We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Decent hotel, location easy to walk down the hill to lakefront and stroll into downtown piazzas. Hotel a little dated. Air conditioning did not work in September, and our room was on busy street, so fair amount of street noise. Free breakfast OK - no hot food, but good coffee machines!

Room Tip: Ask for rear - off street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Ted,
we are glad you overall appreciated your stay at Hotel Colorado and particularly the convenient location near the lakeshore and the city center.
We are sorry for the inconvenient with the air conditioning. Unfortunately the climate can vary a lot in this period and after some cold weeks we have now again pretty warm weather, bur in the night is cold and it is not possible to switch the air conditioning from cold to hot every day. For a more quiet room we suggest next time to book a Comfort room facing south on the Convent of Loreto. As a 3 Star Hotel we offer a tipically swiss cold breakfast buffet with lot of choice to cater every taste, sweet and salty. We are but glad you enjoyed our new self service coffee machine.
We hope we can welcome you again at Colorado for your next stay in Lugano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Good choice for moderate hotel. Clean, modern hotel, apparently remodeled older building. Comfortable beds. TV, hair dryer but few other amenities. View. Hotel located on hillside, 20 minute walk up/down from railroad station and old town and lakefront below. Helpful friendly staff. Good breakfast, amazing coffee machine makes your cup to order! Restaurant moderate priced, excellent Italian food and moderate wine list.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melinda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Melinda,
we are glad you appreciated your stay at hotel Colorado! As you write, we are at the service of our guests since 1951 but of course we keep up to date and plan renovation when needed. Lastly all the rooms have been renovated and have now a modern, fresh and welcoming atmosphere. We are glad you have appreciated also our breakfast with our new self service coffee machine, as well as our restaurant Tavernetta which offers fresh, local products and mediterranean kitchen.
We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel was booked directly by my company, was on a business trip visit.
My allocated room was very small. I understand that you pay for what you get, however, not expecting such a small room. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. I was disappointed, that on the day that I had worked for eleven hours, was planning to return to hotel for a comfortable dinner, then early bed, as I hand another long day following day, wanting to experiment their famous pizzas, low and behold, without any warning to guests, restaurant was closed on a Friday. I was extremely disappointed. As now I had to go out to find a place for dinner.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Guest,
we thank you for your words and are happy, you appreciated the friendlyness of our team. Hotel Colorado is a family run 3 Star Hotel and we work hard every day for our guests to feel like at home.
We are sorry you were disappointed with the Small Economy Single Room your company booked for you. As the name shows, this rooms offer affordable rate and everything you may need during your stay in 12 square meters.
It is of course possible to book a double room for single use or ask also at the reception for it with a small supplement. Have you asked at the reception? We are always here to help in any matter. Unfortunately if you were visiting during the International congress no upgrade was possible, as the hotel (and the whole city) was fully booked.
We apologize for the inconvenient with our Restaurant-Pizzeria Tavernetta and are sorry you were not informed about. Did our team not suggest the pizzeria just a 800m away from us near the station, just 1 stop with the bus (Free ride with Ticino Ticket included in every booking) ? If not, we are really sorry. Please do keep in mind we do speak 4 languages at the hotel but misunderstanding can always happen.
We hope, that besides this small mis-happening you could work at your best and send you warm greetings from Ticino.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights with my children (14 and 16 years old) while visting my other daughter in Lugano. We had a very good time at Hotel Colorado. Friendly staff and very clean rooms. The price is very good there as well. I would definitely recommend this place! I'll come back for sure! Thank you again

Room Tip: We had balcony and lake view, just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPHolmgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear JPHolmgren,

we are glad you appreciated your stay and we could be "your home away from home" while visiting your daughter here in Lugano.
We are happy when our daily efforts are recognised.
We are open year round and await you happily for your next stay in Lugano!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Really great welcome at this roadside hotel close to the station. Parking available next to entrance. Decent enough room with balcony although basic bathroom. Not sure how light worked in bathroom as it had mind of its own. Shaved in light shone in from bedside spots. Breakfast room a tad basic but food good and nice coffee (unusual for some hotels). Quick and efficient checkout. Thanks it was a blast.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank chappo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Guest,
we are glad you overall appreciated your stay at Hotel Colorado and the convenient location near the train station but close to the city center and the lake shore.
All our rooms have been recently renovated and need every comfort of a 3 Stars Hotel, like air conditioning, minibar, safe, kettle with complimentary coffee and tea.
We are sorry you had problem with the bathroom illumination: please always address to the reception for any matter, we are here to help.
Our breakfast is a typically swiss buffet and offer fresh local products to cater for every taste, sweet and salty. We do not offer a warm choice, as it is not usual for a 3 star hotel, but we are open to any suggestion how we can improve our breakfast.
Hoping to host you again should you visit Lugano in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#15 of 45 in Lugano
493 reviews
0.8 km away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#33 of 45 in Lugano
298 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#11 of 45 in Lugano
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
251 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Hotel Lido Seegarten
#31 of 45 in Lugano
202 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado Lugano

Address: via Clemente Maraini 19 | Via Adamini 20, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $154 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colorado Lugano 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in April 2013, Colorado Hotel offers a central, yet quiet location in the centre of Lugano, a 5-minute walk away from the promenade on Lake Lugano and around the corner from the LAC Cultural Centre. Free WiFi is available. The air-conditioned rooms are equipped with cable TV. Toiletries and a hairdryer are provided in the private bathroom. The Colorado's restaurant Tavernetta offers a range of creative dishes. Meals are also served on the terrace. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Museum of Modern Art in the Villa Malpensata, and a 10-minute walk from the train station. The city bus leaving in front of the hotel takes you to the congress centre in 10 minutes. Hotel Colorado is also Business Center. Conference rooms can be configured for 2 to 80 participants and can be configured for your individual needs. Seminar materials: Flip charts, PC and slide projectors, WiFi Internet access. We are passionate about bikes! Hotel Colorado is the perfect stop for your you and your bikes. Maintenance, laundry and parking for your bike available on request. We love love to take care of nice people and we make this our profession. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colorado Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing