We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great for us”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Very disappointed to find that our early booking of a twin and a single had been overbooked and we had the choice of a double (yuck as we are 3 ladies) or two singles with a put-you-up squeezed into one of the singles. Our compensation a bowl with 3pieces of fruit in one of the rooms. Reason given, they did not have our Christian names - although we all have different surnames...

Room Tip: Give christian names and check in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micheline188064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    472
    133
    41
    22
See reviews for
300
413
78
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a twin room. After arriving into Lucerne by train, take the exit to the left of the station. Waldstatterhof is the first hotel you see. A welcome relief after a long train journey.

The hotel looks lovely and traditional on the outside but very modern inside. The staff on front reception are absolutely lovely and their English is excellent. We were greeted by Bloem who was so nice and informative. She told us about tours etc and gave us a map and marked all the important areas. I have never received that kind of service before!

Our room was very nice. The bathroom was a little small but that didn’t bother us. There is quite abit of noise from the streets below so unfortunately you can’t sleep with the window open. They did provide a portable fan though which helped a lot.

Breakfast was very nice, it consisted of both cold and hot food.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is in a perfect location, opposite the train station and right around the corner from the lake, chapel bridge and all the restaurants and shops. I will definitely be returning one day!

Thank you again for a lovely holiday. And a special thank you to the reception staff. Your customer service is of a very high standard. It was a pleasure to stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_traveller021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Excellent hotel next to the train station. Room was clean and very nice. The buffet was good and the Internet was very good. I would stay here again. Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drtpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

A traditional hotel with a modern outlook. The room that we had is newly renovated an although its a bit small but its very clean and very well maintained. The location of this hotel is definitely one of the best as it is just right next to the train station! Thus, it was very convenient when we go on day trips from lucerne. The attractions in lucerne were all very near and everything is within walking distances.

Nice hotel :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowpyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, AL
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Super service, lovely room, excellent location. We really enjoyed our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraSmith_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
964 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 68 in Lucerne
829 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.3 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
919 reviews
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstatterhof

Property: Hotel Waldstatterhof
Address: Zentralstrasse 4, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): $203 - $431
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldstatterhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities and comforts is set in late-19th century Victorian in the downtown area; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Waldstatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing