We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
28
53
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
53
16
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt bread cook your own the bus hotel is located top floor nice hotel boiled eggs per night swiss hotel private balcony rail station great view breakfast buffet receptionist alps switzerland
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel in the heart of Grindelwald village many many times since my first visit in 1980. What brings me back each year is the perfect combination of location, warm friendly hospitality, cleanliness, charm and reasonable prices. This hotel is run by a very conscientious family who pride themselves on doing everything properly. The breakfast buffet in the ground floor restaurant has very good variety in a Swiss style. Cereals, fruit salad, yogurts, juices, local mountain cheeses, 5 different types of bread, cook your own boiled eggs etc etc. Even a blender to make your own smoothies from veggies etc. coffee is brought to the table. The rooms vary in size but there are some gems on the 3rd & 4th floors on the street side that offer a fabulous view of the Alps. After dinner my wife and I usually sit out on the room balcony with a glass of wine and watch the stars come out. Heaven!
(The tap water in the bathroom is the same quality as Evian - a real luxury if you travel a lot). There is a car park opposite the hotel. In summary, my home away from home, strongly recommended for a complete Swiss experience in one of the most beautiful places on earth. Enjoy!!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Weinakademiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived and realized we needed an additional room as we couldn't squeeze 4 of us into 1 room. Reception were incredibly helpful and organized another room for our teenage kids. The rooms themselves were large and comfortable. Breakfast was standard fare for Switzerland and just fine. The hotel is centrally located. We would happily stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Graham521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We went to the Hotel for the skiing weekend. Localization of the Hotel is very good, right in the city center. Great if you want to ski in the First area, a 10 min bus ride required to reach the Grindelwald Grund gondola station.
Hotel is clean, rooms are nice. Very expensive for 3 star hotel, but I guess it's normal price for Switzerland in a season.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Krzysztof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Really nice hotel with a charm, with a really nice service, close to all commodities (supermarket and restaurants) close to the ski lift, close to the bus stop. Parking available for guests, rooms clean.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank agnes767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We called here for a evening meal and the food was very good The Fondue was very tasty although the Lady running the restaurant seemed to think i needed a lesson on how to eat Fondue we did laugh as she snatched the Fondue fork of me and stabbed the bread then whisked it around the cheese which is what i was doing.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilkosteph28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bleuer, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017
Google Translation

Besten Dank für Ihre Bewertung.
Es freut uns das Sie sich die Mühe genommen habt.
Mit freude haben wir festgestellt, das wir Ihren Ansprüchen
gerecht wurden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews