We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
84
123
52
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
123
52
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel train station recommend this hotel tub shower little extras triple room hot water ski bus non skiers half board skiing holiday great view the hotel is clean small balcony view from the balcony switzerland mountains
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2015

The Hotel is well located, good value for money (by Grindelwald standards) and has a nice 'traditional' feel to it with plenty of character.
The initial room that we were allocated (26 I think) on the top floor was more like a box room and appeared unfinished with unpainted chipboard wardrobe doors and no window, just a skylight. We talked to the receptionist who promptly relocated us to a room at the front of the hotel with a window which had a lovely view across to the Eiger - thank you.
The top floor on which we stayed, seems improvised and slightly unfinished - possibly still in development? The shower room was on the floor below and the walls are 'thin' meaning noise can be a real issue especially if you have people next door making a real racket at 6.00 am each morning, this could be more about the people than the walls, but soundproofing would be a welcome addition. Breakfast was fine and informal, staff were friendly and the receptionist helpful. If the noise wasn't such an issue, I would grade the hotel higher, but provision for a sound nights sleep should be a pre-requisite in any hotel.

Room Tip: try to avoid the third floor if you are noise sensitive.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ufleku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata M, Stv. Betriebsassistentin at Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Thank you very much for your rating and the review. We are unfortunately aware of the problem with lack in soundproofing and are very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here to allow us to visit "Top of Europe". The hotel was ideally located not far from the train station. Very friendly and helpful staff and the hotels restaurant offered a good value evening meal. Rooms are basic but provide adequate accommodation. We had a lovely view of the Elger from our room but the hotel could defiantly do with investing in some new pillows!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata M, Stv. Betriebsassisten at Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Thank you very much for your nice review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay. The view from the room to the Eiger North wall is great! Thank you also for your comment regarding the pillows, we are happy about every input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This is a lovely friendly place where the staff are extremely helpful(seemingly in several languages). The people on reception are also very knowledgeable about the area and are able to sell the train tickets from the reception desk and advise on the best deals.
The breakfast was excellent for a continental breakfast with everything you would need. We didn't stay in for the evening meals as it is nice to walk into the village and try other restaurants, but the other guests seemed happy with the meals. The room was a little dated but charming and the view from the window outstanding.
The only reason for not giving this hotel 5 stars is the soundproofing in the room. I did read this from other reviewers before booking, but thought that we would be OK as we're quite seasoned travellers, but it really it very noisy indeed from the room above - the floorboards from the room above creak very loudly at every step. I hope the management do eventually address this problem and I'm sure it would make me hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends. Perhaps take some earplugs for sleeping?

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Portia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata M, Stv. Betriebsassistentin at Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Thank you very much for your nice great review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are unfortunately aware of the problem with the thin walls and creaking floors and are very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Really great hotel to stay in Grindelwald - and I suggest that you do stay in Grindelwald if you want to do the Jungfrau region properly.
We arrived at the hotel before check-in and were told that our room was not ready, but the staff guided us to go to First and Lake Bachalpsee. We got to use the bathroom to freshen up and bought the tickets from the hotel itself with 50% reduction in fare. The rooms are spacious. There isn't a kettle in the room, but you can ask for boiling hot water from the reception. The hotel is really has a nice old world charm to it.
Breakfast has limited options (especially for a vegetarian) - but I can't complain.
Bathroom is very clean and nice with good fittings.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a good view of the valley
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaditya_Ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata M, Leiter Front Office at Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the hike to Bachalpsee. The views from there are stunning. We would appreciate it to welcome you another time in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

The hotel is well located for the town centre with its efficient rail and bus services and easy access to the area's cable cars. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and service was excellent. A good buffet breakfast was served and evening meals were well prepared and presented and of good quality. Our room was a good size and faced towards the Eiger and Mannlichen. It was a real plus point to be met with that view every morning. We had a problem one night with noisy neighbours which we raised with the hotel management who dealt with and resolved the issue straight away. Although we know the area quite well, we had not stayed in Grindelwald before but plan to again and will look for availability in this hotel as our starting point. Very happy

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have wonderful views of the Eiger.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata M, Leiter Front Office at Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Grindelwald. We would appreciate it to welcome you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews