We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Magic
Nearby Hotels
USD 272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 224
USD 184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 485
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 601
USD 584
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
38
71
47
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
71
47
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthemed roomsswiss chaletpirate roomclock towerkrone hotelking suiteold townlion heartegyptian roomlotus rootarabian nightsactual bathroomboat shapedfour poster bedthe rivercoffee machinechapel bridge
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We did not expect such a lovely suprise when walking into this little gem of a hotel. It is perfectly positioned on the square, just off the river and smack in the middle of the old town shopping district.

There is no front desk at this hotel, which requires you to check in at a neighboring hotel on an adjacent square. During our check in process, we couldn't figure out why the front desk attendant kept referring to our room as the "Pirate Room" rather than the room number... until we arrived at our suite. It was an honest-to-goodness PIRATE room, complete with a boat shaped bed! Apparently every room is themed and we found ours to be quite charming.

The only down side to this hotel is that our room was adjacent to a rather public square, which meant loud drunkards at every hour of the night. To boot, it is located right next to a clock tower that rings its bells every hour on the hour... all night long.

Room Tip: The Pirate Room was a hoot!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Guy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night in the hotel on our road trip down to Lake Como in Italy having been recommended Lucerne as a lovely place to stop. Delighted to say that Lucerne is a lovely place to visit and the Hotel Magic could not be in a more central location situated as it is in the old town next to the river and central square and surrounded by shopping streets and an abundance of restaurants. Rooms are very quirky, we were in the Kings Suite, and they are beautifully clean, well maintained and roomy. Getting to the hotel however can be confusing, even for satnavs, with lots of disapproving looks from pedestrians as you navigate the pedestrian precinct!! Check in is also in a hotel around the corner from the hotel which is also where breakfast is served. Check in staff were extremely helpful however and the breakfast choice was reasonably good and part of the hotel rate we paid. My advice to anyone thinking of booking the hotel is to avoid a room overlooking the Square next to the bell tower which chimes every hour and is very very loud.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Less then 5 minute walk from train station
. Room size are great very large and spacious! we stayed in the lotus room . Bathroom very modern and new . Can't express enough how great the location is.. Stone throw to the river where the beautiful bridges are . So many restaurants and shops and entertainment in This area . Bed and pillows extremely comfortable.. hotel provided us with free public transportation passes and showed us great options to see mt pilatus . Very happy with stay would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank joshmia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The hotel had really nice, individually designed rooms. Geographical location is wonderful with lots of restaurants and nice shops nearby including in the immediate squares. BUT it is described as being situated on "the quiet Kornmarkt Square". No way is that quiet. The noise from the bars next door carries up to the room until the early hours and then you are woken at about 6am with adjoining markets being set up, lorries delivering, tables and chairs scraping on the cobbles below! Very noisy location. In winter, when windows are closed it is probably OK but it was hot and we had to have windows open. Alternative is to shut them and use fan (no air con). We tried both - the fan is noisy too, so take your pick!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the square will be quieter or any in the winter, when you have your windows closed!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

After a day on the mountain it was great to come back to our room at Hotel Magic. Great location close to one of the main train stations in Lucerne. We stayed in the King suite with the corner spa with the surf scene. The room seemed a bit over the top, but we loved the theme. We did get stuck in the elevator and we just started pressing the buttons and it came back on (so I suggest using the stairs) Everything was very clean, and comfortable, besides that elevator.
Also, Very Important: Make sure to read where they tell you to go to check in. The hotel will inform you prior to check in, just read your e-mails. You may have to check in a few blocks away from the building you are staying in. I had to help a few other travelers that were confused of where to check in. The only other con was that the hotel is in a busy district. Before the sun was up, there was a garbage collector crew outside dumping can after can of glass bottles. They probably dumped 20 - 30 cans at least and it was very loud. If you don't mind waking up early like us, then its not too big of a problem, we just thought they could've done that a little later in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you know where to check in. It may not be at the building you are staying in.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve_M_Burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews