We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portion compare to the price ”

Restaurant Thai Garden
Ranked #31 of 444 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 19 - USD 157
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The freshness and the refined aromas of Far Eastern cuisine arguably reach their pinnacle with Royal Thai cuisine. It's no surprise that Thai cooking takes top spot in Asian cuisine, and you will discover this culinary experience full of unique quality and authenticity at the Restaurant Thai Garden for yourself. You'll feel as if you are in the King's Palace in Bangkok with the stylish Thai interior through to the attentive service and skilfully prepared delicacies. Many foodies actually consider the Thai Garden the best Thai restaurant in Switzerland. It is not without reason that the Thai Garden has been awarded 14 points by Gault Millau.
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We have dinner here, 2 men, 5 women and 1 kid. The foods are excellent and 2 gentlemen who serve are very friendly. One of them even propose a pizza for the kid, seems he knows the kid wants pizza (this is Thai resto right? Lol)
Only the shrimp is not so good enough.

The sign for the restaurant is not so clear. We thought it’s inside (part of) the hotel but then we have to go out the hotel and turn left to the other side of building because we haven’t found the connecting door to the restaurant from the hotel.
The entrance is behind Astoria hotel and the door is very small. Not enough light though.
I don’t know whether there is other entrance door.

The table is small. So, when the foods come, it’s very crowded on the table lol
The portion of the food is small compare to the price. But this is Switzerland!!. And it’s the price for restaurant in hotel.
Just prepare your credit card lol.

1  Thank emmaella611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant Thai Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear emmaella611

Thank you very much for your visit and feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our food quality and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Ate here in early Jan with family. We always look forward to visiting as the food and service has always been of a high standard.
This visit saw a bit of a decline in the quality of both. We waited an hour between delivery of the main courses after the starters were cleared away. Some dishes were tepid rather than piping hot but nobody came to check if everything was ok with us.
Granted the restaurant was full but previously this would not have caused any problems.
We would definitely give the place another chance as the setting is so beautiful and relaxing and we have always been happy on other occasions.

1  Thank Lucydaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant Thai Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Lucydaniel

We thank you for your visit and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

As you know from your previous visits, the service experienced during your last visit with us does not correspond with our operating philosophy.

It is our wish that you have our restaurant in good memory and hope we will have the chance to convince you of our good service standard!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We were suggested this restaurant by the staff at des balances and yea it was good - actual thai style ambience and staff was friendly as well - we had the thai green curry and was very good . Spring rolls were too good thin and crispy.. rat this 4.5

1  Thank sidseth87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant Thai Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear sidseth87

We would like to thank you for your visit at restaurant Thai Garden and for your positive feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our food quality and service and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

I very rarely feel compelled to write a bad review but in all honesty, I feel compelled to write this review.

First of all, if you have ever tasted authentic Thai then you cannot rate this restaurant. The food is bland and tasteless. Put a blind fold on and you honestly wouldn’t know what you were eating. I’m not trying to be “clever” just honest.

As an English tourist, I am also not familiar with paying £180 GBP for:

1 bottle of house red wine
1 bottle sparkling water
1 Bowl chicken and coconut soup
1 prawn glass noodle starter
1 Pad Thai chicken
1 Chicken pad ka prow

If you like tasteless food and are happy to pay £180 for the privilege then please make a reservation.

By the way I have a Thai wife and so I kind of know what I’m talking about without being pretentious

Thank OrientalKyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant Thai Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear OrientalKyoko

We would like to thank you for your visit and for your feedback. We will share your advice regarding our food quality with our food and beverage department, as it is our goal to constantly improve our service. We guarantee that our chefs are Thais and only work with high quality products. They try to cook as authentic as possible, but take the European preference into consideration. It may always happen that the ordered dish does not meet with your expectations. In this case, our employees are advised to offer a suitable alternative. We kindly ask you to inform the restaurant manager immediately in a comparable incident.

At Restaurant Thai Garden we try to whisk our guests away to a short Thailand holiday experience with an elaborately designed restaurant area and an authentic Thai kitchen as well as service culture. To do so, we need to cover not only the costs of the single dishes, but also all mentioned service. Nevertheless, we regret to hear that we could not convince you with the experience at our restaurant and we will definitely take your feedback up to continuously improve our standard.

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

The green curry prawn and beef were very good. The Tom Yum soup could do with a bit more kick. Otherwise a good meal that’s pricy by all standards except Switzerland’s.

1  Thank RKCK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Restaurant Thai Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear RKC K

Thank you very much for your visit and your feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our green curry prawn and beef and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Thai Garden also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant Thai Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing