We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
83
56
17
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
56
17
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station designer shops the staff was friendly and helpful rooms are clean great lunch town centre the main street excellent location raclette steam room top quality mini bar very nice hotel hotel is located cheese balcony plug
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This place is the nearest to the train station. Rooms are clean and helpful nice. The staff was friendly and helpful.h However it was too expensive without anything special. The food was also a bit so-so. There were flies. Not a very good experience. Pretty sure there are better places than this in the area.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Malki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by friendly English speaking staff. We stayed in a ‘panorama’ room with a view of the slopes and distant peaks above the town rooftops from the balcony. The room was very tasteful, spacious, modern but in keeping with Swiss style. We would have welcomed a fan as it was very warm. Being Brits, we would have liked tea/ coffee making facilities in the room.

The hotel is very central - next to the train station - but nevertheless quiet, as the trains are electric and infrequent. Gstaad seemed very sleepy in the summer warmth. We enjoyed borrowing the e-bikes, included in the room rate. The breakfast buffet (local cheeses and dairy products) and eggs / bacon cooked to order really set us up for some lovely walks in the Alps. We didn’t try the basement pool but it looked very clean and inviting.

Nearby we found a Coop supermarket for supplies, and some reasonably priced restaurants amongst the designer shops l.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank B4thm4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Inhaber at Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Bernerhof. Many thanks for taking some of your valuable time to leave feedback about the Bernerhof.

I am pleased to read your lovely comments about how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is fantastic to read such lovely comments about our location the variety of food and that you received the service that you deserve from our “helpful and friendly” staff. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with the entire team. I know everybody will be incredibly proud.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon to create another memorable experience for you.
Thomas Frei, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We spent two nights in a wonderful room at Bernerhof and enjoyed a lot. Not only is there a attentive, friendly and informed service but the amenities are exciting, the fitout is nice and you feel welcome. This is a top quality but affordable place.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

When we checked in at first the staff was very welcoming and guest friendly! They explained everything well and made us feel welcomed, after a long train journey to gstaad! the room we got was fantastic and cosy! In addition, the view outside was lively and beautiful! the hotel was also central to the busy shopping promenade and a few seconds walk away from the train station, Asking for basic resources like English breakfast tea, adapters etc.. was not a problem at all, instead they cheerfully did the job and had a positive attitude! the Chinese restaurant in the hotel was also amazing all the dishes served were relished and enjoyed!
At the last day of our checkout the staff offered a kind gesture for the bell boy to take our luggage till the train station, in addition we were given refreshing homemade iced tea for our long journey ahead! Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone for the great hospitality and friendliness!
Also would like to thank the front office staff Patricia for great care and warmth!
Keep it Up!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shivanshi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Inhaber at Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Bernerhof. Many thanks for taking some of your valuable time to leave feedback about the Bernerhof.

I am pleased to read your lovely comments about how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is fantastic to read such lovely comments about our location the variety of food and that you received the service that you deserve from our “helpful and friendly” staff. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with the entire team. I know everybody will be incredibly proud.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon to create another memorable experience for you.
Thomas Frei, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on our Grand Tour of Switzerland. We chose the half cheese raclette and half meat cooked above it. It came with potatoes and the meat was steak, chicken, bacon, sausage and the raclette was delicious. Good local wine

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews