We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Robert L
Berkshire

As Good As Ever

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Mar 2013
My second visit and all is well and good with this splendid little hotel. I cannot really say more and a second visit confirms this hotel is rated highly by me. Enjoying a cigarette on the roof terrace one evening I noticed that the lights for the lift stations high up the mountains are blue. They then started changing colour ... On asking why, I was told there is a way to change the colour using text/sms. Any money raised goes to the local mountain guide charity.
Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$433
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$433
0.3 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$482
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
AU$310
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
AU$536
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$536
0.8 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$562
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$562
0.9 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$684
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$684
0.6 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
AU$737
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Aussenansicht Winter
Tripadvisor
AU$427
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$427
1.1 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
AU$227
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
0.2 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$195
  • Expedia.com
    AU$430
0.5 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Zermatt
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
246
222
33
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
246
222
33
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the staff was friendly and helpful hotel is located minute walk from the train station first floor breakfast was excellent cereal cheese matterhorn view wardrobe ski
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is a great Hotel at a sensible price located just a short walk off the Bahnhofstrasse.

A 10 minute walk from the station - almost all of it walked along the plateau of the Bahnofstrasse, leads you to this small but perfectly formed Hotel. The Reception staff were always very happy to help and always offered a welcoming demeanour.

The Hotel also has a roof terrace which can be used for a spot of sunbathing or as a good vantage point for looking over Zermatt, The Matterhorn is visible from the terrace, but not in its totality.

Rooms were nice, especially the newly renovated bathrooms - they were spotless and breakfast was a standard, but numerous, buffet offering.

We would definitely go back again - its an oasis of sensibility in the exuberant town of Zermatt!!

Oh.....and the Matterhorn, believe the hype - its hypnotic in its beauty!!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gtops79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2013

As soon as you walk into the place you feel completely welcomed by the incredibly friendly staff. They are extremely helpful and know a lot about the area, where is good to go in different weather conditions.

The rooms are cosy and are nice to return to.

The breakfast is good, you won't go hungry.

The wifi can be accessed from within the rooms, but it is transmitted from the stairwell so it's better to go there for more data intensive apps like Skype.

Thank you so much for your hospitality

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Really great hotel, with excellent staff, all round good value for money. About a 10 minute easy walk from the train station. Come out of the station and turn right and walk up the main street through the town - go past a bank and museum on the left and you will come to the Metzggrasse ahead on the right. Go up the road, veering to the left and the hotel is in front of you on the right (number 28).

My friend and I had two single rooms. Both rooms were clean, comfortable rooms with a comfy bed, decent wardrobe space and a desk area with tv. The excellent shower room was modern and clean with a great shower, and a hairdryer. Rooms were warm - important when its -14 outside!

The staff at Reception were excellent, so friendly and helpful and with great English. When I found I had forgotten my power adapter, I got one from Reception immediately. We needed directions to places we had booked and again the staff provided maps and directions immediately. (We went to Chez Vrony for lunch and the Igludorf Zermatt for dinner - check out my separate reviews). We found the rooms quite noisy due to the town clock chiming and people on the street outside - not the hotels fault obviously - take ear plugs if this might be an issue for you.

Breakfast was included in the price - it was fine if not fancy. Everything you needed was there, eg tea, coffee, juice, cereals, breads, yogurts, cold meats, boiled eggs etc. The dining room was nice and cosy.

If I was being picky - and I mean picky - I would mention that a shelf in the shower would have been helpful, as you have to put shower gels, shampoos etc on the floor which is a bit annoying.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Be aware it can be noisy what with the town clock chiming, and large numbers of people out in the street outside - consider ear plugs
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in January 2013 and found it to be very good. As the name suggests it is small but very comfortable. Rooms were very warm but windows could be opened. Good view of the Matterhorn from the roof terrace.
Room cleaned early to a good standard but perhaps worth asking for extra pillows if you want more head support at night.
Breakfast was typical continental with a good choice and lovely coffee.
Very helpful reception team sharing local knowledge.
I would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BidBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2013

A nice warm room (some hotels in the alps neglect this bit!), with a good bed, new bathroom. Everything clean and comfortable. The breakfast was standard Swiss fodder of cheese, ham, breads, eggs, fruit, etc. The staff were friendly and would go out of their way to help. Location is ok. Its around 7 mins walk from the station, but there is a bit of a hill involved, so if you have a lot of luggage, or are not very balanced on your feet you may want to take a small electric taxi from outside the station.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neofytos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews