We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
121
142
52
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
142
52
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool train station short walk skiing trip convenient location good size skis and boots comfy bed comfortable hotel views of the mountains every evening breakfast room fantastic hotel ski lift great view the main street balcony
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

I'm fussy with hotels, this place is excellent. Great standard, clean, good facilities, close to the station and a short walk to the ventricular. Good breakfast, bar and restaurant. 2 minute walk to the centre of town. Ski hire shop downstairs in the hotel.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon in Zermatt. Sincerely, Pascal Küttel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We stayed in the Ambassador in order to ski in Zermatt from the 3rd to the 10th february 2018. The room was brand new inside, with a balcony and view of the Matterhorn which was stunning. The hotel is literally less than a minutes walk from the train station, and there's no noise from the trains in the hotel, or any other traffic noise either, as Zermatt is car -free, except for the small electric taxis which make hardly any noise whatsoever. There is a ski room downstairs to keep your skis and boots and the hotel is very near to the Gornergrat railway which will take you up to some of the pistes. The Sunegga ski lift is about a ten inute walk but you can get the free Green line bus from outside the hotel for this--all very easy.

The pool area is calm and relaxing , a lovely whirlpool jacuzzi with no chemicals in it, and a boiling sauna to go in, powerful hairdryers and lovely hot showers.

The food in the breakfast room was everything you could wish for, vegans, vegetarians, carnivores all catered for, food was fresh and good quality, plenty of non stressful space to sit in. A good mix of Swiss, French Dutch germans and Brits in the hotel. Evening meal was stunning on most nights, large portions of food, all tasty and hearty, food was altered for me to not include meat, and as a result my meals were always what I would eat normally, lasagnes, potatoes, salads, cheeses, soups, ten out of ten.

We had lovely friendly service from the head waiter especially and all the staff in the dinner room. When we left the hotel on the last day, our bags were transported to the train station on the electric taxi that the hotel use. We asked for more pillows and were given them no problem. the hotel was quiet, no problems with noise or groups. The only thing I would say is that there is no coffee and tea making facilities in the room, and Im british so I need tea frequently through the day!! That is the only change I would make in the hotel.

I can't fault the place and we will visit again at some point. Lovely

Room tip: some of the rooms have settee areas in them, perhaps one of these would be more spacious than the others
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jenki2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel and the service team! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon in Zermatt. Sincerely, Pascal Küttel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Conveniently located close to Gornergrat station with good clean rooms. Good breakfast with plenty of choices but what made the place special was the head waiter, Carlos. Helpful and chatty but never intrusive. Excellent chef too. Experience might be different during busy group tour season but we thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank matcha001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel and the service team! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon in Zermatt. Sincerely, Pascal Küttel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This hotel is perfectly positioned for bus access to all the ski areas and walk into Zermatt town. The rooms are warm and clean and we had a Matterhorn facing room for which we had paid extra.The food in this hotel is excellent and four course meal every evening is exceptional. Sauna, pool and whirlpool helped after skking. The staff are extremely helpful and service excellent and we would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel again next year.

Room tip: Request a Matterhorn facing room for an extra charge
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon in Zermatt.

Sincerely,

Pascal Küttel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We based ourselves at the ambassador hotel for 7 nights while we were skiing in Zermatt. The hotel was in a great position, close to the train station and Gornergrat train and bus stop. The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We didn’t eat at the restaurant but the other guests were raving about it. The best part was the view of the Matterhorn and the pool, spa and sauna after a long day of skiing. Thanks for making our holiday so memorable!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KateD434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon in Zermatt.

Sincerely,

Pascal Küttel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews