We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
97
147
63
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
147
63
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view breakfast room shopping area one night train station booked directly first floor busy road nice size short walk breakfast was included small balcony single room junior suite hotel is situated top floor convenient location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

We spent a fabulous weekend at this hotel. It is located right by the lake and right in the middle of town. Great place to walk around the lake to Grandia in one direction an towards San Salvatore in the other.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and seem to speak many languages ( thank you). A sumptuous continental breakfast (yum, yum) was provided in the room rate although a hot breakfast could be provided at extra cost. Great coffee!!

The rooms are comfortable and we had a great view over the lake. I suppose the hotel is a little dated and maybe not all mod cons are provided but to me that was part of the charm of the place. We absolutely loved the hotel and will go back if in Lugano again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 64rabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, it has a great view of the lake. Rooms are clean and service amazing. The location is really the best. Very near to the museum and shopping area. Breakfast is good. I recommend this hotel

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Nine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Was reasonably quiet time of the year so we were given a room on the top floor with amazing views over the lake. Front staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great quality and once again the staff were very welcoming. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the main tourist attractions and the ferries just out the front.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GrahamAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Very close to the lake, is this old hotel.
Always a manned reception, with helpful staff.
Clean and at night a bit noisy traffic from the lakeshore street.
Breakfast buffe was ok.
The view over the lake was magnificent.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baapuettan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Anyone staying at the Hotel Walter could not fail to be impressed by it's location which is what drew us to it. Having visited Lugano many times in the past thirty years we've always wondered what lay behind the Walter's doors. What we found did not disappoint us.
Our room, although it didn't have a balcony still give us a panoramic view of the lake. It was large, clean and well appointed. Clean linen was provided every day and the room was always spotless when we returned at night. The continental buffet breakfast was more than sufficient and front of house staff friendly and helpful at all times. Attached to the 'Walter' is the 'Spaghetti Store'. It may not be the cheapest of places to eat in Lugano but given its location and the quality of the food, it's well worth at least one visit and paying a little extra. (If you like pizzas and have a large appetite then try one of their humungous creations......choose your own toppings and feed a family of 4 adults easily!)
We have two minor gripes which, had we been staying longer, would have been raised with management. For the time of year, the heating in our room seemed a little inadequate and, if you're a little infirm on your legs, then the bath in Room 59 can be a bit of a challenge. It is extremely narrow and does not provide room to manoeuvre when taking a shower. Had these issues not been a problem then our rating would have been '5' and not '4'. Having said all that we wouldn't hesitate to use 'Hotel Walter' as a base during future stays.

Room tip: Check out that bath and shower in Room 59 before unpacking.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews