We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved amazing views, the big airy bedrooms, and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Schlosseck

Schlosseck (Wengen) in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Schlosseck (Wengen) in summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Schlosseck (Wengen) in summer
View from Schlosseck
View from Schlosseck
Schlosseck (Wengen) in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Wengen, Jungfrau Region, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
violins4
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved amazing views, the big airy bedrooms, and the location!!”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My family, consisting of 5 adults (my husband and I and three grown kids) and a 15 & 10 year old, stayed here for 3 days last weekend. We were provided good information by the owners so we knew that we had to park our car in Lauterbrunnen and take the train up to Wengen (for 3 days the cost was around 45 chf). We reserved the parking online ahead of time and were grateful the ski season hadn't fully opened yet so there were spots left available (the following weeks were totally booked). Reserve your parking early during peak season stays. We were able to catch a taxi from the train station in Wengen to get us and our luggage up to Schlosseck the first time. After that, we really enjoyed the 15-20 minute walk into town and absolutely loved the location being out of town. Ski season wasn't open yet and the area was very peaceful and quiet. On an evening walk, I passed a couple of small working farms and at least at that time, it felt very much like a small alpine village. I loved the feell of the area and the amazing views in every direction! It was stunning!!

Two of the bedrooms are huge, open and airy rooms with big windows with window seats. Then there is a smaller room with bunkbeds and a bedroom with it's own bathroom which is a little smaller but more than adequate. There are multiple balconies, and plenty of windows to see the incredible view.

The kitchen is very nice and the kitchen, eating area, and sitting area are all one big space with the bedrooms coming off of it. There is a large balcony of the main area with a small table and chairs so you can enjoy the view while sipping hot chocolate. There is also a balcony with table and chairs off one of the large bedrooms. The main bathroom is well set up for multiple people to use. The bath/shower area closes off from the toilet area so both can be used at the same time.

We really like the central gathering area with a big table. It promoted spending time together. If I had one suggestion to make for the owners, it would be that the couch and chair in that area aren't very comfortable. I think it would have been absolutely perfect if those would have been inviting and comfy.

All in all, we loved this property and setting!! It met the needs of our family of 7 very well! We would love to stay there again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The couch and chair
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverbac...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in an stunning setting”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were fortunate to have the privilege of staying at Schlosseck in Feb 2014. We were a group of 7 including three kids. The chalet is about a 20 minute walk from the town of Wengen, although you can ski to within about 200 meters from the apartment where there is also a ski lift. The chalet is in a glorious setting with extraordinary views of the Jungfrau Mountain and the Lauterbrunnen Valley. You could spend a life time there and never get tired of the view. The owners are fantastic and very approachable. The apartment was immaculate and the owner arranged (at very short notice) for some basic groceries for us for dinner on our arrival as we arrived quite late. This place must be magnificent in summer!!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb place to stay - simple yet elegant and spacious”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Schlosseck is extremely comfortable - simple yet elegant and spacious. It is picture perfect in the snow and the views from our apartment were wonderful. It has a very peaceful feel to it and yet it is only a few minutes to one of the ski-lifts. The hosts are really friendly and it was a great place to stay as a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: views
Liked least: the walk up the hill from Wengen
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherilee...
Rehovot, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place in swiss”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed ourselves so much in schloseck In Wengen. The views from the windows of the house are extremely beautiful. The apartment is fully equipped with everything you need ( the best technology) and even more. We stayed two parents and 5 boys, and the big house gave us the ability to play, rest, enjoy meals in the beautiful kitchen. The most important is the warm and helpful advice from Dominic, who advised us on tours, gave us useful information and came to meet us a few times ( always with a big smile). I really advice to stay here and when i visit Switzerland again I will for sure come to Sclosseck again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, close to walking trips
Liked least: I really found it hard to leave this beautiful place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seepferdc...
Bonn, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing