We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more than one night.....”
Review of Hotel Banana City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Banana City
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We (my husband and I) stayed here for one night. The room was a nice size, however it was quite warm as there was/is no air con.. The room was noisy due to the train lines below room window. There were no facilities in the room for tea or coffee. We had requested late check out as we were involved in the Winterthur marathon, there was no problem with this at the time of booking, however on returning to our room we were declined access! Reception staff did in turn correct this for us, although with both email and verbal confirmation one would expect this error not to occur. Room was clean. We would stay here again if we had no other choice of hotel in Winterthur.

Room Tip: Rooms away from train lines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here for a night during a work conference. I didn't spend too much time at the hotel itself but the staff were all helpful and polite and the room was very clean and large. Good location near the train station. The choice of food at breakfast was good too. Overall, I found this relatively good price and value for similar hotels with similar facilities.I'd definitely recommend this for work purposes since it seems to have that kind of atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I visited Hotel Banana city several times, this is an ordinary 4 star hotel with the ordinary 4 star services. I was satisfied with everything every time I stayed here, however I did not have the felling neither time that it is my favourite hotel. Good choice for business trips. The location is excellent, it is right next to the railway station.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksscsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel seems quite good quality from outside and the public areas are nice. My first room had a dreadful smell of smoking, so I had to switch. The person at the reception said she was sorry, the hotel was fully non-smoking, but that they couldn't check every room after the customer left. This was strange, don't they have them cleaned!? The rooms had very well space, a lot more than I've gotten used to in for instance France. The first room was facing the railroad and there was some noise, but the second one was facing the yard and it was very quiet. Also, I needed an adaptor for for my European plugs, and it took three times running down to the reception before they could provide me with the right one.

The breakfast was good quality, not a specially large variety of foods, but sufficient. Only thing I missed was fresh vegetables. The coffee was really good.

Overall a nice business hotel, but not super quality.

Room Tip: The rooms on the railroad side have some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Big room. No utilities in the room (for ironing or heating water). Room not soundproof (could hear the neighbour talking on the phone). Affordable rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SECOELHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.7 km away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
249 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
1.4 km away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
125 reviews
0.6 km away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
150 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
#10 of 14 in Winterthur
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana City

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 8, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range: $228 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Banana City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winterthur's Friendly Business Hotel Hotel Banana City is a completely independent hotel under private ownership. It's part of SISKA Heuberger Holding AG's multifunctional services complex located in the centre of town, close to Winterthur's central train station. The building complex, more than 200m long, has such an intriguingly arched shape that locals have come to affectionately call it>, hence the hotel's name. What used to be an industrial site has been successfully converted into one of Winterthur's most beautiful hallmark buildings thanks to its modern glass facade. Successful and Popular The hotel is very much focused on the specific needs of business patrons. With 10 conference halls and meeting rooms, the banqueting hall and 101 guest rooms, it has all it takes for efficient congress organisation in a single place. Hotel Banana City is becoming an increasingly popular venue for congresses and meetings. Each year, the hotel played host to more than 52,000 guests, amongst them many conference and meeting participants or persons attending cultural events or private parties. Hotel Banana City (including all guest rooms and conference facilities) has been consistently built to give full access to persons in wheelchairs. Health and Relaxation On our premises, you will find Winterthur's largest fitness and spa centre (exercise machines, saunas, relaxation pool) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Banana City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Winterthur
Winterthur Best Western
Hotel Banana City Winterthur, Canton Of Zurich, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing