We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
256
259
89
27
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
259
89
27
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel globus tour four star hotel short walk to the lake free wifi soft drinks free mini bar very pleasant stay older hotel old style stayed for nights monte san salvatore main part special thanks comfortable bed big room view of the lake
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Greatly positioned hotel to the Paradiso and San Salvatore. Traditional breakfast included. Hotel clean and small outdoor pool. Staff were friendly and welcoming and even allowed late check out at no extra cost.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DocReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank so much for your wonderful comment and for giving us 5 -stars on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time and enjoyed many aspects of your visit.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!
With best wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This is not a four star
The hotel is located close to the lake and a 20 minute walk from the city center, 5 minutes by bus from the train station, a few steps from the landing stage.
Unfortunately, the hotel has an 80s appearance with worn out general furniture and fashion past. Even though the rooms have recently been remodeled, I recognized the bathroom of my childhood! The linens are cut. The bed is very hard, the room faced the main road and so impossible to sleep the window open. The pool is small although the garden is nice, shame about the noise from the road. The breakfast is definitely basic and there is little choice. At reception, smiles are rare, the service is slow and inefficient. It is not a four star Swiss ... but a three star!

Room Tip: swimmingpool side
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sacaza2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for choosing to stay at Hotel De La Paix and for taking the time to share this review. We are really sorry to read that you didn't appreciated our structure and for the inconvenience that you had and we would have pleased to solve all your discomforts directly at the hotel.
The building was built in 1905 and since then we have always tried to maintain a very specific and historical character although the continuing renovations and in all rooms are equipped with soundproofed windows.
Our breakfast Buffet is rich in dishes of various kinds: yogurt, muesli, cereals, fresh fruits, jams, hazelnut cream, honey, cheeses, homemade chocolate cake, cake with pastry cream, bacon, salami, ham, sausage, different types of eggs, muffin, boiled rice and steamed green beans, croissant etc.. so we really would like to know why we did not meet your expectations.
Although we can understand your disappointment, we strongly believe that Hotel de la Paix and its staff does not deserve such a negative review, as we treasure our guests and try our utmost in all services we provide, in order to offer only memorable stays.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again on a future stay and give you real proof of that.
Best wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Very nice hote with great services, the location is near to the lake, and around 25 minutes walking to the center. The room was fantastic, the reception and the staff were helpful. Thanks for all of you.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank meshal417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your charming words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad all of us remained in good memories.
We hope that we will see each other soon again here in Lugano.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Just a weekend, two nights, but enough to understand that in today's hospitality market there're still chic and elegant hotels for a very acceptable price.
Nice people, charmant atmosphere, piano bar on the swimming pool area, comfortable rooms and a good position to visit the center and enjoy a martini close to the lake.
Forget technologic showers, modern rooms and design...this is not the latest fashion victims exclusive hotel...
This is only for gentlemen!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Mr.Luca C,
Thank you very much for your brilliant words! Is gives us a great pleasure to read that you had a pleasant experience in all respects. We are also delighted to see how you enjoyed our atmosphere and style of the hotel and this it makes us happy!
We hope that we have the possibility to welcome you soon back at the Hotel De La Paix near future.
With best wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Staying at this hotel was amazing. Friendly staff, big rooms, big comfortable bed, nice view from the balcony, excellent breakfast. It was a stormy night, lighthing and thunderstorms was wery powerfull but when you close the balcony sound isolated room reduce all noise and we sleep like a baby. :) Ewerything was simply brilliant. A+++

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elvis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Elvis S,
Thank you for having stayed with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and despite the bad weather you slept like a baby! A good night's sleep is the core of our offering and I am glad that we succeded.
We wish you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you on another occasion.
Best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews