We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
This ancient barn is arranged in the medieval way with the living accomadation on the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This ancient barn is arranged in the medieval way with the living accomadation on the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This ancient barn is arranged in the medieval way with the living accomadation on the first floor
Part of your  Welcome Pack....
Prepare your market buts in the well equipped kitchen
The spacious bedroom has a lovely king size bed so you are ensured of a great night's sleep!
Your view on waking up and opening the curtains.
Original and limited edition prints adorn the walls.
Enjoy a romantic bath à deux or just have a nice, long soak, tout seule...
Have a refreshing shower in the roomy enclosure
....and being visited by our friendly chickens
Eat al fresco in your secluded garden.
Relax with a good book and a glass of something chilled in these beautiful vintage steamer chairs.
Picnic in style using our vintage picnic hamper.
Nestled in the Vallée de la Vire, Le Calipel offers you tranquillity,  peace and places to walk.
....seamlessly combining the old with the new to make your stay a special one, like the building.
Enjoy the tranquillity of the pond & observe the diverse wildlife.
Enjoy a leisurely stroll down the lane-you might spot deer!
D-Day changed the landscape-there are many sites to be visited evoking the bravery of our forebears.
Visit the Musée Christian Dior at Granville.
Visit one of the many Chateau in the region.
You can visit a different market every day! Each with characterful stallholders.
Visit the Festival du Dahlia in September-a blaze of colour!
Watch the sun rise to a new day...
Visit one of the retro festivals-cars, tractors & rural life of past times.
...then enjoy the peace of dusk...
...and see a myriad of stars.
Enjoy a Normandy traffic jam!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kirstie t
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the perfect getaway”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Donna was the perfect host - really friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive. The welcome pack was lovely and well needed as everything was closed when we got there at 6pm. the cottage was beautiful and much nicer than the pics show. the fireplace was very impressive and the fires made it lovely and cosy, although it was generally a warm house. we loved how it was decorated with art deco antiques and the quirky mice (not real!) in very crevice!! the bath was amazing and perfect for two. the garden was lovely and private. watching the stars at night is a must where you can see the milky way.
whilst it was remote you could still access the lovely coastal town of Granville in 30 mins and mt st Michel in 40 mins. there are lots of lovely markets locally and ville de poele market on weds am was a favourite.
there were lots of books, games to play and sky TV and dvd's to watch - so plenty to occupy yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the look of the cottage, the fire and the bath
Liked least: not much going on in the local village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2013
I'm so glad you had such a lovely holiday! We do everything we can to make our guests' stay a memorable one for all the right reasons.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxation and a great base to explore”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just had a wonderful two weks staying at Le Calipel. The converted barn is a fantastic place to relax or explore the beautiful surrounding area.

It is so easy to lose track of time amongst the peace and quiet!

Thank you Donna and Ed- we loved it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
We are so pleased you had a lovely holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Le Calipel-we do everything we can to make our guests feel welcome & happy. If you want a natter, I'm here but if you want to be left alone, I can do that too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alresford
Reviewed 8 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the welcome pack - milk, baguette, eggs etc
Liked least: no toaster - had to have croissants instead!! It was a hard week ;-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Le Calipel and thank you for your review. French bread, lovely though it is, doesn't toast very well so I decided to force you to have croissants!!

Look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The owners of the property, they made the holiday.
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2012
Thank you for your kind words-we strive to be helpful! Look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing