We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big enough to provide good facilities...small enough to care!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Caprice
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big enough to provide good facilities...small enough to care!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

In desperate need of some peace and quiet away from the usual pressures of everyday life I headed off to Switzerland for a short break in the Alps. I had pre-booked my accomodation at the Caprice having read several reviews from previous guests the bulk of which appeared very complimentary. I was not dissappointed.
The welcome that I recieved from Alex, his wife and their staff was warm and genuine. They instantly made me feel at home and nothing was too much bother for them. The location of the hotel is superb. Being far enough away from the main thoroughfares of Grindelwald unyet within easy walking of the nearby train & bus stations allowing for hassle-free transport connections. Meals are served in the first floor restaurant with the most incredible views of the Eiger as it dominates the near horizon and the wonderful alpine valley below.
As someone with a healthy appetite my stay at the Caprice was made all the more pleasurable by the fact that food options at both the buffet-breakfast and during the `set` evening meal were more than adequate.
A full breakfast buffet (continental style) was served each morning with the usual fine selection of fresh fruits, cereals, bread, boiled eggs, cheese and a platter of cold meats on offer. A miriad selection of herbal teas, fruit juice and fresh brewed coffee was also available and all served with courtesy and a friendly smile.
In the evening the hotel provides guests with the option of eating in the restaurant rather than `searching` for food in downtown Grindelwald. For ease I decided to accept this option and I am glad I did. A set 5 course dinner was served with a vegetarian option also available. Again a fine selection of wholesome food wonderfully prepared & presented. At the Caprice you will never go hungery.
As a single guest I was accomodated in one of the rooms on the ground floor of the hotel with amazing views across the valley to the Eiger. The patio door of my room opened right out onto the pretty little garden (south facing) where I was able to sit and enjoy the last rites of the late afternoon sunshine from the comfort of a selection of sun-loungers and deck chairs, all to the accompanyment of distant cow bells.
The room itself was more than adequate. A fully functional bathroom ensuite. A comfortable double bed with crisp white linen to compliment the fresh pine clad interior decor. Cleanliness at this hotel is most definately not an issue. My room was cleaned every day and upon arrival little touches such as a small selection of local chocolates on the pillow confirmed an `attention to detail` which from my experience would seem to be the mantra of Alex and his staff.
Other facilities at the Caprice includes a wonderful spa area with jaccuzi, steamroom and suana. Most welcoming after a long day traversing the many hiking trails in the valley. A cosy snug/bar area close to the main reception offered an opportunity to meet guests from across europe. Do try the Kirsche if you get the chance. A wonderfully smooth nitecap available from the bar. A sound nights sleep is gauranteed.
The next day Alex will assist you in planning your days events. he is very much a local and understands the weather patterns and knows many of the hiking,biking and climbing trails on offer to outdoor enthusiasts. But if you just want to kick back and enjoy the peace and tranquility of Grindelwald, Alex will also have some suggestions for you.
The Caprice is truely a little gem in an area literally teeming with various accomodation options. I am not prone to writing hotel reviews but have taken the trouble on this occasion because I honestly believe that the success of this Hotel is down to the hard work and personal service that each guest is afforded by Alex and the team. This is a family run hotel with a great tradition and which operates successfully in a very competitive market. It is plain to see why this hotel has proved so popular amongst its guests and I would have no qualms in recommending it to anybody wishing to get away from it all for a while. I am already planning a return....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dedhamoldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    39
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
69
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Family of 4 on Summer walking/hiking hol.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to all.
Hosts and all the staff could not have been more helpful throughout our stay.
Thanks again and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theticklefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at Caprice for four nights on our European road trip and found it to be perfect for our needs. It was clean, welcoming and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great being close to the train station, but still very peaceful, and the views from our room and the restaurant were stunning. With so much to do in and around Grindelwald, we're certainly looking forward to returning to Caprice in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonPT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our visit pretty much matched what the other reviews note: great location, clean and charming rooms, terrific views.

Just one somewhat negative comment: At dinner, the food was almost always oversalted, especially the soup. We don't have salt dietary issues, but if you do, you might mention that. Unlike the French and Italians, the Swiss aren't known for their cuisine, so don't expect anything really fabulous. You'll get plenty to eat, and the food is regional cuisine, which means lots of pork products in particular. Given what we saw in Grindelwald, I don't think you'll do much better eating anywhere else. Besides, we were there to hike and see the famous mountains!

The owners were helpful in suggesting trails and checking weather, which is necessary given the changeable mountain weather. The first day we wore rainproof jackets and pants to do a short, steep, soggy hike just so we could get out. Be prepared for anything, and you'll have a good time.

Switzerland is expensive. Grindelwald is especially expensive. Budget what you can for that and make the most of your visit. (And skip the local wines. If you are a wine drinker, wines from just about any other country are better than Swiss wines. Drink the Italian options on the wine list, though they are quite pricey.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

very nice location, cozy and large room, excellent views, service very good, breakfast very good, dinner excellent, friendly reception

Room Tip: Eiger room looking at the Eiger, wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillerm077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#11 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.5 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Property: Hotel Caprice
Address: Kreuzweg 11, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#17 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price range (per night): $253 - $402
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caprice 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Caprice in Grindelwald! Small but beautiful and lovely to the smallest detail. So the Hotel Caprice Grindelwald invites you in its third generation, to stay in one of the 24 cozy single-, double-, or superior-rooms and two apartments. The hotel is centrally located but very quiet. You will reach in a 2 - 3 minute walk the train station, the village center can be reached in about 4-5 minutes. The bus stop from where you can go for free by the local ski bus to all cable cars (Grindelwald-First, Pfingsteggbahn, Maennlichenbahn), is also 2-3 minutes away by foot from the hotel. From the same location, three different mountain bus lines drive to Bussalp (Summer & Winter), to Waldspitz (summer) and the Grosse Scheidegg (summer). Wellness oasis with whirlpool, Finnish sauna and Turkish steam bath After an eventful day, we welcome you in our wellness oasis, where you can give your body the necessary relaxation in the bubbling Wetterhorn whirlpool. Subsequently, recharge your batteries in the Finnish Block sauna, our Turkish steam bath or the infrared cabin Physiotherm or enjoy a wonderful massage. The Hotel Caprice will be your cozy home for a relaxing and restful holiday stay in the middle of Grindelwald. You can take benefit from various advantages at the Hotel Caprice Grindelwald: - Central and quiet Location - Unique view of the world-famous Eiger North Face - Personal service from your host family Regula & Alexander Glarner - Suggestions for your individual hiking tours and excursions - We know the most beautiful ski slopes of the Jungfrau Region - We know the longest sledge run in Europe - Complimentary guest trips with your host Alexander Glarner (snowshoeing in winter and hiking in summer) - Do you prefer a sunrise excursion to the best photo spot - or should it be a full moon walk at 1900 meters above sea level? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing