We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a four stars !”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This is not a four star
The hotel is located close to the lake and a 20 minute walk from the city center, 5 minutes by bus from the train station, a few steps from the landing stage.
Unfortunately, the hotel has an 80s appearance with worn out general furniture and fashion past. Even though the rooms have recently been remodeled, I recognized the bathroom of my childhood! The linens are cut. The bed is very hard, the room faced the main road and so impossible to sleep the window open. The pool is small although the garden is nice, shame about the noise from the road. The breakfast is definitely basic and there is little choice. At reception, smiles are rare, the service is slow and inefficient. It is not a four star Swiss ... but a three star!

Room Tip: swimmingpool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sacaza2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for choosing to stay at Hotel De La Paix and for taking the time to share this review. We are really sorry to read that you didn't appreciated our structure and for the inconvenience that you had and we would have pleased to solve all your discomforts directly at the hotel.
The building was built in 1905 and since then we have always tried to maintain a very specific and historical character although the continuing renovations and in all rooms are equipped with soundproofed windows.
Our breakfast Buffet is rich in dishes of various kinds: yogurt, muesli, cereals, fresh fruits, jams, hazelnut cream, honey, cheeses, homemade chocolate cake, cake with pastry cream, bacon, salami, ham, sausage, different types of eggs, muffin, boiled rice and steamed green beans, croissant etc.. so we really would like to know why we did not meet your expectations.
Although we can understand your disappointment, we strongly believe that Hotel de la Paix and its staff does not deserve such a negative review, as we treasure our guests and try our utmost in all services we provide, in order to offer only memorable stays.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again on a future stay and give you real proof of that.
Best wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Very nice hote with great services, the location is near to the lake, and around 25 minutes walking to the center. The room was fantastic, the reception and the staff were helpful. Thanks for all of you.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank meshal417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your charming words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad all of us remained in good memories.
We hope that we will see each other soon again here in Lugano.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Just a weekend, two nights, but enough to understand that in today's hospitality market there're still chic and elegant hotels for a very acceptable price.
Nice people, charmant atmosphere, piano bar on the swimming pool area, comfortable rooms and a good position to visit the center and enjoy a martini close to the lake.
Forget technologic showers, modern rooms and design...this is not the latest fashion victims exclusive hotel...
This is only for gentlemen!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Mr.Luca C,
Thank you very much for your brilliant words! Is gives us a great pleasure to read that you had a pleasant experience in all respects. We are also delighted to see how you enjoyed our atmosphere and style of the hotel and this it makes us happy!
We hope that we have the possibility to welcome you soon back at the Hotel De La Paix near future.
With best wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Staying at this hotel was amazing. Friendly staff, big rooms, big comfortable bed, nice view from the balcony, excellent breakfast. It was a stormy night, lighthing and thunderstorms was wery powerfull but when you close the balcony sound isolated room reduce all noise and we sleep like a baby. :) Ewerything was simply brilliant. A+++

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elvis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Elvis S,
Thank you for having stayed with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and despite the bad weather you slept like a baby! A good night's sleep is the core of our offering and I am glad that we succeded.
We wish you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you on another occasion.
Best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We were there for two nights. A nice view from our room to Lugano lake, free minibar includes just soft drinks and water but no coffee maker. The hotel is clean and well decorated, a small balcony where you can smoke and enjoy the view. Staff were kind and nice whom you can ask for any help. It is close to "monte san salvatore " funicular station which is about 5 minutes walk. But disappointingly the choices for breakfast was very limited and tasteless. It is not in the center of town 15 minutes walking to be around. Apart from the breakfast, it's a good hotel to stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Masoume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Masoume R,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you have spent a pleasant stay at our Hotel De La Paix, located in a strategic position, just 2 minutes from the lake, 1 minute from the bus stops, a short walk from the center of Lugano. And we are delighted that you liked free mini bar , cleanliness, a nice view from your room and we would like thank you for your warm words towards our staff. It is commonly known, that our staff is genuinely friendly, warm hearted and attentive.
As for breakfast, we are saddened that you did not it would be very helpful for us to know what you’re your point of view was missing, because we offer different choice of top quality products like: yogurt, fresh seasonal fruits and vegetables, different cheeses, breads and cured meats,
croissants, pies, cereals etc.. We hope to welcome you again in the near future and will try our best to satisfy your needs to the fullest.
Best wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 km away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
2.3 km away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.5 km away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
251 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#16 of 45 in Lugano
492 reviews
0.2 km away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: viale Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: $239 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Paix is located close to Lake Lugano and at a walking distance from the city center, 5 km from the Lugano-Agno airport, 1 km from the train station and offers exclusively to its guests a large private parking. Its multilingual staff will be delighted to welcome you with warmth and cordiality. Each of our 131 rooms and suites is furnished in an elegant style and equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, Minibar and Wireless Internet connection in order to meet the highest expectations both of our holiday and business guests. The garden-terrace with its heated swimming pool in the summer time and the portico are ideal places to spend relaxing moments and admire the magnificent amphitheatre formed by the surrounding mountains. There are two restaurants offering Italian and international cuisine. The NEPTUNE opens into the garden terrace and offers a refined and relaxing atmosphere. At the popular AL BARILOTTO, designed in the rustic and casual local style, you will enjoy our grill specialties and our pizzas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing