We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful is gentle to say! Rude and unkind service!”
Review of El Divino

El Divino
Ranked #113 of 445 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Since 2000, served in the "El Divino" team with exceptional charm in the restaurant and at the bar. It serves are known Mexican dishesand a variety of fine cocktails. . Not without reason, the El Divino "King of fajitas" called ersatile variants of this Tex-Mex specialties - served in an original way - are reason enough to enjoy this dining experience at El Divino The varied menu offers many other delicacies. Various selected quality wines are on tap, the great bar, offering a varied cocktail list and a remarkable whiskey on offer. The restaurant comes in a sultry South American style. The spacious, open space with the massive oak tables, the charming light design, the unique mural and the many small visual details make the El Divino insider tip in Lucerne. About 80 seating in the dining area and a spacious bar invite you to linger. In fine weather can also be served in the comfortable seats at street cafe.
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We went there to have a nice time instead we had a terrible experience! The place was dirty, the food was cold and nothing to do with Mexican food... I can say they served us oily awful fried food ... and cold. The “lady” serving us was unkind and unrespectful !
Don’t go there if you are traveling ! Luzern has more to offer and much better !

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Star3779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia F, Inhaber at El Divino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Star3779, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you didn't like the experience in our restaurant. Acutally, we'd like to outpoint that we focus on quality, cleanliness and service. Please let us know by e-mail at hola@eldivino.ch what exactly we could improve. Best regards, the El Divino-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

I like this place very much. A cool Latin atmosphere. A place to chillout before going out to the Discotheque. Great Latin Food like Fajitas, Buritos, Chilli con carne etc...It has a latin romantic flair to it. I recommend this place for Latin fans.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Tropicalman-RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia F, Inhaber at El Divino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear Tropicalman-RB, thank you so much for the 5-star-rating! We're glad to hear that you had a great time here and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again! Best regards, the El Divino team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Their hot stone is OK and the quality of the meat good. Nevertheless, the side dishes were terrible: Tiny, over-fried fries. Very bad combo with a 85$ steak... Moreover, we were the only guests, but waited for more than an hour. The male waiter was friendly and attentive, the female one was snippy.

Not recommended.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank burettora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia F, Inhaber at El Divino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Dear burettora, thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comment about the meat, however, we are very sorry that you were not okay with the service. We are working hard to provide all our guests with the best tex mex food in Lucerne and very friendly service. We appologize that the latter was not to your complete satisfaction during your stay. We would like to ask you to come again to be sure that this was an exception. Best regards, the El Divino team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The staff was extremely friendly, as well as the food.

I wasn't asked how my entrecote should be cooked, but it came
medium, which I like.

The atmosphere was cosy and very relaxing, overall a place where
we will return.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia F, Inhaber at El Divino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Robin, thank you very much for the good rating! We appreciate your feedback. Actually, our entrecote is served on a hot stone, so you can decide on your own how well cooked your entrecote should be. We would love to see you soon again at our restaurant! :-) Best regards, the El Divino team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

I an travelling across switzerland with my family right now and yet, I decided to write this review so you can imagine how frustrated I am. I found service at almost every restaurant in Lucerne amazing- people are nice and courteous. However, my experience with the service at El Divino was far from that.

I arrived with my family at 1:30pm on a Wednesday, so there was noone in the entire place. Our server, a lady, already seemed unhappy that we were there. We are Indians and vegetarians so we decided that before we order anything else, we will try one vegi burrito, and then decide if we want to order more. We ordered the one burrito and there were 4 of us, so she started picking up the silverware and place mats of 3 of us claiming that if she keeps them there until after the food arrives, she will "have to charge us", which was very strange, but we complied nonetheless. We then specifically asked for "4 glasses of TAP WATER", which I could see her fill from my seat.

Now, the food: The guacamole is fake. There is no avocado in it (AVOID!), the burrito itself was far from mexican food (even far from tex-mex), and just over all bad.

Now, the bill arrives: she charged us 5 Fr for 2 glasses of water! When I very very calmly asked her to explain the charge of TAP water, she became very defensive. She knew that even though we were travellers, we had picked up on the unfair charge. She started behaving extremely rudely for no apparent reason, claiming that it was only 5 Fr and even though we had ordered 4 glasses, she charged us for 2. My dad asked her to show on the menu where it says that 1 glass of TAP water costs 2.5 Fr, saying that we have been to atleast 4 other restaurants in Lucerne that haven't charged us for tap water. We told her that Caravalle and GourmIndia did not charge us and she said "well that's Indian". Upon explaining that Caravalle is Italian, she shouted "well, I'm just an employee. Don't ask me". We were extremely calm through out and she got more and more defensive and was borderline shouting at us. She brought the menu and showed us the dinner menu which said "1 glass of mineral water- $2.5". When we explained that tap water is not mineral water, instead of explaining her part, she started getting more aggressive and angry.

We had a horrible experience here, especially with the service. Does not deserve the current rating AT ALL atleast for lunch and server.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Srushti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia F, Inhaber at El Divino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Srushti V, we appreciate your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our restaurant. We appologize that the food and the service both did not meet your expectations. We would like to explain the two issues regarding the chargings you explained. It is common in many restaurants in Switzerland to charge tap water. Even if the water does not seem to cost anything, the personnel expenses in Switzerland are very high and the restaurants charge a little fee for the service and the cleaning of the dishes when you order tap water. One glass of tap water at El Divino costs CHF 2.50. If you order tap water for four people, we only charge CHF 5 for a big carafe. Refilling is for free. Moreover, we only charge tap water if you order nothing else to drink. If you order e.g. sparkling water, orange juice or coke and order tap water additionally, we will not charge the additional tap water. Your feedback helped us to recognize that some points regarding common chargings are not clear for everyone, especially for people from abroad and we hope that this explanation is clear for everyone. We would like to thank you for this valuable feedback. Regarding the second issue, you were actually absolutely right. We do not charge you for the silverware and the place mats. This is common for example in Italy but not in Switzerland. So it does not matter if there are four or two settings on your table, we will not charge them. As a measure, to avoid our staff giving other information, we will train them again regarding the different chargings in the next days. Furthermore, you wrote about the behaviour of one of our staff members. We want all our guests to feel welcomed and well treated at El Divino and we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. We think that the more transperancy about the different prices as well als an additional training of our staff in the next days will lead to a better understanding of both sides. Based on the feedback we got from the Tripadvisor ratings, we adjusted our guacamole a couple of months ago and we always use fresh avocados. We hope that our feedback was helpful to make the situation fine for everyone and we would looking forward to meeting you again at our restaurant. Best regards, the El Divino team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Divino also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to El Divino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing