We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Barbara R
Sydney, Australia

What a delightful little hotel!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Oct 2012
I give this 5 out of 5 for the fantastic value for money. We were very anxious about our booking after our previous low price hotel in Switzerland. This hotel was an absolute delight - from the friendly greeting and offer to help with our bags to the cheery goodbye. The rooms are modern with comfy beds and large cupboards for storage - we had ample room for our large suitcases. There is good wifi and a small lift and the breakfast was good. The rooftop viewing area is a nice spot to relax and see glimpses of the Matahorn. There is an uphill walk from the station -so be prepared.
Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$919
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$917
  • Vio.com
    AU$685
  • Hotels.com
    AU$920
0.1 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$542
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$541
  • Vio.com
    AU$466
  • Hotels.com
    AU$544
0.3 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$408
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$407
  • Hotels.com
    AU$409
  • Vio.com
    AU$408
0.9 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$315
  • Expedia.com
    AU$295
  • Agoda.com
    AU$280
  • Hotels.com
    AU$301
0.4 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Room service
AU$416
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$416
  • Vio.com
    AU$304
  • Hotels.com
    AU$409
0.3 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$416
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$409
  • Agoda.com
    AU$373
  • Vio.com
    AU$379
0.4 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$383
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$343
  • Agoda.com
    AU$278
  • Hotels.com
    AU$344
0.4 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
AU$556
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$555
  • Hotels.com
    AU$556
  • Vio.com
    AU$556
0.6 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$788
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$785
  • Agoda.com
    AU$640
  • Expedia.com
    AU$786
5.0 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$1,087
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,086
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,080
  • Vio.com
    AU$1,089
0.1 km from Le Petit CHARME-INN
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Zermatt
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
246
222
33
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
246
222
33
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the staff was friendly and helpful hotel is located minute walk from the train station first floor breakfast was excellent cereal cheese matterhorn view wardrobe ski
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We had an amazing time in Zermatt and Le Petit was a great hotel. The hotel is very small but so comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful every morning. The staff were always so friendly and helpful. Hotel has a nice rooftop where you can sit and have hot chocolate while looking at the matterhorn. Great place! Will return!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryR083
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband, two of our friends, and I made the trek from Bavaria in Germany to here for a weekend of hiking in the area famous for the Matterhorn. We went over Veteran's Day weekend, and left late afternoon on a Thursday. We had told the hotel we would be there really late, so the hotel was kind enough to give us the code to get into the building and place our keys at the front desk in an envelope so we could get into the rooms that night (they don't have anyone for the front desk after 10 at night). We are so thankful the hotel does this because we did not get into Zermatt until about 1 that night. We are also so thankful they were very easy to walk to because we did not take one of those electric taxis when we got there (Don't use them!!!!!! They are a rip-off!!!!!!).

That morning, the front desk checked us in properly and were fantastic about letting us know what there was to do in the town that didn't have anything to do with skiing. They also told us about how to get to the hiking trail we wanted to take. Turns out, they have stairs right behind the hotel that takes you right to the trails. The front staff is the number one best thing about this hotel. I had managed to lose my car key while we were there, and I was able to call them and ask if they could see if they could find it in the room we stayed in. They did that without having me stay on the line, they called me back right away to tell me it wasn't there, but if they did happen to find it in the hotel they would mail it to me. Unfortunately, they didn't find it, but they really made the effort to do this for me and I am grateful they did that!

The room was a good size for my husband and I, and our friends had a nice sized room as well (we all were very used to the standard size of a hotel room in Europe). They had a great view of the Matterhorn, while we had to go into the bathroom for our view. Not a big deal, though. We had everything we needed, there was room for our luggage without us tripping on it, and the beds were comfortable enough for us all to have a good night's sleep. The breakfast was very good, and we all left feeling full whenever we ate there. They also had fruit we could take with us on our hikes, and the staff let us know it was okay to take extras.

It was very easy to get to everything in the town, and it was only a very short walk to the main lift up to the Klein Matterhorn, where we spent a day exploring. There are hills throughout the town, but no offense, Zermatt is a place where you should be at least a little bit fit to go to because you will be paying out the nose to be transported anywhere in that city since electric cars are the only things allowed in the town.

The city is extremely expensive for everything, so Le Petit is a gem because it is one of the best-valued hotels in the area and probably the cheapest thing you will pay for while in Zermatt. We knew we were going to spend a lot of money, but we grossly under-budgeted for food (for some reason, this is probably the most money you will ever spend on food in your life, and it applies to all of Switzerland), and we were thankful Le Petit was such a good deal.

Zermatt is a great place to go at least once in your lifetime, so definitely go, and definitely spend your time there with the great people of Le Petit Hotel.

Room tip: The corner rooms have quite a bit of space and good views. Let them know if you are going to be there late at night so you know you can get into the hotel!!!
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dms200912
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Like others have said, don't let the name fool you. This is a small but very efficient hotel. The rooms have been completely modernized for your comfort. To get to the hotel, you do have to walk up a hill and I don't believe their is a lift inside it (don't complain because you have been warned). The staff is excellent. Everyone we dealt with were extremely friendly and were fluent in a number of languages (English, French, German). The spiral staircase is interesting. The rooftop terrace is a nice place to enjoy a beer or three after a long day hiking. The bed was very comfortable. The room was indeed small, but had more storage space than you would know what to do with. The bathroom was interesting. Everything worked fine and it didn't feel cramped. But it was a little different to be showering in a stall that was not full enclosed (no door to close, just three walls and a glass panel, and the door to the bathroom was a sliding frosted glass panel. Breakfast was excellent. The typical Swiss/Bavarian breakfast with breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, juice, soft boiled eggs, etc. The only downside was seeing American sweet cereals (like Sugar Smacks), but the beauty is that you don't have to eat anything you don't want/like. Zermatt is a walking town and this location is perfect. It is about in the middle of town so you can reach anywhere without too much trouble. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoiseBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Don't let the name fool you. It is small, but very well designed. Very, very nice staff, great breakfasts, comfortable rooms and good value. The roof is a great place to kick back and enjoy the beautiful Alps. No complints at all.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesparkerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2012

As the lady at the front desk explained "the name is le Petit Hotel" because everything is small small. That's true. Small. But, nice. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean but small. If you have very large cases you will have a hard time getting in and around. Bathroom was nice, clean and modern with a towel warmer and a temperature regulator for the shower. However there were no toileteries save a shower/body gel. We went as a couple but the beds were two twin beds joined together and that was a small issue. They serve a simple breakfast int the morning: breads, canned fruits, yoghurts, jams, butter and a Swiss cheese (emmelentate?), juice, coffee, hot chocolate etc. Elevator is small too! The hotel is located about 0.6km from the station which is about a 15 min walk. We were able to manage with two 40lb cases. The last section is a bit steep but was manageable.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Priya Vijai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews