We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ItsTheFlash

Great hotel for seeing Zermatt!

Review of Hotel Phoenix
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 June 2024
This hotel is a gem! Comfortable, 5 minutes walk from the train station with the best staff. They take time with each guest to tell of adventures to go on, recommend restaurants and provide a wonderful breakfast. Rooms are great. We loved everything about the Hotel Phoenix. We would highly recommend it!
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Its an easy walk (with some uphill) from the train station, but the hotel has a shuttle as well.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurence Zavagno, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review
Responded 13 June 2024
Dear Mario,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent experience here with us and for recommending our hotel.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet, and appreciated the convenient location of our establishment.

Moreover, we are happy that our staff made your stay at the hotel great and were the best during your trip.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.

With best regards from Zermatt
The hotel Phoenix team

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$892
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$893
  • Agoda.com
    AU$648
  • Hotels.com
    AU$893
0.7 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$624
  • Expedia.com
    AU$618
  • Agoda.com
    AU$572
  • Hotels.com
    AU$618
0.7 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$484
  • Expedia.com
    AU$485
  • Hotels.com
    AU$439
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Room service
AU$528
  • Expedia.com
    AU$528
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$504
  • Hotels.com
    AU$528
0.8 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$1,089
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,084
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,069
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$846
  • Expedia.com
    AU$846
  • Hotels.com
    AU$846
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$846
1.4 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$383
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$365
  • Agoda.com
    AU$340
  • StayForLong
0.9 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$556
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$557
  • Hotels.com
    AU$551
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$417
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$409
  • Agoda.com
    AU$322
  • Hotels.com
    AU$375
1.1 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Go to your Happy Price
  • travelup.com
    AU$397
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Hotel Phoenix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Zermatt
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
746
120
18
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
746
120
18
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay window train station matterhorn view corner room great view included breakfast coffee machine hotel is in a great location breakfast was amazing wonderful stay minute walk breakfast spread stayed longer i highly recommend this hotel three nights ski bus spacious room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2024

Lovely hotel in lovely Zermatt! Room was well appointed and welcoming. Bed was comfortable. Their breakfast buffet was delicious with a great variety of foods for different tastes. Staff was friendly and gave good hiking advice! Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gayleg533
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurence Zavagno, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2024

Dear Gayle G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent experience here with us, and for recommending our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you loved our comfortable beds.

Furthermore, we are pleased that our staff has been able to assist you with our hiking recommendations.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.

With best regards from Zermatt
The hotel Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2024 via mobile

I was overall happy with my stay at Hotel Phoenix! 💖 I can't recommend Yolanda's helpfulness enough. We had to arrive later than expected and she was very responsive in emails, making sure that we are able to check in properly at the hotel. I also want to commend Christina who was very helpful in explaining the city map to us. She was very easy to approach for questions and requests! 💖

If i were to comment on one thing, the rooms dont have a refrigerator and water bottles, coffee and tea are only complimentary on the day of arrival. You would need to pay for coffee on succeeding days. The shampoo/body gel bottles are also not eco-friendly since it's in tiny single use containers. It would be nice to have refillable containers instead so there wouldn't be a need to ask for new ones every day

The breakfast had a wide range of usual breakfast fare from sausages to breads, cheeses, yogurts and cereals.

The hotel is about 900m from the Zermatt station.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurence Zavagno, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2024

Dear Rian Gonzales,

We appreciate your taking the time to share your wonderful review and for choosing our hotel.

We are thrilled that you had a great stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast as well as the location.

Thank you for taking the time to mention Jolanda and Christina. They enjoyed reading your review and were very happy.

The single use shampoo/body gel can be recycled, but the plastic of the refillable containers goes in the rubbish bin because they can't yet be recycled in Zermatt. We are sorry that they were not replaced daily by our staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.

With best regards from Zermatt
The hotel Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2024

Reasonably priced, due to its location but easy 10min walking access to all local food and shops and Gornergratbahn. A taxi from Zermatt main station is CHF 21 in case you arrive after 6pm.
Clean aesthetics in rooms - all wood furniture locally sourced, nice sized balcony, daily room service, we’re able to adjust temperature as needed, small sized standing only shower (no tub) which is fine but if you have frame of an rugby player or an American footballer - it will be tight, really really nice breakfast, including the bright room where it’s served and selection of local cheeses , fruits, coffee/juices and muesli.
The view of Matterhorn was a bit of a stretch - book the rooms with bay windows if that’s a dealbreaker.
The payment is taken upfront at check in.
Will definitely recommend as an option away from main thoroughfare.

Room tip: Small sized shower in standard rooms, a bed and breakfast hotel so no service for lunch/dinner - but all options within a 10min walk.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyage60158671073
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurence Zavagno, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2024

Dear Voyage60158671073,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review and recommending our hotel.

We are thrilled that you had a great stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast.

We would be delighted to extend a warm welcome to you again at our hotel during your subsequent visit to Zermatt.

With best regards from Zermatt
The hotel Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2024

We’ve been travelling to many places around the world and I could say that Phoenix Hotel is one of the best we’ve stayed in! The most amazing breakfast, included in the price of the room, friendly, welcoming and helpful staff makes it even more special. I would like to give it 7 out of 5 stars if’s possible!!! ❤️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️❤️

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurence Zavagno, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2024

Dear Stefania C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review and that you would love to give us a 7-star rating 😊.

We are pleased that you had a great stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast as well as the location.

We would be delighted to extend a warm welcome to you again at our hotel during your subsequent visit to Zermatt.

With best regards from Zermatt
The hotel Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2024

After a short stroll from the station (and a very brief uphill climb) we arrived earlier than our check-in time but our impeccable room was ready, At first we were slightly disappointed with construction in front of our window, but trust me, pay a few more for the Matterhorn view room! We were able to view Matterhorn from morning to night from the comfort of our bed and sofa. Location is perfect for all your planned activities in the area. As everyone else pointed out, breakfast was amazing and all the staff are friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurence Zavagno, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2024

Dear Lillian F

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this excellent review and for choosing our hotel

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you appreciated our buffet breakfast, as well as the convenient location of our hotel.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.

With best regards from Zermatt
The hotel Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews