We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of Paradise.”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Haut Quesnay cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Haut Quesnay cottage
Garden side of cottage Secluded driveway to the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Le Haut Quesnay cottage
Garden side of cottage
Secluded driveway to the cottage
Open fields surround the cottage which is in the distance
The cottage viewed from a walking route
Entrance to the lounge from the terrace
Cosy log fire focal point in the lounge
Lounge from the stairs looking to front door and kitchen
Double bedroom one upstairs
The view from the bedroom
Looking towards top of the stairs
Bedroom 1 en-suite
Bedroom 2 ground floor with twin beds
La Belle Eau, a short walk away
At the end of every rainbow ............
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
trisharus...
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A slice of Paradise.”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Perfect accommodation, beautiful, clean and fully functional. Fantastic hosts, nothing too much trouble. Very accommodating towards our two dogs. So very much to see and do locally that we shall need to return.

Thank you Helen and Jay for accommodating us we shall be back soon.

Mark, Trisha, Rusty & Poppy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShepofBri...
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Gite in a Great Location”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a fantastic holiday here for one week at the end of September.

The Gite has everything you could want to make you feel at home. It is in a lovely peaceful location yet close to all amenities.

We spent our days exploring the area, visiting the museums at St.Mere Eglise and Utah Beach (both are great), the towns of Barfleur, St.Lo and Carentan where we enjoyed some very tasty good value meals and the beaches and the national park where we enjoyed some lovely walks. We then returned to our Gite each evening to enjoy a relaxing beer in the sunny garden followed by our locally purchased french bread, wine and cheese. The Gite even has satellite TV so we could follow the rugby World Cup and watch some of the matches when it suited us. There is also Wifi in the Gite, sometimes it doesn't work but you just need to reboot it which takes 10 seconds, it works fine for emails, Facebook etc and checking out locations for our daily excursions. Jay and Helen, the owners are very friendly and are onsite if you need anything. We even managed to leave our coats behind and Helen offered to send them back to us which is very nice of her. All in all a great place to stay if you are looking for a holiday in this lovely area of France. We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location but near to everything we wanted to visit
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thanks for the review, glad you had a good time - and the weather was nice for you! We enjoyed having you to stay and hope to see you again one day. Will be in touch within a couple of days about the coats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyuk123...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to the blurb”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for one week in 2015 and were unfortunately very disappointed. The photos shown on booking and reality just didn't reflect each other. We booked a bright cheerful modern looking cottage and got dour one instead .

The settee and armchair had been replaced with an older more upright version. It's straps were gone and the cushions sat on boards. The dining table and chairs had been replaced and a previous guest had walked off with the TV remote. The wireless was described on arrival as "fragile" but near death would be a better term. Every 20-30 minutes you had to reboot the router and I tested it's speed at 0.75MBS. That's slow! Nothing was provided for comfort. Luckily the single half toilet roll for the two toilets had been left by a previous guest. The on suite mentioned in the website is a toilet and sink in the bedroom. There is a partition but no door and a nice view out to the farmers barn from the clear glassed window opposite the toilet.
We picked the cottage so we could take our cocker spaniel with us. Unfortunately the area had seen a lot of rain turning part of the garden in to a swamp. Dogs being dogs he found it before us. We got rebuked for muddy paws and for letting the dog onto the furniture. Dog hairs in a dog friendly cottage, guess we got that wrong.

There is a €40 cleaning charge and your expected to carry your rubbish on Tuesday to the end of the farm drive. As to recycling that's for you to take away with you, which isn't the owners fault but a pain. There were issues with the landlady who never acknowledge our text or missed calls, even a curiosity apology for not replying at the time when she was back in signal would have been nice. Oh and please note the French don't do Sunday trading which caused us problems but we were told by the owner that we should have done research before we set off. That's something people always check before leaving home, local trading hours, silly us. The owners will have excuses for all the above, but photos attached. Judge for yourself. If your going to Normandy stay elsewhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: Ariving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
We would just like to respond to some of the criticisms that this guest has made. Firstly, yes some of the furniture is different. The dining table is the same and the dining chairs are actually newer than the ones in the photo. Unfortunately the sofa was damaged and was replaced with a different one but no one else has even remarked on this let alone complained about it. There is a remote for the TV to change channels but you just have to turn it on and off manually! Yes the WiFi is fragile as we tell all our guests, and most of them reply that they haven't come on holiday to spend all their time on the internet and as long as its ok for emails etc that's all they want.
Although the cottage is advertised as self catering we do normally leave toilet roll, bin bag, kitchen roll, tea and coffee etc to start people off and not leaving a couple of toilet rolls was obviously an oversight on our part.
There is no en-suite bathroom advertised - it is a separate toilet and washbasin attached to the first floor bedroom.
The cottage is dog friendly but we also expect our guests to respect the property and not leave muddy paw prints on the suite and on both bedspreads in the ground floor bedroom. We are sure that other guests who have bought their dogs with them have allowed them on the furniture but they have had the good manners to clean the evidence away before they left.
No-one is asked to put their rubbish in the bin on a particular day, we just say that the bin is emptied on Tuesdays for guests general information - and is it such a big deal to put your bag of rubbish in the bin as you drive past it rather than letting the rubbish accumulate in the cottage?
As the phone signal is very bad in our house we ask our guests to text rather than phone if they need us -these guests called twice and both times when we realised there had been a call we saw them outside within a few minutes. We also tell all our guests that the two local supermarkets are only open on Sunday mornings but obviously this was not enough information for these guests.
We have had 29 weeks of guests of all nationalities in our cottage this year and from speaking to them and reading their remarks in the visitors book that we leave in the cottage we think that the 99.99% have had a lovely time, and some have even already booked to return again next year. The other .01% we know will never be satisfied as they seem to want a 5 star hotel for the price of a cottage in Normandy and we are relieved that they will not want to come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusty7409
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Booked in to stay with Helen and Jay for just over 8 days. Myself and 3 friends travelling on motorcyles. The trip was a Battlefiled type tour so the location was more than ideal. The accomodation was clean and tidy with all the facilites one would require to live comfortably. There is Wifi at the location but it is a tad erratic but i didn't go there really to check my emails....but it works fine when its up and working.
Helen and Jay are great hosts, we had a day out with them on the motorcycles to visit some litlle gems such as the filthy 13 memorial amongst others, which we would never have found easily.
I have no hesitation in recommending this location to anyone, for the price and facilaities it is ideal, I am considering bringing my young family here next year and another bike trip.

Great place...
Lovely area.....
Great, knowledgable hosts!!!!!

Dusty
OP KNEE DOIWN

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts, the area, the easy access to the sights
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie A
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It goes without saying that this review is for the conditions of the property, the owners themselves were lovely people who were pleasant to deal with. The area is in a perfect country setting, down a winding French road within easy striking distance of the major sights, but that's where the country charm ends. There was no iron provided (although the owner kindly let me borrow hers), there was also no hairdryer (there is one in a drawer but I think it was left by a foreign visitor because it has a plug that doesn't fit into any French outlet). There was nothing about the house that would make you want to linger there, which was fine since we were out most days until 11pm. The was a very unpleasant odor in the main level which was noticeable upon walking in. As would be expected there are critters out in the country, but when my husband was awakened in the first floor guest room by an infestation of flying ants that was more than we were prepared to deal with! He found a can of bug spray and the carcasses literally covered his bed, definitely not acceptable in a paying situation. No recompense was offered for the very unpleasant insect infestation issue. We've rented apartments in Italy, Iceland and Spain and this by far was our worst experience and was definitely not a good value for the money.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2015
I would like to respond to this guests review of Le Haut Quesnay cottage. Firstly the hairdryer is an English hairdryer that is provided by the owners, however the adaptor had obviously been mislaid but if the guest had told the owners they would have provided either another adaptor or another hairdryer. The smell - again no mention was made of this during the guests stay, if it had been then the owners would have investigated it, but when the owners showed the guests the cottage on their arrival and also when they went in to clean after the guests departure there was no smell. In the visitors book in the cottage all of the comments by previous guests have said how charming and homely the cottage is. The ant problem occurred on the morning that the guest left and she informed the owners of this by a text message. Unfortunately that is something that cannot be foreseen but the problem was swiftly dealt with and the guest was sent an apology. In fact the night before the guest left she sent the owners a message saying "thank you for a lovely stay" with absolutely no mention of any problems. In view of this the owners were very disappointed with the negative review as they have only ever had positive feedback from previous guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing