We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
46
61
43
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
61
43
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel great location minute walk one night tv switzerland hairdryer lakefront hill
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Really great welcome at this roadside hotel close to the station. Parking available next to entrance. Decent enough room with balcony although basic bathroom. Not sure how light worked in bathroom as it had mind of its own. Shaved in light shone in from bedside spots. Breakfast room a tad basic but food good and nice coffee (unusual for some hotels). Quick and efficient checkout. Thanks it was a blast.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank chappo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Guest,
we are glad you overall appreciated your stay at Hotel Colorado and the convenient location near the train station but close to the city center and the lake shore.
All our rooms have been recently renovated and need every comfort of a 3 Stars Hotel, like air conditioning, minibar, safe, kettle with complimentary coffee and tea.
We are sorry you had problem with the bathroom illumination: please always address to the reception for any matter, we are here to help.
Our breakfast is a typically swiss buffet and offer fresh local products to cater for every taste, sweet and salty. We do not offer a warm choice, as it is not usual for a 3 star hotel, but we are open to any suggestion how we can improve our breakfast.
Hoping to host you again should you visit Lugano in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Really clean rooms and quite pleasant views of the lake from the back balconies... Breakfast was quite appeasing and we really enjoyed staying here because the room are clean and quiet, I highly recommend this hotel...the staff are serious but take good care of their customers .. Nothing fancy about this hotel but one can enjoy a restful night

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank KarenMOglesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Dear Karen,
we are really glad you appreciated your stay at hotel Colorado, the nice view from our Comfort rooms' balcony and our rich breakfast buffet with fresh local products, always included in rates.
It is really important for us that hotel and rooms are clean, as our guests have to feel welcomed and safe like they were at home. Hotel Colorado is a family run hotel since 1951, all rooms have been recently renovated and, even if we are no boutique hotel, we put our daily efforts for the guests to feel at ease.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Colorado should you visit Lugano in the future!
Greetings from Ticino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Colorado hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. Room was clean adequate with coffee making facility. Unusual bathroom at entry door. Nice outdoor patio with cloths airer. Breakfast was continental only offering a reasonable choice. Pizza restaurant although good food it was quite expensive.
Car parking was good although we were not advised that we had to pay f10 per night until it appeared on the account.
All in all in Oz terms "we felt a bit ripped off."

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Dear Rex,
we are glad you overall enjoyed your stay at Hotel Colorado in Lugano and that you appreciated your room with balcony and the coffee making facilities in room.
Our Breakfast buffet is always included in our rates and offer a large variety of salty and sweet choices, with a focus on fresh local products. Of course we are a 3 stars hotel, so we do offer cold breakfast buffet, so maybe this is why you call it continental?
We are glad you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant Tavernetta: please keep in mind Lugano and Switzerland generally is quite expensive living, but we at Hotel Colorado offer good quality at advantageous prices comparing to other facilities. We are sorry there was a misunderstanding about parking: it is always stated in our booking facilities that parking is for payment and unfortunately in Lugano there are no free parking facilities. Of Course we should have reminded about the parking fee at check in and we apologize for not doing this. It is of course not our goal to "rip off" guests!
We hope, you will choose our Hotel agin for your next visit to Lugano
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

The staff made the experience at this hotel a very pleasing experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The balcony in our room was a delightful plus with a view of a park and mountains. The shower was great with great pressure, the breakfast offering more than adequate. You have the hill to walk up or a bus can take you there. My fitness improved. I decided to walk everywhere in Lugano including going back to the hotel. Loved it all!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear Paul,
thank you for your nice review!
We are happy you appreciated our hotel and enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Colorado Lugano!
You know, we have a green soul, also we have solar panels, so if we could help you go a little green by walking down to the center and back we are happy!
Next time you could also take advantage of our bikes, free of charge to use for our guests and venture a little bit further in the region!
Hoping to host you soon again here in Hotel Colorado.
Greetings form Lugano!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Booked a single economy room and thought it was a pretty good deal. Upon arrival at the railway station, you can take either bus nbr 2 or 4 to get to the hotel. You can also choose to walk but I find the cobbled walkway quite difficult to lug my luggage around. I got a room on the 4th floor facing the road. Not much of a view but I hardly spend time in the room anyway. Breakfast is simple and basic but good enough. The ladies at the reception are very helpful with directions and information about Lugano. Hotel is in a good location, walkable to practically everywhere. Wifi comes at a cost in the rooms or you can choose to access it free in the lobby area.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coloradolugano, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Colorado Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Dear Marilyn,
we are glad you had a nice stay at Hotel Colorado and that you appreciated our advantageous rates, paired to the good location near train station, city center, lake shore (350m) and the new cultural center of Lugano LAC with its exhibitions and concert rooms.
Our staff is always glad to help you in any matter and is happy to give guests suggestion how to best discover our beautiful city and region.
For a room with view we may suggest booking a "Comfort" room for single use next time, a little bit pricier than "Economy" room but with more space and a nice balcony facing south.
Only there as been somehow a big misunderstanding: WIFI IS FREE IN THE WHOLE STRUCTURE! Nowadays is WIFI a standard in most hotels and we also of course offer free WIFI in the whole structure, in lobby and restaurant as well in all rooms! We do not know how it came to this misunderstanding but next time feel free to address the reception for any problem, we are here to help!
Hoping to host you again for your next visit to Lugano!
Greetings from Ticino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews