We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
148
136
34
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
136
34
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station steep hill great base for exploring bircher muesli triple room this family run hotel solid choice nice hotel hotel wifi fifth floor free public transport balcony overlooking nice bathroom the hotel staff stayed one night big balcony few minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Steep walk form the station for elderly woman with cane. Old-style hotel with majestic lobby.
We stayed in a small room which was way too hot for a bedroom. Opening the window made the heating burn harder :-(
NASA foam mattrasses, you like it or not (i did not - I know others do).
Bathroom with sliding door and nice large sink, OK shower - a bit cramped. Nice view on park, but no balcony.
Other guests on the same trip had a much larger room with bath and balcony for the same price - check what you get before you settle!
(we did get a small bottle of vinegar and cookies as make-up when we complained next morning)
DInner is pricy, we did not join in. Breakfast is good, tasty, plenty of choice and good quality.

Room tip: Close to the railway station but pricy
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartenMarknesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear MaartenMarknesse
Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel Federale in Lugano. From the description of the weather I cannot really understand the problem with the heat, because there is air-conditioning which you could have set to your likening, or come down to reception and ask for help in setting it. Mattrasses are a very personal choice indeed. Regarding price of a group, it is not always so that in one group everyone pays the same price; there can be differences if some guests ask different rooms, so you are right about checking what you get for your money, but you can also call up your booking agent or the hotel and ask before arriving for more details.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfast, and we hope we can welcome you again, if your trip brings you to the region of Lake Lugano again in the future.
Thank you again for your valuable inputs and we remain,
With kindest regards
Roland Galliker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

The hotel is just across the train station, very conveniently accessible. We stayed at the hotel for three nights and our stay was memorable. We were upgraded by the hotel staff on arrival and just loved our suite. The view from the balcony of the lake and the town was beautiful. The city center is walking distance from the hotel. The staff was very helpful and informative. If I ever visit again, I will definitely stay at the same place.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ritz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Ritz2015
Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel Federale in Lugano and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time in Lugano.
I you ever visit again Lugano, we would be very happy to welcoming you back.
Wishing you all the best, we remain,
With kindest regards
Roland Galliker and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very ordinary. The bed is really bad and feels very old and unclean. Even bathrooms feel old. There is too much noise in the night which does not give you a good night sleep.
The only reason I gave it more than 1 star is on the day of check out I had to leave at 5 am and they arranged breakfast for me by that time which shows the awesome service.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ash031284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Ash031284
Thank you for having stayed at our hotel on your trip to Lugano.
We are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations regarding the building.
Happy to read that service was appreciated.
With kindest regards
Roland Galliker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the apartments for a week and found it ideal. The location is great, close to central Lugano and the railway station and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As a bonus we had the use of free laundry machines for our washing. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear gardena2015
Thank you very much for having stayed in one of our Studios of Hotel Federale and we are happy that you enjoyed the place and the services.
The location is convenient indeed, be it for holidays and for business, because almost the whole town can be reached on foot with the studios as departing point.
We hope we can welcome you again if you visit the region of Lake Lugano in the future, and remain,
with kindest regards
Roland Galliker and staff members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Federale for two nights and our stay was lovely. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was delicious me the location of the hotel is ideal as it is close to the train station and the centre of town! We highly recommend staying at Hotel Federale!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sari_b89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear sari_b89
Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel Federale in Lugano and we are happy to read that you enjoyed a few days in Lugano and that we could meet you expecatations.
We would be pleased if we could welcome you again on your next trip to the region, and we remain,
with kindest regards
Roland Galliker and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews