We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
28
33
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
33
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lift spa area eggli skiing balcony internet chalet
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

It is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms. We had a nice view of the mountains with paragliders from our balcony. It is 15 minutes walking from town center. The breakfast was nice but they just need to deal with the number of flies.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank ozgep94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

This hotel is a gem, and I am hesitant to write a review and give away my future chance for a reservation here. I am frankly shocked the hotel isn't booked up solid. This is a real skiers paradise. It is ski-in/ski-out to Wispile Mountain with a bus stop right outside the hotel serviced by a ski-bus and regular city bus. Walking into the center of town is about 10 min and a nice easy walk, with many things like pharmacies, stores, and a cheese shop close by. The wispile ski lift is right there and the main eggli mountain life is one bus stop or a five minute walk away. Wispile Mountain has a small learning hill for small children, a large blue run for beginner-intermediates and the most challenging red and blacks one will find in Gstaad. There is also a mountain restaurant (self-serve) that is wonderful and this hotel has a restaurant at the bottom of the hill along with a fantastic bar.

The room itself and bathroom were large, comfortable, with a fire escape outside to store food, a mini-bar, wine glasses, and a great view of the mountain. The lobby is super, and there is no prissy complaining about putting your ski boots on in there. The staff are so helpful and nice. They let us check-in to our room early (just warning us that it could still need cleaning, which was awesome) so that we could leave our stuff and ski. Then, they let us stay in the room late and shower after our skiing the next day. It was really fantastic and they were lovely! We would stay here again for sure.

The breakfast was great and a deal at 10 chf a person. Many options that were delicious and did not skimp, including packaged things like sports bars that could be taken on the mountain. Room service is also available if you are too tired to go into the restaurant for dinner, which is really nice. Toiletries are lovely as well.

Overall highly recommended over some of the more expensive, prissy hotels. Also, a better value than many of the airbnb chalets which give you one room and demand that you be able to drive way out of the way of the bus line.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel, really cosy, room very clean and spacious, 2 big bed, a bath, nice view and the location is really good as you walk 3 min from the ski lift, they gave us few hours more to do the check out

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank singrid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The Alphorn has some of the best value rooms in Gstaad - a single room in August for CHF120. The room was small but had a balcony and I wasn't complaining about the price! The staff were very friendly and the restaurant is very good value for dinner, with some delicious local food (lovely cordon bleu pork) and a varied selection of wines, many available by the glass. There is a very cosy, and very under-utilised spa area.

However, the internet is erratic and requires constant logging on, using a username and password on a slip of paper from the reception - each device requires a separate slip, which is a bit of a rigmarole. Breakfast is simple, but there were a couple of flies in the breakfast room, which would have benefited from a discrete zapper or repellent.

The hotel has parking outside, is next to a t-bar ski slope and is a short 15 minute walk to the main street in Gstaad and the railstation

Room Tip: Rooms 35 and 36 are single rooms on the second floor. There is a lift.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Great location being only a short walk from the main promenade of shops and restaurants. Friendly staff who were very helpful throughout the day (printing some of our paperwork, serving breakfast, etc...). Great view from balcony. Would recommend and return

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Devan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews