We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for an outstanding dinner”
Review of Bam Bou by Thomas

Bam Bou by Thomas
Ranked #16 of 445 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 23 - USD 133
Cuisines: Sushi, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place with a seasonal dinner choice freshly cooked perfectly. Service very friendly and helpful. Fantastic place to spend an evening.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mpu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2018

My dinner and two breakfasts here were above average and so tasty. Dinner was meticulously prepared and served. A shrimp bisque, scallop appetizer and plum sorbet with plum brandy left me happily well fed. Each course was a painting on a plate as well as delicious. I loved the giant goblet of black truffles up on the open front kitchen counter where the chef could be seen preparing. Breakfast was also excellent, served on a tiered plate were sliced meat and cheeses, pastries and a variet of breads. Eggs were available made to order. A pretty, if dark, restaurant, as were all areas of this unusual building the hotel is located in.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank travelchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We stumbled upon Bambou after staying in the hotel that the restaurant was connected to. Our son, who feeds off reviews on Trip Advisor, recommended that we eat here. His recommendation was spot on. We chose the Ala Carte Menu and found the steak and beef stroganoff dishes extremely well prepared with rich flavors. The service was excellent and the staff were very attentive without being over bearing. Although the menu was limited in quantity, it catered to most palates and there was something for everyone. We would definitely visit again in spite of the fact that it was relatively pricey. Having said that which good restaurant in Switzerland isn’t? When in Lucerne it is a must visit......

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 83aminm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

This place is just a few minutes from the main station. Lower ground floor of the boutique hotel called The Hotel.

The head chef is reasonably new and he has created a real treat.

We did the set menu. Three courses plus amuse bouche. Food fab, service exceptional from start to finish, pace of service just right. In fact a Goldilocks experience all round.

The fixed menu was something like 90 CHF per head. In the end, good value allowing for the generally high Swiss prices.

Has a great set up; you can see into the kitchen.

We thought the atmosphere was quite romantic; some dark red walls, low lighting and some natural light from outside. May be a bit different in a dark winter.

By the way, treat yourself to a night in the hotel. Each room is unique. Very romantic.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank oransome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Beautiful and tasteful dishes. High-class cooking. Nice ambiance and very friendly and helpful service. Unfortunately no outside view but perfect during the winter time.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Anton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bam Bou by Thomas also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Bam Bou by Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing