We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JimineyKricket
El Paso, Texas

Charming, Swiss inn =)

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2013
Zermatt is super expensive. This was THE cheapest hotel we could find. Cheapest in dollars but not in quality. This place is so cute. I am a hotel snob. I won't camp, I won't sleep in a rock hard bed, I'm just picky & I want to rest easy while on vacation. This place was great. The rooms are small but there bathroom is not small, not crowded. It's modern and clean. The beds are European so it's hard to fit 2 people in each bed. I have a family of 4 adults: 2 parents & 2 teens. We can usually squeeze into one room in American sized beds, but European beds are much smaller. The beds were SO comfortable though. I still haven't found a bed this comfortable, even in 5 star American hotels. The plaza. The Waldorf Astoria in NYC... Not as comfortable as Le Petit Hotel. The complimentary breakfast makes American continental breakfasts look like crap. This breakfast was huge and plentiful. Soo many options, I couldn't believe how great it was for the price. The location is perfection. A 10 minute, easy paced walk to the foot of the Matterhorn. Its a half block from the main town square, the main shopping street, and the maim church. all beautiful things you'll want to see. The roof has potted flowers, deck chairs, and a TO DIE FOR view of the Matterhorn. My room had a view of the towns rolling hills, The swiss rooftops, the church steeple, and beyond the town the cows and goats grazing in the emerald fields of Switzerland. This place is perfect.
Date of stay: July 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$902
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$902
0.1 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$1,045
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$504
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$504
0.3 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$400
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$401
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$546
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$546
0.6 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$343
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Room service
AU$590
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$337
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
AU$771
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Zermatt
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
246
222
33
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
246
222
33
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the staff was friendly and helpful hotel is located minute walk from the train station first floor breakfast was excellent cereal cheese matterhorn view wardrobe ski
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here six nights while on our ski vacation. Staff were very helpful and welcoming.

The room was among the smallest I've ever stayed in, however we managed to unpack all our kit into the closet and the space was quickly made to become our home away from home. The bathrooms seem to have been recently updated and were well appointed. Beds were a bit on the uncomfortable size as the springs created pressure points. Our stay was mostly quiet however there was the odd drunk couple that would make a ruckus in the hallway and wake us up.

No matter which hotel you stay in in Zermatt, you are in for a bit of a journey to the ski lifts. Electric taxis are abundant and buses are frequent. We carried our skis to the "Matterhorn Express" lift the first day and locked our skis and boots there at a cost of two Francs per night. The hotel has a very good ski room where you can take off your gear, store your skis and dry out your boots should you desire - don't wear your ski boots inside the hotel or you will be quickly advised.

Breakfast was included - continental style. I enjoyed the meats and cheeses. Drip coffee was okay, ask for a pressure brew from the staff and they will make you one.

In the end we came to Zermatt for the skiing, not a five star hotel experience. This hotel offers good value when compare to the astronomical rates you could pay elsewhere. We had the best vacation ever staying at the Le Petit Hotel.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5a25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This was our second visit to Le Petit Hotel in 3 years and all the way from Australia. We stayed 6 nights and it was just as good as previous. Remember the name and expect that the rooms will be small but not all rooms are the same size and, everything else is big. The staff welcome is big and friendly and knowledgeable, the roof top scenery is big and has the Matterhorn as the backdrop, the assistance from the staff to get taxis or anything else you might need is big.

We had a room on the 1st floor at the end of the corridor and another on the 3rd floor. There is a good, if not tiny lift. We took the beautiful, large spiral staircase (for exercise). Both rooms had opening windows and both had excellent heating especially as it was -10C outside at night. Our room had large corner windows and was more spacious than other rooms. It was above the narrow street and the local school is just past the hotel but there was little noise. The bathroom had been decorated in a sophisticated contemporary style and had a bath and shower. It also had opening opaque windows and a heated towel rail. Servicing the room was very good and each day we got fluffy white towels and refreshed toiletries. The beds were all dressed in white and have a lovely light and warm doona (duvet to Europeans). We had a flat screen TV and free wifi, although this worked better in the corridor than the room. I would have like larger curtains fitting right over the windows as I like a darkened room to sleep in, but this is very personal.

Breakfast is on the ground floor and is decorated in traditional style. There are booths to sit in, 2 person tables and round tables for 4 or more. There is a little bar with a cappuccino machine too. It is all very cosy. For the Swiss breakfast each day we could help ourselves to juices, tea and coffee, cereal, a good choice of crusty breads, cheeses, boiled eggs, yoghurts and various condiments. Fresh fruit was available all the time and the bowl of Mandarins on the desk at reception was a nice touch and they tasted juicy and sweet. There is also a snack and drink machine if you feel the need late at night.

When we arrived by train into Zermatt we took an electric taxi to the hotel. The price was 20 Swiss francs for 4 and all our luggage and it is much better than dragging luggage through snow and past other people who are shopping. Cars are not allowed in Zermatt except for the electric taxis. We also got the hotel to arrange a taxi each day to take us to the skiing stations with all our ski gear. The cost for that was 12 Swiss francs per trip and well worth it. So each day the 4 of us and our skis etc piled into a taxi and whizzed straight to the ski stations. While the distance is not too far to walk there are some downhill icy patches and of course snow everywhere, which makes carrying skis and walking in boots a bit edgy and tiring. The hotel has a ski drying room and warmed boot racks. It is security locked and can only be accessed with your swipe card. There are comfortable chairs and benches to sit on while putting your boots on, and storage for walking shoes too.

Zermatt village is delightful and has many pedestrianised areas, cafes, shops of all types, 3 or 4 small supermarkets and lots of great Swiss architecture. It is the archetypal Swiss village. We did not find eating out too expensive and the coffee and cakes available cannot be passed up as you wander about taking photos of everything including the horses and sleds trotting through the streets. It is magical. Even if you don’t ski it is worth a visit just to wander the streets and soak up the ambience.

If you want a hotel that is small, quiet, personal, friendly and the staff make time to chat then the Le Petit Hotel is worth a try. It’s also very clean and very well priced for Zermatt. Thank you to the staff on the desk.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a bath and one of the bigger rooms. Our corner room had good opening windows and it was at the end of the corridor and had an extra external door that could be closed at night time.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loutro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My second visit and all is well and good with this splendid little hotel. I cannot really say more and a second visit confirms this hotel is rated highly by me. Enjoying a cigarette on the roof terrace one evening I noticed that the lights for the lift stations high up the mountains are blue. They then started changing colour ... On asking why, I was told there is a way to change the colour using text/sms. Any money raised goes to the local mountain guide charity.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireCandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is a great Hotel at a sensible price located just a short walk off the Bahnhofstrasse.

A 10 minute walk from the station - almost all of it walked along the plateau of the Bahnofstrasse, leads you to this small but perfectly formed Hotel. The Reception staff were always very happy to help and always offered a welcoming demeanour.

The Hotel also has a roof terrace which can be used for a spot of sunbathing or as a good vantage point for looking over Zermatt, The Matterhorn is visible from the terrace, but not in its totality.

Rooms were nice, especially the newly renovated bathrooms - they were spotless and breakfast was a standard, but numerous, buffet offering.

We would definitely go back again - its an oasis of sensibility in the exuberant town of Zermatt!!

Oh.....and the Matterhorn, believe the hype - its hypnotic in its beauty!!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gtops79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2013

As soon as you walk into the place you feel completely welcomed by the incredibly friendly staff. They are extremely helpful and know a lot about the area, where is good to go in different weather conditions.

The rooms are cosy and are nice to return to.

The breakfast is good, you won't go hungry.

The wifi can be accessed from within the rooms, but it is transmitted from the stairwell so it's better to go there for more data intensive apps like Skype.

Thank you so much for your hospitality

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews