We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
375
231
55
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
231
55
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt water pool train station family room great view main building excellent hotel stayed for one night large balcony reception staff quiet area each evening breakfast and dinner matterhorn view booked this hotel sister hotel excellent stay breakfast spread
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

we loved the view of Mont Cervin from the terrace, the spa is one of the best.... salt water jacuzzi with colortherapy and other good facilities. The employées are so nice especially Marius the driver and the servers from breakfast. The only negative point is that the rooms are not all renovated and the decoration is a little dated, also the bathroom was renovated but had a default.... the water was coming down... drowning the bathroom every shower

Room Tip: higher floor
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yanutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto_Aufdenblatten, Guest Relations Manager at Alpen Resort Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Yanutu
Thank you for your stay with us. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I’m happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us. I will gladly pass on your compliments to Marius and our breakfast crew. We check your bathroom to stop the water from leaking on the bathroom floor. Thank you for the information. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely
Reto Aufdenblatten, Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

I was more excited to stay in this hotel than moving around the town.An excellent stay for the family with good support staff and amazingly designed hotel rooms to give you a picture perfect view of the stunning landscape.Even after checking out of the hotel they allow you a baggage store room to keep your bags and enable you complete your trip prior leaving the town.A sumptuous breakfast and an amazingly located hotel in the heart of Zermatt. Brava !!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JAK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto_Aufdenblatten, Guest Relations Manager at Alpen Resort Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Jak
Thank you for staying with us in Zermatt. I’m happy to hear that you liked your stay. Of course you may leave your luggage with us before check in or after check out. All our amenities like the swimming pool can also be used during that time. Thank you so much for your great review, this helps us very much. We hope to welcome you soon again.
Best regards from Zermatt
Reto Aufdenblatten, Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Everything was great at this hotel:
- Friendly and helpful staff that are there to help you when you need something.
- The location is great. Only a few minutes walk from the train station and there is a shuttle service for people that may need help with the luggage.
- We had a very nice view of the Matterhorn from the balcony.
- A great European breakfast that had something for everyone to enjoy.
- The internet connection is good and the hotel would work well for someone who needs to do some work during the stay.

If we come to Zermatt again this hotel would be our first choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with view of the Matterhorn from the balcony
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto_Aufdenblatten, Guest Relations Manager at Alpen Resort Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Jonny H
Thank you for staying with us in Zermatt and taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m glad to hear that you liked your Stay with us. We offer indeed free pick up and drop off from the station every day until 9 pm. Please call us from the free lines at the station and we send a car. Thank you so much for your great review. We are looking forward to see you soon again with us in the middle of the Alps.
Best regards from Zermatt
Reto Aufdenblatten, Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in March/April. An amazing place. Clean, room with a perfect view and yummy breakfast. My husband and I were travelling with our 5 and 2 year old girls. The play area by the restaurant was perfect as the kids could play after their dinner while we finished ours. The swimming pool was so good after a day of skiing. But the main thing was the staff. They were the ones who made our holiday. Polite, knowledgable and patient with our kids. Special thanks to Barbara who was just lovely. I’m sorry for not remembering the lady in reception name but her knowledge of the area was great.
The one downside was the shortage of staff. Which meant the staff had to work extra hard. So a message to management thank you for our holiday smile a bit more and employ more staff please

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Olive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto_Aufdenblatten, Guest Relations Manager at Alpen Resort Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Olive D
Thank you for staying with us. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. The play area near the restaurant and the underground sport hall are indeed a great way to keep the kids busy while you enjoy your dinner. I will gladly pass your compliments to Barbara. Although we have some seasonal staff which only stays with us during the high season, we always make sure that there are sufficient co-workers present. However I will discuss your suggestion during our next meeting. We hope we can welcome you and your family again during your next trip to Zermatt. Best regards from Zermatt
Reto Aufdenblatten, Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The hotel has good location, it has the view of Matterhorn, but not the best view. The construction beside the hotel is not easy to handle. They work from 8AM to 5:30PM every day?! not very relaxing for vacation,. some of the staff at the breakfast are very rude. The price is better than some other hotels, but I would pay a little extra and stay in a better hotel - they are plenty available in Zermatt.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shohreh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reto_Aufdenblatten, Guest Relations Manager at Alpen Resort Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Shohreh
Thank you for your staying with us and for taking the time to write us a review. I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location near the train station. We will pick you up and drop you off for free at the train station. I’m However sorry if you were bothered by our neighbours construction works. We have installed drapes to hide the site and all our windows are soundproof. Furthermore should the use of heavy machinery be limited and they will stop during lunchtime. I’m sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Sincerely
Reto Aufdenblatten, Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews