We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
13
40
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
40
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake facing room beautiful lake view great location hotel is located car parking lake lugano fridge elevator wifi
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I have stayed at Nassa Garni before but it was a long time ago. The location is terrific especially if you have a room facing the Lake and Monte Bree, On a sunny day it absolutely stunning. As I had a single room the room was adequate and even had a fridge and AC which was a help as it was very hot in Lugano at the time. A absolute plus is the possibility to park your car in a garage underneath the hotel as parking space in Lugano is at a premium. All in all the hotel is a bit old and the breakfast could be slightly better. However, you do not need more than a continental breakfast.
The stay was pleasant and the staff very nice and kind.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located in a nice area facing Lugano lake. But the hotel is old and over priced. Services are poor and the internet does not work properly inside the room.
Staff are friendly and caring.

If thete were other affordable hotels, I won't book this one.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Resort676671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

But for anyone with a good sense of humor and a taste for character and charm, this hotel is wonderful. If you're looking to be petted and pampered go somewhere else. There's no spa. No amenities worth writing home about. But you cannot beat the view overlooking Lake Lugano and the Alps and you will not find friendlier hosts than the people who work here. Varushka is an absolute doll and will make you feel welcome the minute you walk in. (She also thinks the elevator is the tiniest in existence.) In addition to the view and the people, just walking down the hallways is an adventure. The furniture is ancient and fascinating and the many drawings and paintings on the walls are beautiful. As for the town surrounding this property, you have to experience it yourself. Clean does not even begin to describe even the most out of the way alley and hidden corner. There is no trash ANYWHERE. None in the streets, none in the parks. No candy wrappers or cigarette butts. No gum stuck to anything. This town is immaculate. The streets themselves look like your living room floor. It was like nothing I have ever seen before.

Room tip: Get a balcony room. And sleep with the balcony doors open.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italygirl2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Spent 4 weeks at this hotel and was content. Paid 25CHF/night for parking. The breakfast was great when the staff (I forget her name, but it was Russian and started with a Z. - She was amazing and very helpful) made the Muesli the night before and allowed it to soak in milk - very delicious. Unfortunately, this was not available every day and those days the breakfast was inadequate and I went back to my room to eat cereal I had bought at the local Coop grocery store. I started with a room with two twin beds that faced a courtyard. It was great for sleeping as there was a retractable metal rolldown guard that darkened the room and dampened the external noise. After a week I switched to a lake facing room and was disappointed that in spite of the same measures I was unable to dampen the noise so I switched back the same night. Parking was decent once I received the garage door opener and the pass that automatically lowers the driveway barriers.

Unfortunately, the WiFi Internet service was terrible. It wasn't reliable enough for a VOIP or Skype call. I did a WiFi analysis and found that there were too many access points using the same WiFi channels. Unless this is improved I'll be looking for another hotel in spite of the other perks.

Room tip: For peace and quiet I'd got with a room that faces the courtyard.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamS202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This was a great little hotel for our one night stay in Lugano. While the building is a little old the rooms a nice, clean and have a comfortable bed!
The location is great with views straight over the lake! Breakfast was nice, but nothing special..Staff were also very helpful.
I would stay here again :)

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leahkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews