We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
46
61
43
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
61
43
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel great location minute walk one night tv switzerland hairdryer lakefront hill
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Good choice for moderate hotel. Clean, modern hotel, apparently remodeled older building. Comfortable beds. TV, hair dryer but few other amenities. View. Hotel located on hillside, 20 minute walk up/down from railroad station and old town and lakefront below. Helpful friendly staff. Good breakfast, amazing coffee machine makes your cup to order! Restaurant moderate priced, excellent Italian food and moderate wine list.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melinda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Melinda,
we are glad you appreciated your stay at hotel Colorado! As you write, we are at the service of our guests since 1951 but of course we keep up to date and plan renovation when needed. Lastly all the rooms have been renovated and have now a modern, fresh and welcoming atmosphere. We are glad you have appreciated also our breakfast with our new self service coffee machine, as well as our restaurant Tavernetta which offers fresh, local products and mediterranean kitchen.
We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel was booked directly by my company, was on a business trip visit.
My allocated room was very small. I understand that you pay for what you get, however, not expecting such a small room. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. I was disappointed, that on the day that I had worked for eleven hours, was planning to return to hotel for a comfortable dinner, then early bed, as I hand another long day following day, wanting to experiment their famous pizzas, low and behold, without any warning to guests, restaurant was closed on a Friday. I was extremely disappointed. As now I had to go out to find a place for dinner.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Nomad51129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Guest,
we thank you for your words and are happy, you appreciated the friendlyness of our team. Hotel Colorado is a family run 3 Star Hotel and we work hard every day for our guests to feel like at home.
We are sorry you were disappointed with the Small Economy Single Room your company booked for you. As the name shows, this rooms offer affordable rate and everything you may need during your stay in 12 square meters.
It is of course possible to book a double room for single use or ask also at the reception for it with a small supplement. Have you asked at the reception? We are always here to help in any matter. Unfortunately if you were visiting during the International congress no upgrade was possible, as the hotel (and the whole city) was fully booked.
We apologize for the inconvenient with our Restaurant-Pizzeria Tavernetta and are sorry you were not informed about. Did our team not suggest the pizzeria just a 800m away from us near the station, just 1 stop with the bus (Free ride with Ticino Ticket included in every booking) ? If not, we are really sorry. Please do keep in mind we do speak 4 languages at the hotel but misunderstanding can always happen.
We hope, that besides this small mis-happening you could work at your best and send you warm greetings from Ticino.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights with my children (14 and 16 years old) while visting my other daughter in Lugano. We had a very good time at Hotel Colorado. Friendly staff and very clean rooms. The price is very good there as well. I would definitely recommend this place! I'll come back for sure! Thank you again

Room Tip: We had balcony and lake view, just perfect
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPHolmgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear JPHolmgren,

we are glad you appreciated your stay and we could be "your home away from home" while visiting your daughter here in Lugano.
We are happy when our daily efforts are recognised.
We are open year round and await you happily for your next stay in Lugano!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Really great welcome at this roadside hotel close to the station. Parking available next to entrance. Decent enough room with balcony although basic bathroom. Not sure how light worked in bathroom as it had mind of its own. Shaved in light shone in from bedside spots. Breakfast room a tad basic but food good and nice coffee (unusual for some hotels). Quick and efficient checkout. Thanks it was a blast.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank chappo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Guest,
we are glad you overall appreciated your stay at Hotel Colorado and the convenient location near the train station but close to the city center and the lake shore.
All our rooms have been recently renovated and need every comfort of a 3 Stars Hotel, like air conditioning, minibar, safe, kettle with complimentary coffee and tea.
We are sorry you had problem with the bathroom illumination: please always address to the reception for any matter, we are here to help.
Our breakfast is a typically swiss buffet and offer fresh local products to cater for every taste, sweet and salty. We do not offer a warm choice, as it is not usual for a 3 star hotel, but we are open to any suggestion how we can improve our breakfast.
Hoping to host you again should you visit Lugano in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Really clean rooms and quite pleasant views of the lake from the back balconies... Breakfast was quite appeasing and we really enjoyed staying here because the room are clean and quiet, I highly recommend this hotel...the staff are serious but take good care of their customers .. Nothing fancy about this hotel but one can enjoy a restful night

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank KarenMOglesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Dear Karen,
we are really glad you appreciated your stay at hotel Colorado, the nice view from our Comfort rooms' balcony and our rich breakfast buffet with fresh local products, always included in rates.
It is really important for us that hotel and rooms are clean, as our guests have to feel welcomed and safe like they were at home. Hotel Colorado is a family run hotel since 1951, all rooms have been recently renovated and, even if we are no boutique hotel, we put our daily efforts for the guests to feel at ease.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Colorado should you visit Lugano in the future!
Greetings from Ticino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews