We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious local produce, great atmosphere & fantastic service. A true Gem!”
Review of Wirtschaft zur Au

Wirtschaft zur Au
Ranked #251 of 2,179 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The urban restaurant with biergarten located close to Sihlcity. Modern, european cuisine. Lunch menu and business lunch, dinner à la carte. Vast choice of drinks, beer and over 70 wine labels. Suitable for groups up to 60 people.
Restaurant details
Description: The urban restaurant with biergarten located close to Sihlcity. Modern, european cuisine. Lunch menu and business lunch, dinner à la carte. Vast choice of drinks, beer and over 70 wine labels. Suitable for groups up to 60 people.
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This was hands down by far the best meal we had during our time in Zurich. We spent the weekend with friends and locals and came for dinner here on Saturday night. We were warmly welcomed by the owner and the staff and felt looked after from the very first second. The menu is seasonal and filled with local produce which speaks for its quality and freshness. Amongst the 7 of us we indulged in fabulous beef tartar (which was incredible and way better than the one we had the night before at Loft 5), tender wild boar, the mussels, the vegetarian risotto and vegan butternut squash. Being out with a mix of carnivores and vegans can be tricky these days but this restaurant truly caters well to both tastes and maintains the same quality and care in each and every dish they bring to the table. Everything is prepared fresh and with an eye for detail. With the owner being a sommelier himself we left the wine selection to him which turned out to be the perfect pairing for our meal. We finished off with a true swiss classic - chestnut Vermicelle and also tried an amazing unalcoholic Seedlip Gin & Tonic.

Wirtschaft zur Au still manages to maintain incredible value for money with its portions not only delicious but also very generous. It is a restaurant which is perfect for a dinner with good friends, a romantic date or a business lunch as the beautiful interior and atmosphere invites for great conversation.

Needless to say that we will be back on our next trip and cannot wait to see what will be on the menu!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank An N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirtschaft_zur_Au, Geschäftsführer at Wirtschaft zur Au, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear An N,
thank you very much for the detailed review of your experience at our restaurant.
We are proud to read that you had your best meal with us during your stay in Zürich.
Looking forward to welcome you again during your next stay in Zürich.

Best regards
Jörg Waldthaler
manager | host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

Brilliant food that's reasonably priced and lovely setting with outside seating. The service was excellent and the owner make you feel very at home. Highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank andreaskasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirtschaft_zur_Au, Geschäftsführer at Wirtschaft zur Au, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear andreaskasper
thank you very much for taking the time to write this excellent review.
We are pleased to hear that you felt welcome and comfortable during your meal at our restaurant.
We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The decor is very pleasant. And the food good with generous portions. The wine selection also respectable. Staff a bit brusk, but manageable. Decent value for Zurich. If I'm in the area, I'll go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JonathanKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirtschaft_zur_Au, Geschäftsführer at Wirtschaft zur Au, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear JonathanKlein
thank you very much for the good review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant and hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Finally tried out this real little gem! Pleasantly surprised at the most delicious food & good service. Definitely recommend it.

Thank HannahChilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirtschaft_zur_Au, Geschäftsführer at Wirtschaft zur Au, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear HannahChilli,
glad to hear that you where pleasantly surprised by our performance.
I hope to welcome you again in our lovely restaurant with its wonderful garden which is now open!

kind regards
Jörg Waldthaler
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Had a creative, delicious meal served by friendly caring staff. The seared perch was excellent and the red Emmalie potatoes a treat - I've never tasted such gems before. The best surprise was the juicy poppy seed cake, quite different and appealing - although I didn't find that the apple compote added much

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirtschaft_zur_Au, Geschäftsführer at Wirtschaft zur Au, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Pat N,
thank you for the great review!
We feel very happy that you spent a good time at our restaurant and hope to see you soon again.
In summer we serve our lovely food in our cosy garden behind the house.

best regards
Jörg Waldthaler
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wirtschaft zur Au also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Wirtschaft zur Au? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing