conversations in five minutes in flawless German, French, Italian and English switching effortlessly back and forth. Tey'll spoil you but the bill will be impressive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosnold10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Gosnold10

Thank you for your feedback which we have shared with our entire team. They were delighted to know they contributed to the positive experience you enjoyed with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Your sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

It's Location is good. Inside decoration is awesome. Room is awesome. Real five star Hotel. One of the best hotel ever i saw. and also one of the best ever location i saw. But Rates of rooms is high but service is good, cleanliness of room is awesome . Outside location is good. When snowfall is having there garden is looking awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krrissh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear krrissh111,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us; it is a true pleasure to read your review! We are delighted that you had such a great stay at the Baur au Lac. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with our entire team. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a seeminly snobby hotel to those who have not stayed here. I have stayed at the Baur au Lac over 10 times and it has been a warm, friendly experience. The staff is so helpful! It feels like home every time I return. The rooms are beautiful and the showers feel as though you are standing under a waterfall! Worth every $ spent!! After all, you get what you pay for! One tip for the ladies... Bring hair conditioner... As in most european hotels, the hair products won't untangle your locks!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Cary C

Such wonderful and kind words! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your “Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday with us and moreover have already chosen the Baur au Lac for several times for your stay in Zurich. We are very proud to read that the Baur au Lac staff contributed in making your stay once again an unforgettable one! Please rest assured that your email will be distributed to our team and that also your comment about the hair conditioner has been noted.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

At first I was a bit shocked at the rates here, but all of the top hotels in Zurich were around the same price, so I chose the Baur au Lac for the in-town location and more classic design. It was absolutely fantastic in every way.

Our room was an unusual (almost round) shape and had a fabulous marble bathroom. The location of the hotel is very convenient for walking around to shops and restaurants. Service is exceptional, and at all times I felt like the staff to guest ratio was 5:1. Breakfast in the gorgeous dining room was top-notch. We loved dinner and drinks in the more causal of the two restaurant/bars, which has a very luxurious and sophisticated feel without being stuffy. Again, expect $20 drinks, but this comes with the territory in Zurich.

If your budget allows, this truly is one of the best hotels in all of Europe and worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagunadallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear lagunadallas,

Thank you very much for the kind feedback, you have given on your recent stay at the Baur au Lac. We are delighted to learn that your stay in Zurich and in our hotel was enjoyable to you. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with our entire team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews