We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategically located hotel facing the beautiful lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I stayed here for a business trip: attending a training course organised by IMD school.

This actually was my fourth visit to the hotel, the first being 5 years ago while I attended a different course organised by my company held in IMD. Not many things have changed in the 5 years.

The hotel is strategically located near the metro station which was only 3-4 minutes walk from the hotel. The Metro Station near the hotel is only 5 mins away from Lausanne main station (Lausanne-Gare) and 6 mins from the main shopping district (Lausanne-Flon). Thus in my opinion, if one were to choose to stay in the city or the hotel facing the lake, please opt for hotel facing the lake; the travel to the city is very short anyway.

If you are arriving by train to Lausanne (they don't have a major airport) just take the train as the transfer from the train to the hotel is quite smooth (there are not many stairs). Taxi is too costly, It could be up to 16-17 CHF for less than 5 minute ride.

As for the hotel itself. the standard room is small, but cozy. The beds are comfortable, though I felt the room was a bit damp (maybe it was the AC). The bathroom was small, but it has a bath so I would say it is well equipped. Tip: get a room facing the lake, the view is worth it :)

The hotel had a very well equipped gym! I have stayed in many hotels before and this hotel gym is definitely in the top tier hotels which have a properly equipped gym (see picture).

The only downside of this hotel is the breakfast restaurant. The quality of the food is what made me decide to give this hotel a 4 star, and I felt which quality declined from my last visit 5 years ago. I remembered they had very creamy yoghurt last time I stayed, this time the yoghurt was just 'meh'. The breakfast hall was super crowded with business people, and thus 'fast breakfast' is not possible as we had to queue for food.

The staff is super friendly, and even recognised me from my last trip! Please always check out the night before, as they only have 3 counters for check out in the morning rush hour.

Room Tip: Facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artistry105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Movenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Artistry,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to express your opinion about your stay. Your nice comment referring to our services is appreciated and will be shared with our team.
With best regards,
J. Bundgaard,
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

I stayed there for a business trip and it was perfect for this purpose, clean rooms and very good service, the breakfast is very nice with a lot of choice. The location is great, and the room have a beautiful view on the lake.
I definetly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank lesner2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Movenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Lesner,
Thank you very much for such a wonderful rating and your positive feedback.
We appreciate that you enjoyed your breakfast.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Lausanne.
Kind regards,
J. Bundgaard,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Will always stay there and also recommend it to my friends. excellent view, great location, exceptional services. love the food and people. very close to all attractions and public transportation. thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mohamed Atef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Movenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017


Dear Mohamed Atef H,
Thank you for have choosing Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne and for your nice feedback.
Your comment concerning the service and the food will be shared with our restaurant team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
With best regards,
J. Bundgaard,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Very nice hotel; the view is really lovely, overlooking the lake - October was a great time for views as well.
The location was very convenient not only for our business meetings but for everything close to it: from pharmacy, to drug store, to Metro to go up town if walking was not desired, to lovely restaurants nearby and the Olympic Park as well.
The rooms are slightly small but nice and equipped with everything necessary; comfortable.
The breakfast was varied and good.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view are definitely a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roukiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Movenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Roukiat,
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in Lausanne and for having taken the time to express your opinion about your stay.
We do hope you will come back soon in our hotel.
With best regards,
J. Bundgaard,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

If you visit Lausanne in order to attend a course at IMD, this is the best place to be. It's nearby, the staff is really friendly and helpful. The hotel is located directly at the lac leman so the view is stunning. You are provided with a metro ticket although the train station is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank 894gudrunh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Movenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Gundrunh,
Thank you for being our guest.
We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
J. Bundgaard,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 km away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 45 in Lausanne
439 reviews
0.8 km away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.5 km away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
4.5 km away
Starling Hotel Lausanne
Starling Hotel Lausanne
#1 of 4 in Saint Sulpice
276 reviews
0.5 km away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: AU$215 - AU$443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing