We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Awesome!”
Review of Hotel Magic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Magic
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We did not expect such a lovely suprise when walking into this little gem of a hotel. It is perfectly positioned on the square, just off the river and smack in the middle of the old town shopping district.

There is no front desk at this hotel, which requires you to check in at a neighboring hotel on an adjacent square. During our check in process, we couldn't figure out why the front desk attendant kept referring to our room as the "Pirate Room" rather than the room number... until we arrived at our suite. It was an honest-to-goodness PIRATE room, complete with a boat shaped bed! Apparently every room is themed and we found ours to be quite charming.

The only down side to this hotel is that our room was adjacent to a rather public square, which meant loud drunkards at every hour of the night. To boot, it is located right next to a clock tower that rings its bells every hour on the hour... all night long.

Room Tip: The Pirate Room was a hoot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Guy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night in the hotel on our road trip down to Lake Como in Italy having been recommended Lucerne as a lovely place to stop. Delighted to say that Lucerne is a lovely place to visit and the Hotel Magic could not be in a more central location situated as it is in the old town next to the river and central square and surrounded by shopping streets and an abundance of restaurants. Rooms are very quirky, we were in the Kings Suite, and they are beautifully clean, well maintained and roomy. Getting to the hotel however can be confusing, even for satnavs, with lots of disapproving looks from pedestrians as you navigate the pedestrian precinct!! Check in is also in a hotel around the corner from the hotel which is also where breakfast is served. Check in staff were extremely helpful however and the breakfast choice was reasonably good and part of the hotel rate we paid. My advice to anyone thinking of booking the hotel is to avoid a room overlooking the Square next to the bell tower which chimes every hour and is very very loud.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Less then 5 minute walk from train station
. Room size are great very large and spacious! we stayed in the lotus room . Bathroom very modern and new . Can't express enough how great the location is.. Stone throw to the river where the beautiful bridges are . So many restaurants and shops and entertainment in This area . Bed and pillows extremely comfortable.. hotel provided us with free public transportation passes and showed us great options to see mt pilatus . Very happy with stay would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank joshmia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The hotel had really nice, individually designed rooms. Geographical location is wonderful with lots of restaurants and nice shops nearby including in the immediate squares. BUT it is described as being situated on "the quiet Kornmarkt Square". No way is that quiet. The noise from the bars next door carries up to the room until the early hours and then you are woken at about 6am with adjoining markets being set up, lorries delivering, tables and chairs scraping on the cobbles below! Very noisy location. In winter, when windows are closed it is probably OK but it was hot and we had to have windows open. Alternative is to shut them and use fan (no air con). We tried both - the fan is noisy too, so take your pick!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the square will be quieter or any in the winter, when you have your windows c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

After a day on the mountain it was great to come back to our room at Hotel Magic. Great location close to one of the main train stations in Lucerne. We stayed in the King suite with the corner spa with the surf scene. The room seemed a bit over the top, but we loved the theme. We did get stuck in the elevator and we just started pressing the buttons and it came back on (so I suggest using the stairs) Everything was very clean, and comfortable, besides that elevator.
Also, Very Important: Make sure to read where they tell you to go to check in. The hotel will inform you prior to check in, just read your e-mails. You may have to check in a few blocks away from the building you are staying in. I had to help a few other travelers that were confused of where to check in. The only other con was that the hotel is in a busy district. Before the sun was up, there was a garbage collector crew outside dumping can after can of glass bottles. They probably dumped 20 - 30 cans at least and it was very loud. If you don't mind waking up early like us, then its not too big of a problem, we just thought they could've done that a little later in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you know where to check in. It may not be at the building you are staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve_M_Burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 66 in Lucerne
494 reviews
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.6 km away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#35 of 66 in Lucerne
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#41 of 66 in Lucerne
64 reviews
0.1 km away
Boutique Hotel Weisses Kreuz
0.1 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic

Address: Brandgaessli 1, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $124 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magic 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHECK IN / CHECK OUT AND BREAKFAST AT THE ALTSTADT HOTEL KRONE LUZERN - WEINMARKT - 6004 LUZERN The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is located in the pedestrian and cobblestone zone of Luzern. For the arrival and departure, guests with a car are allowed (also taxi) to drive in front of the hotel for unloading. Public parking garages are located nearby. The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern offers its guests exclusive valet parking for CHF 27.00 per night. The front desk of the Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is at the Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern and on duty from 06:30 until 23:00. The check in after 23:00 takes place at the Hotel des Balances, just across the square. The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is not suitable for disabled guests and wheelchair users. NO ELEVATOR FROM THE GROUNDFLOOR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Magic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing