We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Zermatt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Couronne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Couronne
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

This hotel was great, the Porter picked us up at the train station, but on our way home, we walked since it was only a 10 minute walk.

The Staff was very nice, they answered our numerous questions and were always pleasant.

We had a room with a balcony and we had a great view of the Matterhorn. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very good. There were 2 computers that were available to use free.

The location was great, close to restaurants and hiking trails. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    59
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
123
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This was our first trip to Zermatt. We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. This hotel is off of the main street and has a great view of the Matterhorn. The breakfast was adequate, staff extremely friendly, and room very accommodating. Centrally located, wonderful views, great stafff. A+++

Room Tip: Try to get a south side room for views of the matterhorn. Steer clear of the hotel restaurant and op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mherrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Upon arriving by train in Zermatt we just used the courtesy phone at the train station. Hotel Couronne sent their electric shuttle to pick us up with minutes. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast had lots of choices and in a very open and lighted room with view of the Matterhorn. Unfortunately the days we were there were rainy and foggy and our view of the Matterhorn was obstructed. The room was large and had comfortable bedding. Within a short distance walk to the main part of town. We had no complaints at all with this hotel.

Room Tip: Matterhorn View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The Hotel La Couronne is close to everything, and has a beautiful view of the Matterhorn. The staff was friendly and informative. We really enjoyed our short stay, and hope to return again for a longer visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in July.
The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the railway station but they do have a porter service.

The rooms were very clean, the television had over 100 international channels and free high speed Wi-Fi. The beds were too soft for our liking. The balcony view of the Matterhorn was nice.

Breakfast was taken in a nice conservatory which also had a view of the Matterhorn. It consisted of a small selection of hot food plus cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts etc...

The reception and breakfast staff were friendly and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxing stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Book a room with a Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#25 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.1 km away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#21 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 km away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Ambiance
Hotel Ambiance
#55 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Couronne

Property: Hotel La Couronne
Address: Kirchstrasse 17, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#32 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#43 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price range (per night): $234 - $400
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Couronne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA COURONNE offers breathtaking Matterhorn views. The Hotel is located in a sunny and quiet place in the heart of Zermatt, the mountain railways can easily be reached on foot or by bus. Enjoy breakfast in the beautiful winter garden with its unique atmosphere and let yourself be spoiled at our restaurant OLD ZERMATT where we serve fresh cuisine and good wine. A vegetarian menu is also offered, gluten free dishes are available. SLALOM SPORT is situated in the same complex and offers hotel guests special discounts. After a great day out in the fresh mountain air, you can relax in the sauna. Free wireless internet is available in the entire hotel LA COURONNE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couronne Hotel
La Couronne Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing