We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
303
37
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
303
37
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station the main street selection of breads wonderful hotel european vacation turn down service new management wonderful stay favorite hotel mountain view jungfrau region dining room cable car every evening hiking switzerland dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2020

I previously wrote a very positive review about the Schoenegg, as over the past 15 years, it has been one of our favourite places in Wengen . However, on 2 recent visits we were bitterly disappointed to find a new menu in the main restaurant and worse still a new front of house maître d'hôtel who was simply terrible. We have been going to the Schoenegg for nearly 2 decades and always been personally welcomed and made to feel special as regular returning guests. On both accaisons we were totally ignored. I would have thought that a new maître d'hôtel would at least ask his guests whether they were first time or previous visitors and make them feel welcome. Customer service is often the difference between 2 venus and unfortunately we will not be going back. Finally, the menu in the main restaurant has been simplified from the previous fine dining which is a shame as it is now the same as many of the other restaurants in Wengen (and every course we chose was extremely salty!). They have lost their USP over the others. A great shame.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank globaltraveller747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector51513612898, Manager at Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Dear globaltraveller747

Thank you for your feedback and for your visit at our restaurant.

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed about our restaurant. We always welcome our guests warmly and our goal is to offer our guests an unforgettable stay. We apologize that we could not do this for you.
We are a little surprised to hear that you find our menu too simple, as most of our guests are very satisfied with the menu and so far, nobody has complained that the food was too salty. But everyone has a different taste… For our menu and as well for our service we have received many compliments.

We would be pleased if we could welcome you once again in our restaurant and make it your favorite place in Wengen again.

Kurt Ropers
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020

we 've been at this hotel several times but this time was really wonderful everything was perfect and we want to thank the whole staff and we will be back soon once arrived everyone recognized us and were as helpful as eve

Room tip: take te chalet rooms quiet and comfortable
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annbosteels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2019

We stayed here almost 45 years ago, part of our honeymoon, and would love to return for our 45th anniversary. But without backpacks this time! The rooms and view were good, and the food and service, we still remember how good it was, after all these years! The best. Invite us back for our anniversary in May! We would be there in a second. Thanks Hotel Schoenegg, for the memories.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Meander39443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

A member of staff from the hotel was at the train station to meet our train and took us directly to the hotel which was ideally located near to the centre of the town and less than half a mile away. The cable car to “Grindlewald First” was also a mere 5-minute walk from the hotel. Check in went very smoothly and we were shown to our room. We had pre-booked a room with a balcony and a mountain view. We were not disappointed. The room was indeed comfortable with a spacious balcony and a fantastic view of the Eiger. However, we did notice that the large king-sized bed was in fact two single beds pushed together and there was a bit of a gap between the mattresses. We requested additional pillows which were duly provided. The en-suite bathroom featured a shower above the bath. However, for some reason the showerhead was not positioned overhead but was about 4 ft up the wall making it virtually impossible to stand in the bath and take a shower, our attempts to do so often led to a wet bathroom floor.
The hotel facilities included a good-sized swimming pool, a jacuzzi hot tub and a separate, private sauna suite including steam room, plunge pool and multiple places to “kick back” and relax.
We found all staff at the hotel were very cheerful, friendly and extremely helpful. The reception staff were happy to book train tickets to the Jungfrau for us. We were provided with a free welcome drink from the bar on arrival. The hotel provided home-made potato crisps in the bar every evening.
The food offered at the hotel was always excellent. There was a self-service buffet style breakfast with fresh fruit and juices, a choice of scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, pastries, a selection of breads and rolls with cold meats and cheeses. The evening meals were always very tasty and beautifully presented. They usually consisted of 5 courses. This started with a self-service salad, followed by a “served” set starter. There was then a choice of 3 different main dishes followed by a dessert and rounded off with a self-service cheese and biscuits/crackers course.
On checking out of the hotel on our final day we were given a large bag of the hotels “home-made” crisps for the journey which we thought was a nice touch.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019 via mobile

The Fall Wildcarte is a masterpiece: delicious pumpkin soup, fallow deer with two types of freshly-picked mushrooms, and vermicelli with ice cream for dessert! So so good and dining next to the open fire was magical! Thanks for a memorable evening!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dangstadt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews