We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We staved for ther second time at the Grand Hotel Europe and everything was above our expectations. We were allocated a very nice room ovelooking the lake. It was very spacious, clean and the furniture is very modern.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either facing the lake or with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    151
    72
    36
    26
See reviews for
92
150
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I spent 3 nights at this hotel during one of my business trips in Switzerland. The classical design makes it a bit different from the other modern hotels where i used to stay during my often travels. The room had a beautiful lake view and a very good size. I had a dinner with my partners here and the food, atmosphere and the service were simply great. Big thanks for the reception, service and kitchen people for dealing with our requests. I will definitely come back next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

lovely view. room large no amenities, no air conditioning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My room was spacious and clean and the breakfast was varied and quite good.

The location of the hotel is both convenient and inconvenient depending on what you want. It is right next to a bus stop that is directly connected to town (convenient), but is a fair walk from most of the main attractions in Lucerne (inconvenient).

The front desk staff was only marginally interested in helping me/answering questions/making reservations and I ran into a few problems with the housekeeping staff. First, one was mopping right in front of the breakfast room during breakfast with no wet floor sign. I slipped and fell--as a young person, this was more annoying than painful, but I shudder to think what might have happened to an older person. After breakfast, a man who never identified himself, but could have been a manager, confronted me and told me to be careful in the future--basically blaming me for slipping. Of course, I noticed that they had since put up wet floor signs, so...this harassment was in contrary to customer service principles and really soured my morning.

I went upstairs to change and get out of there, when a maid entered my room (while I was changing) without even knocking to clean. This was at about 10am--two hours before checkout time.

I say weigh these pros and cons and see what deals are out there--might be worth it, might not...and look out for wet floors!!!

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank gillyflower_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I visited Lucerne after a 4 day business trip to Basel, Switzerland. It would have been an hour drive but we hit horrible traffic on the A2 on a gorgeous Sat afternoon. Checked in at the Grand Hotel Europe about 3:30pm and decided it was too late to visit Mt. Pilatus. I walked to the old city area (about 20 min) and had dinner instead. Went to the Mt the next morning and it was an amazing experience. The attendant at the desk didn't have many answers to our questions but she did try. I had a single room that luckily faced the lake. The view was gorgeous. My room did not have air conditioning and it was a fairly warm day. I requested a fan as I had seen noted in another review and it helped and was comfortable. My main complaint was the bed. Two singles pushed together. When I laid across diagonally in the afternoon I didn't notice but at night when I tried to sleep under the covers I on kept rolling into the crack. The bed was very sloped so it was hard to stay on the edges. There is a main light switch as you enter the room that must be turned on to turn any of the other lights on. My bathroom was a nice size and was well lit. Breakfast had a good variety and was a plus since it was included in the price. I did miss not having free wireless internet. I did not pay for the service. The lobby and gardens were very nice and there was free parking for our rental car. The price for the value was good and when I return to Lucerne, which I fully intend on doing, I may stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think the lakefront rooms have air conditioning but the view is worth the discomfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenerVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#21 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 km away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): $290 - $448
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing