We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Omnia

The Omnia
Ranked #21 of 197 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 24 - USD 94
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a perfect dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had read several positive reviews about the Omnia restaurant, as well as received in person recommendations from friends and colleagues; suffice to say we went with very high expectations indeed...and these were all surpassed with gusto.

The ambience was relaxed, elegant and warm. The design and decor were modern and sleek, with a creative use of granite and wood throughout. The staff were attentive, helpful and provided great conversation at all the right moments. The food was inventive and a delight to eat (and just filling enough), a rarity among the gastronomically adventurous kitchens in my humble opinion. Towards the end of our meal the Chef came out to introduce himself and have a quick chat; always a much appreciated gesture.

Special praise goes to Martin, the manager, whose suggestion for wine was inspired to say the least. He was even kind enough to bring out a second bottle later on the evening for us to sample; and once again, he was spot-on in being able to interpret our preferences and suggest a unique bottle that we would have otherwise probably never tried.

We think that everyone should visit the Omnia restaurant at least once during each stay in Zermatt. We certainly will be doing so from now on.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, General Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for also reviewing The Omnia. I am very pleased that you have decided to follow the many reviews and that your expectations were surpassed.

We are very honored that so many guests enjoy the ambiance and the food but I think you hit the nail on the head when you are speaking about the warmth of our colleagues.

Our chef Mr Patrick Weber, often tries to get immediate feedback from our guests and Mr Martin Henning is always hunting for the right type of wine to match the dishes.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
ph.clarinval@the-omnia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    34
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
191 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“I expected great food and was not disappointed! A 4* dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Starting with an amuse bouche in front of the fireplace and ending with a package of chocolate to take home, last night's dinner was foodie heaven. Unlike other restaurants where the tasting menu must be chosen by all diners at the table, I was able to partake while my spouse dined a la carte. Each course was a taste sensation. The chef has a particular way with ice creams (wasabi and cucumber were only two of the flavors!)

The service isn't rushed ... Be prepared for an evening of dining. Tables are spaced far apart in a modern room with some wonderful touches ... The lamps at the ends of the tables are actually candles burning in hurricanes, putting a lovely glow on the artfully arranged food.

The only nit was that unlike some European restaurants, there were not too many staff in the dining room...sometimes having someone looking around to make sure wine and water glasses are filled would be nice Clearly the emphasis is on the food and we were delighted!

Next time we want to stay in the hotel!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JZ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, General Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you very much for your review.
I am so happy that you had an enjoyable experience here with us. "Foodies Heaven"... I will quote you.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you to the hotel during your next visit to Zermatt.
I have observed that many guest of the restaurant actually plan their next trip and decide to stay at The Omnia.

I am looking forward to that moment.
In the interim, stay well.

Best regards
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
Ph.clarinval@the-omnia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

As vegetarians we had a special meal prepared which was first class. Almost every detail was attended in a slick professional manner.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zlejins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, Geschäftsführer at The Omnia, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member

Thank you for your short and sweet review and the compliments therein. If there is a word that catches the attention, it's the word "close".
4 out of 5 is not our target but I am grateful as this pushes us to enhance our guest experience even further. As a "part time" vegetarian, I consider it important to have a great vegetarian menu. With our chef and restaurant manager, we will kick it up a notch so that it matches the rest of the atmosphere and special feel of the Omnia.

Thanks again and I would be very happy to welcome you again soon.
yours sincerely,
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
ph.clarinval@the-omnia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
426 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“It's THE place - wouw, wouw, wouw”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Omnia restaurant is a must when in Zermatt. We always say we go only once but every time we go back there a second time in the same week. The food, the service, the atmosphere and the that there is a lot privacy makes this place truly unique.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, General Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your kind review and the compliments. I agree with you that our wine list is very carefully selected and sometimes it is just easier to trust the sommelier with the choice. He always finds a bottle that will suit you and perfectly match the dishes.

I would thoroughly enjoy welcoming you back again soon
Best regards
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
Ph.clarinval@the-omnia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must for foodies and trust the wine recommendations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel and out of convenience booked a table at the restaurant for the first night. It was fabulous and creative food - the wine list is so extensive therefore we asked the sommelier for recommendations - and wow we were not disappointed with a bold but fantastic german Pinot Noir for our main. In general service is very personal and you feel that every staff member you meet is interested in your well being.

For all those reasons we booked the restaurant for every night of our stay.

By the way, don't miss an Apero and or Disgestif in front of the fire place ..

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Omnia also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to The Omnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing