We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Noisy hotel experience”
Review of Hotel Magic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Magic
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The hotel had really nice, individually designed rooms. Geographical location is wonderful with lots of restaurants and nice shops nearby including in the immediate squares. BUT it is described as being situated on "the quiet Kornmarkt Square". No way is that quiet. The noise from the bars next door carries up to the room until the early hours and then you are woken at about 6am with adjoining markets being set up, lorries delivering, tables and chairs scraping on the cobbles below! Very noisy location. In winter, when windows are closed it is probably OK but it was hot and we had to have windows open. Alternative is to shut them and use fan (no air con). We tried both - the fan is noisy too, so take your pick!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the square will be quieter or any in the winter, when you have your windows c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

After a day on the mountain it was great to come back to our room at Hotel Magic. Great location close to one of the main train stations in Lucerne. We stayed in the King suite with the corner spa with the surf scene. The room seemed a bit over the top, but we loved the theme. We did get stuck in the elevator and we just started pressing the buttons and it came back on (so I suggest using the stairs) Everything was very clean, and comfortable, besides that elevator.
Also, Very Important: Make sure to read where they tell you to go to check in. The hotel will inform you prior to check in, just read your e-mails. You may have to check in a few blocks away from the building you are staying in. I had to help a few other travelers that were confused of where to check in. The only other con was that the hotel is in a busy district. Before the sun was up, there was a garbage collector crew outside dumping can after can of glass bottles. They probably dumped 20 - 30 cans at least and it was very loud. If you don't mind waking up early like us, then its not too big of a problem, we just thought they could've done that a little later in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you know where to check in. It may not be at the building you are staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve_M_Burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

A Swiss themed room which was delightful and comfortable. Great location central to the old town and the lake. Close to all restaurants and free coffee machine in the room.
Well priced for what you got.

Room Tip: Subject to availability, however there are rooms with a view of the river which would be nice to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Magic. I stayed in the Chalet room which like others said has no view. However, the room was very large, actually larger than rooms I stayed in the area in the past. The bathroom was no bigger or smaller than hotels in the area. But I have to say this was the cleanest hotel I stayed in. The rooms are all numbered 2xx with a name and a few are suits. On the elevator the room names are listed? During my stay it was hotter than usual and a room fan was enough to be comfortable. There were three windows and at night I kept them open. There was a small mini frig which was fine. The room also had a safe but didn't work. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite. The room did have a large HD TV but I didn't use it. The hotel offers breakfast this was not included in the room price and it is offered at one of their other hotels which also does your Checkin. The staff was very nice and breakfast was good. Finally there is wifi and it worked fine. However it's not a secure connect like most hotels. The location is in the old town and is an easy 5 minute walk to the train station.

There are many restaurants in walking distance from 1 minute up to 10 to meet anyone needs. I have reviewed a few. If you can't find something you like there are 2 McDonald's. I don't care for them in the states but international ones are unique. If your looking for coffee then try one for $2 or try Tchibo coffee chain. The train station has bakeries, coffee shops and a shop on the first level that has pretzels and hotdogs.

If your looking for the Ritz, sorry this is not the Ritz. If it was it would be $500+ per night.
That should cover everything and then some. Do some research before traveling. There is a very good tourism office in the train station. Enjoy!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jazzcat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Extremely disappointed with our choice. Barock Room is OK and clean, but awful view over the roof and pipeworks of the adjacent buildings. It's boiling hot. Tiny, tiny bathroom. Not worth the money. I would not stay again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Liggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 67 in Lucerne
493 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#35 of 67 in Lucerne
356 reviews
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#41 of 67 in Lucerne
63 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
0.1 km away
Boutique Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic

Address: Brandgaessli 1, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $124 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magic 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHECK IN / CHECK OUT AND BREAKFAST AT THE ALTSTADT HOTEL KRONE LUZERN - WEINMARKT - 6004 LUZERN The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is located in the pedestrian and cobblestone zone of Luzern. For the arrival and departure, guests with a car are allowed (also taxi) to drive in front of the hotel for unloading. Public parking garages are located nearby. The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern offers its guests exclusive valet parking for CHF 27.00 per night. The front desk of the Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is at the Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern and on duty from 06:30 until 23:00. The check in after 23:00 takes place at the Hotel des Balances, just across the square. The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is not suitable for disabled guests and wheelchair users. NO ELEVATOR FROM THE GROUNDFLOOR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Magic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing